We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Walper Hotel

20 Queen St S, Kitchener, Ontario N2G 1V6 Canada
Overview
20 Queen St S, Kitchener, Ontario N2G 1V6 Canada See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4 Star accommodation
About
Description
Immerse yourself in the historic charm of The Walper Hotel, an iconic 1893 landmark set along the quaint streets of one of Kitchener, Ontario's oldest neighbourhoods. You'll be captivated by this More building's amazing past, and charmed by its contemporary flare. From Eleanor Roosevelt's preferred breakfast location on the interior terrace to Lennox Lewis' boxing match in the Crystal Ballroom, to the tales of Al Capone's liquor smuggling operation in the cavernous basement restaurant, every nook and cranny in this Waterloo hotel has a story to tell. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Air Conditioning
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Minibar
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Refrigerator in room
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
92
Price range
US$97 - US$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Walper Terrace Hotel
Also Known As
Walper Terrace Kitchener
,
The Walper Hotel Kitchener, Canada - Ontario
Location
Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 nearby hotels
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
288 reviews
.18 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Waterloo
370 reviews
3.50 km away
Comfort Inn Waterloo Ontario
218 reviews
3.72 km away
Hotel Laurier
10 reviews
3.92 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 587 nearby restaurants
TWH Social
143 reviews
.02 km away
The Grand Trunk Saloon
70 reviews
.11 km away
darlise Cafe
38 reviews
.04 km away
Northern Thai
80 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 94 nearby attractions
Descendants Beer and Beverage Co Ltd.
84 reviews
1.03 km away
Victoria Park
453 reviews
.86 km away
Schneider Haus National Historic Site
69 reviews
.66 km away
Kitchener City Hall
62 reviews
.34 km away
Reviews & more
158Reviews
47Photos
3Q+A
36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 83
  • 36
  • 19
  • 9
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
If you are in Kitchner Ontario you do not want to stay at any other hotel or accommodation. Hospitality at its best and you get a lot for your money. Magically charming room, bed, furniture...all nice, welcoming and warm. The bathroom was just another story; spacious, well lit
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Very nice renovation of an old building/ hotel. Rooms spacious and very nicely appointed. Super comfy bed and great large rain head shower. Close to amenities in the downtown area. Definitely coming back to stay when in Kitchener again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
We visited our niece and her boyfriend in Kitchener to spend some time with them and go to the Toronto Christmas market and decided to treat ourselves to a nicer hotel for our two-night stay. I thought by staying at such a pricey establishment as The Walper we would be in safe ha
Read more
Response from JessM2175, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Good Morning Monique B, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We were also disappointed with the incident during your most recent stay. We take the safety and security of our guests very seriously and as such the team did do everything they could to help locate your missing personal items as a result of you leaving the guest room door open. This included several staff members spending multiple hours walking the neighbor, checking alleys, physically going through garbage bins and speaking with local building and city security to do whatever we could to help locate you items.We were very happy when we were advised that one of the police offers assisting was able to locate your purse and wallet, with passports and Id still intact. We truly apologize that your room was missed being cleaned, and this was overlooked during the events of the afternoon. This does not meet our standard, and we can understand how disappointed you would be finding your room in this state after the challenges you had already faced. As a result of the experience you did have, the team very graciously extended one night of your stay complimentary as well as did cover parking costs. I apologize if this was not accurately communicated to you upon check out. Should there be anything you need or feel that there are other details we can assist with, I would recomend that you do reach out directly to our General Manager Brad Lacey at blacey@walper.com.
Read more
My husband booked a room at The Walper Hotel in downtown Kitchener for a romantic "date night" with dinner at their in-house restaurant, with the view of attending this year's Christkindl Christmas market within walking distance the following day.
When we arrived in our hotel roo
Read more
Response from JessM2175, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Sylvia, Wow! Thank you so much for the lovely review and for highlighting your recent stay at The Walper! Your feedback and comments are much appreciated! We are over the moon happy to hear about your recent experience with us! Our ambassadors try their very best to ensure each guest's stay is perfect, so we are so happy to hear that you experienced this! (They're pretty great) We're also happy to hear that you were able to experience breakfast in the Barrister's Lounge! One of our fave spots! I can tell you why our egg yolks are so yellow! We buy our eggs from local farmers- Conestoga Farms and the super yellow yolk is because they feed their chickens marigold flowers! Again, thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us and for your recommendation! We can't wait to welcome you (and your pup!) the next time you are in Kitchener! Warmest regards, Jess McLean Marketing Coordinator | The Walper Hotel & TWH Social
Read more
The Walper is a stylish, hotel with a cool vibe. When you get to your room you may feel like you are in Brooklyn, NY with the lovely industrial decor touches. Great tolietry products with a local touch. Highly recommend!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from JessM2175, Public Relations Manager at The Walper Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Paradise03506934337, Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback following your recent stay at The Walper Hotel! We appreciate your comments very much as they will be super helpful for all future Walper guests! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and appreciated the overall design of our guest rooms! We love supporting local and try to help support our community in any way we can so we're happy that you appreciate our efforts! Thank you very much for your recommendation! We hope to see you again soon! Warmest regards, Jess McLean
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementThe Walper Hotel
Room
Photo provided by managementThe Walper Hotel
Room
Windows are not sound proof
Room 502
Previous
Why would they offer this hotel for a hockey tournament if it is not family oriented?
I think this is probably a question best addressed to the hockey tournament organizers. I have no idea where the hockey rink is in Kitchener, but if it's downtown, the location would be great. It's right across the street from a museum which has a lot of kid activities, too.
-1 votes
Why is the 250 hold on my Credit Card still on after a week? This is unacceptable and I'll be letting Expedia know of this issue.
The front desk told me the hold would be release upon check-out? All of this for nothing.
0 votes
Show all answers
what would be the cost of parking Saturday afternoon thru to Sunday morning?
I did the valet parking which I think was $15-20 a night but our friends did the off site parking just around the corner. I can't remember the cost but cheap.
0 votes
Show all answers
"ask for a quiet room away from the banquet rooms during party season."
"wonderful all around"
"#510 is awesome!"
"DO NOT CHOOSE A CORNER ROOM! The street noise was awful! Again complaint was received and nothing done about it!"
"Get top floor as the rooms have wood floors and noise from up above flows through..."
Previous
1234568
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing