We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hume Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hume Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

644 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 637: English reviews
Start your review of Hume Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Not a bad place, beautiful building and great surroundings. Decent food too for the quality of hotel, better than it needs to be. My only complaint would be that the heating runs very hot and tends to cook you out of your room. Tried to fix this but front desk didn't seem to be able to - old building I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank variousforms
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I find it odd that you think our food is "better than it needs to be". I can't say that I have ever heard that comment before. It as though you were very overwhelmed by the food quality but underwhelmed by the character and service of the hotel? We are committed to serving up amazing food...

mission
Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed in a room on the 3rd floor with a frosted window i.e. no view. that is the only negative thing I can think of. (I did however, call as I arrived in town- very little notice on my end). every single staff member was in a pleasantly fun joking mood. alot of smiles and super helpful. the downstairs cabaret...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrick d
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great staff throughout. We got rained out of skiing so they let us check out 2 days early. So accommodating. Spotless. Great character in the halls and rooms. Old photos are great. Perfect location for wandering the town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank love2travel33388
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good points; Beautiful building that has been tastefully renovated. Excellent location to walk to restaurants Pleasant staff Well furnished rooms. Excellent breakfast with the room price. The bad points NO SLEEP! We asked for a quiet room and were placed on the fourth floor. The band in the basement was so loud that with our windows closed, and earplugs...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bayleafroses
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We apologize that you were kept awake. With our lobby renovations, the sound seems to travel more than normal. It is not often we have electronic shows at the hotel anymore and last Saturday evening we had one. I hope you will return so that we can give you a better stay. Please contact me directly and I will make...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights in Feb 2017 and enjoyed it so much we plan to come back next year for 4 or 5 nights. A beautiful historic hotel, 119 years old that has been refurbished with modern amenities but keeping with the traditional feel of the original hotel. Fabulous detailed woodwork in the Library (dining), the Bar and the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shannonbeyak
szzzed
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful hotel with an amazing breakfast included. Close to everything! On site pub was fantastic and had fantastic food. The room was quiet and comfortable and the staff were quite helpful. We had no issues with pre-arranging parking.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank szzzed
Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we walked into this hotel we knew we would be having a top notch experience. The front desk personnel on check-in were professional and friendly. Our room was a double queen, and it was a split room so there was a wall between our beds. Each side had their own TV. We had to share a bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pam S
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for this, Pam. It's been so great to see our American neighbors coming up a lot more frequently the past couple of years, particularly from the Spokane area. The Two Queen Split rooms have been very popular, so much that we have designated them with their own room type code so guests can book them directly from any platform...

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I highly recommend this hotel. Such a wonderful staff whether you're checking in, dining in one of their restaurants or getting room service, they really over deliver on making sure you feel welcome and comfortable. I stay here frequently and enjoy my stay every time. Great ambiance, staff and owners. Thank you!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole L
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

You will notice a common theme amongst almost all of our reviews on Tripadvisor - it's the staff. I can't stress it more, the staff is what makes this place special. Thank you for mentioning them. We are so fortunate to employ true hospitality professionals at our property. We hope to see you again, Nicole!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have stated at the Hume every year for the past 15 years and it has always been a great experience. Staff are wonderful, food is great and it is set in funky Nelson B.C. My favorite hotel. Looking forward to next year. James

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimmyrocket2017
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We appreciate all of your support for the past 15 years. You have witnessed first hand the big changes we have undergone. We are in the final year of a 10 year renovation project as we put finishing touches on our Lobby level. Thanks for always coming back and sharing the love.

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Such a lovely old hotel, centrally located and full of character but with all the ammenities we needed - comfortable bed and pillows & wonderfully friendly helpful staff. If I could change one thing, it would be the shower over bath set up. A walk in shower with a higher pressure shower head would be an improvement. Including breakfast in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally A

166 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.8 km away
Alpine Inn and Suites
1.0 km away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nelson
190 reviews
2.4 km away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#7 of 9 in Nelson
173 reviews
2.6 km away
North Shore Inn
North Shore Inn
#8 of 9 in Nelson
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2016 finishing touches were put on the last wing of guest rooms. All three floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Price Range: €109 - €166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hume Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hume Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a view”
 of 5 bubbles P1261GUpatrickd, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Bayleafroses, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that is not over the bar.”
 of 5 bubbles jimmyrocket2017, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some have fire places!”
 of 5 bubbles 284jons, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Horace Hume Suite is perfect for a longer stay”
 of 5 bubbles mumsy_11, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5