We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 190: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2014

We exchanged 2 weeks at our "Home" resort and stayed here in August. The name might be somewhat confusing. "Waterfront" does not automatically mean "Ocean view" and their web site warns you about it. Please contact the front desk to make sure you understand what you are getting. In my opinion, this place is more of a lodge/cottage kind of... More 

1 Thank foks_2000
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

It is so nice to see a review from an exchange guest on Trip Advisor! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in both unit types. The Junior Suites are a nice option, especially if a guest tends to eat most of their meals out, and simply wants to have a bit of breakfast or maybe heat something... More 

Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2014

This resort is award winning beautiful resort. Amazing foyer complete with sitting area around cozy fireplace, outside bbq area with outdoor fireplace and seating area, seasonal pool & hot tub, exercise room, large coffee lounge & conference room for rental. Many different styles/sizes of rooms to suit your budget. Super staff. Gorgeous & affordable...what could be better

Thank Lisa M
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recommendation on Trip Advisor. We appreciate that you took the time to do this and hope to see you again another time. Robynne Shaw General Manager More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2014

Posted May 20, 2014 "Well intentioned but underwhelming" This is a follow-up review to the one I wrote in May 2014 (title above). After posting a poor review I received an email from the manager who offered a gift certificate for one night free with purchase of another. We apprecaited this gesture and decided to try again. I suspect that... More 

Thank phoodee
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your 2nd Trip Advisor review on our resort. It does sound as if you had a better experience this time, but still seem somewhat disappointed with regards to service. You are correct in that we are a vacation home property as opposed to a full service hotel. We appreciate that you have pointed that out in... More 

northern california
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2014

This is a very nice, quiet place to stay. Our condo was smaller than most but adequate, decorated very nice and elegant. Very comfortable. And the place is very quiet, nit alot of hustle and bustle. We enjoyed it. Service is outstnading. One night we had trouble with the internet and Jeff helped us bring it back up! He certainly... More 

2 Thank zimms4golf
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back another time. Robynne Shaw General Manager More 

Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2014

We just returned from our 4-night stay at Sunrise Ridge in October and enjoyed every minute of it. We had a lovely 2 bedroom/2 bathroom suite on the 4th floor with a huge furnished patio deck and new bbq. All the kitchen appliances, dishes, glasswear, pots & pans were all matching and like new. Luxurious bedding & pillows. Staff were... More 

1 Thank Doreen S
Sunrise08, General Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving weekend at Sunrise. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We hope to see you again soon! Regards Robynne Shaw General Manager More 

Louth Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2014

after reading the details on line we decided to book this 'hotel' for one night on 11 September, described as being on the beach front. What a joke that was, this condominium, not a hotel, was comprised of several buildings most of which were no where near the beach. The path down to the beach was a sloping gravel track... More 

2 Thank FRanGib
TrueKeyHotels, Manager at Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort, responded to this review

Dear “FRanGib”, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we value our customers’ opinions and apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We do have waterfront villas that look over the ocean but you are correct, the main lodge is located set back from the water, this is due to future development that will fill in... More 

Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2014

We stayed for 3 days. Our first time and the hotel was pretty much empty. I asked Jack Chambers, Guest Services Manager for a nice room since it was our first stay. He ignored that request and put us right in the back with the worst view...Now, if I was him, immaterial of what the guest paid, I would of... More 

Thank Davidb1057
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We spent several days at Sunrise Ridge in the warmer part of August. Our room was on the lower level and included a nice kitchen area, a very comfortable queen bed in the bedroom, and a bathroom with shower and sink. There was also an en suite large tub, sink and toilet. We did not have a view but we... More 

1 Thank desertwriter60
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the resort during the Labour Day weekend. Made a last minute reservation through Expedia and didn't have much choice of selecting suites because there were only 2 left for vacancy at the time. As I read over some of the reviews, I learned that some of the rooms are not equipped with A/C. So... More 

1 Thank John_CBR
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent the night at Sunrise Ridge in early August. The price was reasonable for the season and the room was adequate in size with a kitchenette and a large bathroom. Our room was on the parking lot side of the property so there was no chance at a view. Being on the parking lot side also meant that the... More 

1 Thank buttermytoast

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (95)
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Room/Suite (23)
Hotel & Grounds (20)
View from Room (9)
Bathroom (3)
Dining (1)
Videos (1)
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (27)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Room/Suite (7)
Bathroom (5)
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Dining (1)
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parksville hotels
0.8 km away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
454 reviews
4.7 km away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
203 reviews
4.1 km away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
1,674 reviews
0.2 km away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
429 reviews
0.6 km away
Beach Acres Resort
Beach Acres Resort
#2 of 9 in Parksville
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort is the perfect place to start your Vancouver Island vacation. Located just 37 km north of Nanaimo, Parksville is situated in a spectacular natural setting, surrounded by beautiful beaches, mountains, lakes and rivers. At Sunrise Ridge pamper yourself with in suite features including top quality furnishings, soaker tubs, open and spacious kitchens, natural timber, stone, granite and stainless steel appliances. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort

Address: 1175 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2E3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Parksville
Price Range: €105 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Hotel Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Parksville
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort Parksville, Vancouver Island, Canada
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Parksville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Alberta, Canada
8 months ago
Loreto, Mexico
11 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner suite high floor is best option although units were quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles loisp931, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring family and go BIG on the room. Saving money here will leave you disappointed. Book directly with hotel to get best offer and room.”
 of 5 bubbles Mr_Jones2, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are planning to cook your own food: be sure you have a BBQ. Not all units do.”
 of 5 bubbles lwasyl, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“do not stay in lower units - dark. Higher floors have views, bright nice decks. come during hot months - ask for a room with AC.”
 of 5 bubbles SkyAgent007, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“choose the top floor for a view to the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles 218sangeetam, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay