We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Adventure Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Adventure Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 186: English reviews
Stanley, Idaho
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night in mid-October. We loved the modern feel of the rooms and lobby. Our room was small but comfortable and clean, with everything we needed--and at a great price. The location is great, within walking distance of downtown Nelson and lots of good restaurants. We didn't take advantage of the gym or guest patio, but... More 

Thank jrember
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Hotel was fine, attitude of staff was fine, amenities were fine, though we too didn't have our room serviced and without explanation. Nothing outstanding but at the same time nothing bad. Parking in that area of town was a problem. We had been told it wouldn't be, but parking within the hotel area involved much waiting for spaces and moving... More 

Thank PCLouse
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2016

With the hotel being an old hotel, we were sure about how our room would be. It was great. A bit small, but not cramped. The fixtures and bathroom were very modern and it was surprisingly quiet. It was only noisy when we had the window open as the kitchen exhaust fan was right out side our window. The rest... More 

Thank Linda M
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I really enjoyed my stay at The Adventure Hotel, but some things could have been better. Our room only received room service two out of the 4 nights that we stayed at the hotel... we didn't complain because it was not a huge issue for us, but for the prices you are paying per night at this hotel, you would... More 

Thank Tatiana M
Rob_Little, Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tatiana M, So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, however, we would like to let you know that your issues mentioned have not gone unnoticed. We have passed on to housekeeping your information regarding your room not being serviced. Our apologies for this. Our housekeeping staff normally do a phenomenal job, so we are not sure... More 

Creston, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night. It was very clean and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were surprised to find bunk beds in our room and would suggest that patrons be made aware of this when booking. Beds were comfortable and extra pillows and bedding was provided. While the remodel is great, don't expect extras like a locking bathroom... More 

Thank Titannia99
Rob_Little, Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Titannia99, Thank you for your review of our property, and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay overall with us. You are definitely correct that you should have been made aware of the sleeping arrangements in your room when booking. This is part of our regular policies, but we will be reminding our guest service agents about... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

My 9 year old daughter and I stayed at the Adventure Hotel for the first leg of our road trip. The hotel was easy to locate and is in a fabulous location with free parking, if you arrive early enough. There was a mix up with our room but we were upgraded which was awesome. The room was fabulous with... More 

Thank C2342HFlisam
Rob_Little, Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review

Dear C2342HFlisam, Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our property so much. Sorry to hear that the bar was a little loud the night you stayed with us. Although it is not normally that loud, we do try and fill the rooms above the bar as the last... More 

Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Hotel is very well located one block from main street in Nelson with restaurants, bars and shopping all within a short walk. The hotel was "an adventure" with kind of a back packer atmosphere yet rooms all clean, with modern bathrooms etc. Not really appropriate if you have trouble climbing stairs as all room are 1 or 2 floors up... More 

Thank Paul B
Rob_Little, Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul B, Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

While visiting Nelson we were undecided where to stay for the night. My wife had several places listed but I made the decision to stay at The Adventure Hotel because it was close to everything. Staff was nice and friendly and very helpful. From the outside the building is very nice and modern looking. Parking is a bit of a... More 

Thank M0rec0ffeeplz
Rob_Little, Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. And we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. The weight room is a work in progress, and we will take your constructive comments into account as we move forward. Thanks again! More 

washington state
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016

tried a new place and it wasn't bad just not preferred. I thought I booked a room with a shower but i guess I didn't. there was a floor shower that was super small. I am 5'1" and barely could turn around. hubby said it wasn't very comfortable. there was a toilet and a small sink in the bedroom (private... More 

Thank stampmouse
Rob_Little, Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stampmouse, Thanks for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We are happy that you thought the room was clean and comfortable. Just for your information, as you mentioned you would not return, as you would like a full bathroom. The majority of our rooms do contain a full bath, just not the budget room that you... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Good location but "deluxe" room was far from deluxe -- very small, tiny window blocked by a vent, no fridge, plastic cups, Motel 6 type towels, soap and shampoo. Quite noisy. Parking available for only about 1/4 of the rooms. If you can't land one, you need to park on the street and feed the parking meters. Overall, disappointing. Very... More 

2 Thank Zevo86
Rob_Little, Manager at The Adventure Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Zevo86, We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. As you can see from other reviews, most people are very happy with the new renovations completed, and feel that there is exceptional value. At $144/night Canadian or approx. $109/night US, this is, in our view, an exceptionally low rate at peak season in Nelson,... More 

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (24)
View from Room (1)
Room/Suite (7)
Bathroom (2)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (32)
Room/Suite (4)
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Dining (5)
Bathroom (2)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 km away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
621 reviews
0.9 km away
Alpine Inn and Suites
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
222 reviews
2.2 km away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#7 of 9 in Nelson
169 reviews
0.5 km away
Prestige Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Expect an avalanche of Change. Euro-Style Rooms with 100% renovations completed. New addition include Guest Lounge, Large Patio, Gym, Sauna. Function and style with airy, bright ambiance and picture perfect views of the Selkirk Mountains and Kootenay Lake, creating a subtle luxury perfect for relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Adventure Hotel

Address: 616 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4G1, Canada (Formerly The New Grand Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Price Range: €78 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Adventure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Adventure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Adventure Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Adventure Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try to get one facing the street as the kitchen exhaust fan is noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles lindamC9922WN, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“bring earplugs”
 of 5 bubbles C2342HFlisam, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you can handle only one flight of stairs ask for a room on the 1st floor (i.e. one floor up)”
 of 5 bubbles PaulB212, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“watch when booking room online not clear as to which rooms have showers. would recommend not the budget room but one of the other choices.”
  • 207
  • view from door.
  • 207 bathroom. handle is from door into it. little more than the width of a door
  • view from room 207
 of 5 bubbles stampmouse, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the street have a nice view.. Some traffic noise in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles 85waynec, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay