We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ponderosa Motor Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ponderosa Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ponderosa Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Stayed here for one inight in July. Room itself basic but clean. Generally motel needs updating-hallway, stairs etc. Breakfast in am adequate if a little chaotic. Supposed to eat in room but no trays to bring breakfast back to room. People walking around with hot coffee! Some people had to make a few trips with cereal, toast etc. Ice machine...

1Thank Brid D
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Very basic. The room looked like it had not been cleaned very well at all (cookie or bread crumbs on the dresser, floor did not appear to have been vacuumed and who knows when the quilts on the bed had been changed and/or washed.

Thank jec11
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 28 December 2014

Our family use to stay here every year we came to Golden to ski. It was affordable, clean, friendly, helpful staff and gave you the basic services. This year it is expensive for what you get and not friendly or helpful staff. There was some misunderstanding at check in when I had previously called and clearly booked 2 nights. I...

1Thank Cheri M
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good Day Cheri, Sorry to hear that your stay was not up to par and that there was confusing days on how long you were booked for .We try and keep our customers happy and try and accomdate the loyal ones. As staff not be friendly or helpful I am sorry for that and are working on that. I hope...

Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 18 December 2014

This is an older motel, however the rooms have been renovated and are very comfortable. The room rates are affordable. the rooms are spacious, and very well kept. The service was very good. The rooms are basic, however have everything one requires to enjoy a good nights sleep. Well worth looking into if you are planning a trip to or...

1Thank Terry L
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank You Terry, Yes , we are a older motel and have been slowly renovating the rooms . I am happy to see that everything you need was provided for you and that the service was good . We take pride in the work we do and in taking care of our guests . Again I thank you Terry and...

Prince Rupert, Canada
Reviewed 23 October 2014

This is very quaint looking motel that is obviously cared for, however the beds are absolutely wretched. I understand that if you are only charging 70-80$ a night you can't afford to put new beds in all the units at once but change some and charge a bit more get some better reviews and you'll get busier, the rooms are...

Thank Boboandme
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good Day Boboandme Glad to hear that your stay with us was ok sorry to hear about the beds we are slowly trying to improve things slowly and yes working on getting new beds is in the works. We are slowly updated each section and getting them comfortable. . We try and put our love and attention into the rooms...

Reviewed 8 September 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very old , not very comfy and you don't get much for the price. Old plumbing, old carpet, not dirty but not a clean feeling. Too expensive ! No breakfast or almost nothing. FYI : pet fees is $15 per pet and night. We stayed only one night and it was enough. I would recommend to try...

Thank Marie M
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good Day Marie , Sorry your stay was not want you expected but your room was booked through booking .com and we do not get to set the rate or deals you get . If you would have booked through the hotel or our website the room price would have been different and again I apolized for the price. As...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We arrived after going through a long drive from Rocky Mountain House. We were greeted by a very friendly worker who checked us in, and was quite polite. The room was comfortable, and was well presented. The breakfast as mentioned in the accommodation guide for British Columbia said that there was a light continental breakfast. When we were checked in,...

Thank matwaites
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good Day Matwaites Glad to hear your stay was good , and I apoloze for the morning staff there is a lot going on and with keeping up with the breakfast rush I will address this matter with the team . With regards to the hand rail they will be dealt with asap. We are happy to hear about your...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2014

we stayed at this property in August 2014. I am a bit budget minded, and this place was fairly low price for the area. The room is very clean, everything is pretty good except breakfast. They have one table for breakfast and the place has about 65 rooms. The breakfast is advertised as continental and when you get there the...

Thank bigjim5551212
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Bigjim Glad to hear that everything was to your liking except the breakfast we are working on improving the breakfast area for seating and the variety of items, we do say it is a lite breakfast upon checkin , cereal , toast muffins , coffee , tea and juice . We hope to see you on your next trip...

Port Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Recently stayed at the Ponderosa for the second time in my life. First time was 8 years ago and I'm sure no renos have been done since. REALLY needs some TLC and up dating but otherwise it is clean and reasonably quiet. The Coffee pot in the room spat out about an 1/8 of a cup of hot water and...

Thank Leefboy
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good Leefboy , Sorry was stay was not want you expected we are trying to improve our workers attention to the workmanship and cleaniness of the rooms . We take care to improve our customers experience and want the best for them . Hope we will see you again to see the changes we are making and the improvements with...

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This has all the trappings of a family owned business, and they seem to do very well at it. Nothing fancy, nothing romantic, but near the Trans Canada Highway. It is an older property but well maintained for its age. Staff were helpful at the desk and check-in was quick. They have separate rooms for people with pets which we...

Thank Bob137
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good day Bob , Glad to hear that your stay was very comfortable , we are trying to make each guests experience very good and comfortable . We looking forward to see you on your next trip .

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (10)
Room/Suite (4)
Bathroom (1)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (1)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
2.1 km away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
436 reviews
0.3 km away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
333 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
5.6 km away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Ponderosa Motor Inn

Address: 1206 Trans-canada Highway, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Price Range: €56 - €114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ponderosa Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ponderosa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Hotel Golden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ponderosa Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's nice to park just outside your room. Easy loading and unloading. Easy access.”
 of 5 bubbles brianmU8957GU, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you have any problems with your room ask the front desk to see another one, some rooms are upgraded a little more than others”
 of 5 bubbles tokyotiger2015, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our rooms were on the North side of the back section which was quiet with not much traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles JD419, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“also has a nice resturant in the same parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles glewcrew, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a good room is you want one. Haha.”
 of 5 bubbles calgaryal, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5