We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sword Motor Inn

Expedia.comUS$117*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$117*
US$118*
US$118*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sword Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sword Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 171: English reviews
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I have been using this hotel several times a summer for the last 10 years. (Funny thing though, no one has EVER said 'Nice to see you again' or some such thing.) IT has gotten much better in the last 5 years or so. Its a tragedy they closed the little breakfast restaurant they used to have and now only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobandKris2
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate you being a multiple time return guest. The inn has gotten new management in the past five years and I am happy to hear that it has been a positive change. I am sorry that you have never been told nice to see you again. If I am at the desk next...

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Went to Bancroft on the hunt to find new properties with my family. Spent $340.00 on two rooms, side by side. There was apparently heating but it didn't seem to work only a/c. Should vacuum along the sides of the mattress to remove food and dirt. Was a cold sleep, taking the blankets from the other bed. No one slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyse B
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I hope you enjoyed your time in our area and that you did find some new property in this beautiful country area. We are sorry that your heating was not working properly, did you mention it to our staff to assist you? I will pass on the comment about the food and dirt on side...

Cobourg, Canada
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Staff was very friendly and helpful even late at night. Clean rooms, lots of parking. Pool was nice, however the hot tub didn't really work well. Office area is warm and comfortable. Over all my family enjoyed the night. I would not hesitate to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sap136
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that almost everything was great. The hot tub is a little dated and we are looking at getting it replaced so hopefully next time you are here we have a frsh one for you to try out. Enjoy the fall season and...

The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Room itself was not too bad but very thin walked. You could hear the neighbor fart. For the quality of the room I found it very pricy. Breakfast is as with every motel 6, 8 or Comfort inn, not the best putting it mildly. Try to find a B&B when you are in town early, one that is not on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keessi
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry that you found the room walls to be thin, allowing you to hear noises I'm sure you did not want to hear. We appreciate you telling this so we can do our best to fix this issue. Please have a safe and happy fall season and hope to see you in the area again.

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

156$ with tax per night for a king room and that is with a wedding discount! Rooms are dated and not sparkling clean. Found some mould in the shower. Parking was limited for any vehicle larger than a compact car. Many of the electrical plugs did not work or were so loose, your plug would fall out. The continental breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zoobaby S
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All of our rooms have been renovated in the past couple years and we are continuously updating our property. Our parking lot is actually one of the better ones that I have been to, we have many large trucks and construction vehicles...

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This is a very acceptable rural motel, clean and well attended to. I arrived late and left early on a business trip, so I can't speak about the pool or other amenities. My room was clean and comfortable but a bit on the small side as might be expected in an older motel. The free breakfast was muffins, toast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guy L
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank You for your feed back and i'm sorry to hear you where so busy you couldn't enjoy our pool facility. Thank you for the compliment to the cleanliness of your room, and you are correct that older motels do have smaller rooms. We do our best to make up for that in other areas and are constantly updating the...

Orillia, Canada
Reviewed 11 August 2016

stayed here Aug.7/16 we past this quaint motel in Bancroft many times, this time we stayed there. excellent choice, the pool was great, hot tub didn't work properly but when we questioned it the owner was right in to check it out, very quiet, we didn't realise how big it actually is it goes back from the highway quite a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan H
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank You for your wonderful feed back. We are so pleased that this time you decide to stay with us and not pass by.We are happy to see you enjoyed our pool facilities and sorry about the hot tub, but glad to see we where on it as we always try to do and fix anything right away when brought...

Reviewed 27 July 2016

The staff at this motel is incredibly friendly and helpful. They made us feel welcome from the start and the pool was a great bonus! The beds were firm but comfortable and we had a very quiet night with no noise from the neighboring units.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura Ashley M
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review! we are very pleased that your interactions with our staff were super positive :) and we are glad that your felt welcome during your stay it is one of our goals to make sure all our guests feel the same way you did. the pool is always a great way to finish out a...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Recently stayed at this comfy local inn and had a very comfortable room and good sleep. The indoor pool is clear and clean and enjoyed a good breakfast before travelling on. This was a perfect place for a north Kawartha visitor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J P G
Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and where happy to see everything was to your liking :) Glad to see the beds where comfy and you got a good rest. We have to agree our pool is a great place to hang out and relax. We hope you tried the hot waffles for breakfast in the am, there...

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I have stayed at this hotel in July for visiting day for the past 5 years as it is the closest hotel to Camp Walden where my kids go to camp. The hotel is what you would expect for an Inn in Bancroft, Ontario. However this time when we visited we were put in a room that they were doing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DogEDaddy
Sunil P, Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. We realize you are return clientele and thank you for that. We have many guest that have been coming here for over 26 yrs and come from all around the world. They are all so please to see what upgrades we have done to this establishment to keep it up to date and fully...

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bancroft
2.5 km away
Bancroft Inn & Suites
Bancroft Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Bancroft
62 reviews
22.4 km away
Benaaron Guest House
Benaaron Guest House
#1 of 10 in Bancroft
146 reviews
19.7 km away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 10 in Bancroft
7 reviews
14.3 km away
Footprints Resort
Footprints Resort
#1 of 5 in Bancroft
28 reviews
0.8 km away
Bancroft Bed & Breakfast
Bancroft Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 10 in Bancroft
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located just on the north side of Bancroft near the end of Hasting St. We accommodate Sledders, ATV's, Pets, Rock Hounds and just the passer buyer. We have a heated in door pool, Hot tub and dry sauna along with a games room. All our guest receive a complimentary continental breakfast in our lovely breakfast area with there stay. This includes Hot waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, choice of different breads and pastries, coffee, tea, juice and much more! We are with in walking distance to almost everything in town and have a park right beside us that the York river runs through and right behind our location as well. So if you are a canoeist this is the spot to be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sword Motor Inn

Address: 146 Hastings St, Bancroft, Ontario K0L 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bancroft
Price Range: €102 - €146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sword Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sword Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bancroft
Bancroft Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sword Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
Toronto
over a year ago
Toronto
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sword Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms in central and back from highway very quiet”
joanh515, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“the room they gave us was perfect”
jaxson, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Check the room, especially the bathroom, before you commit yourself.”
rafraj60, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one attached to the kitchenette/pool, so if it rains, you'll be Ok.”
997christianm, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't go to this motel!”
yellowtweety1980, 19 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$117* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$118
PricelineUS$118
TripAdvisorUS$117
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates