We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Cornwall

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Cornwall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 91: English reviews
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Old, grungy, only stayed there because they advertised continental breakfast included, it was the worst breakfast I ever had at a hotel, hands down. Toast and jam, donuts and Vachon Cakes washed down with Luke warm coffee. All served in dollar store plastic bowls. No yogurt, no cereal, no waffles, no boiled eggs. I went and paid extra at McDonalds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NSbeacher
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

The room looked nothing like the photo! We had to clean all surfaces & TV with a flannel. The bathroom was quite small and the other flannel I used in the shower simply fell apart! The breakfast was a joke - all served in a side corridor with no seating and tables. I am not making toast then carrying everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher D
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I pre-booked my room in Mississauga, Ontario the day before my arrival at the Howard Johnson hotel/motel at Cornwall, Ontario. Upon arrival, the young man at the reception desk couldn't find anything listed on me at all, although I had been given a confirmation number by the owner when I booked, plus he had taken my credit card info.....but nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trapperss0n
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This is not a place I would stay again. I would rather sleep in my car. The service the worst of any hospitality in the world. No concept of running a hotel. Their concept of breakfast is stale food and if your lucky, if, maybe coffee. This place feels more like a funeral home than a hotel. Save your time...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim514555
Reviewed 6 August 2016

All surfaces dirty when I wiped with travel wipes. Showed wipes to clerk. Was offered full refund if I wanted to go elsewhere but at 10:30 pm check-in we chose to stay. I was presented with a paper to sign confirming that I was offered a refund so this may be a common occurrence. 'Take if of leave it' attitude....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gerri K
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed 28 July 2016

I am not by nature a picky person, but the Howard Johnson hotel/motel in Cornwall, Ontario was one of the worst experiences I've had in my life. The only reason we chose to stay at the hojo was based on the reputation that they had. Unfortunately, the experience was a complete disaster: The service was awful, the front staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cappuccino_Man
Simcoe, Canada
Reviewed 28 June 2016

If there ever was a motel deserving a ZERO, this is it. Worse is all regards. Dirty walls . . dirty carpets . . paint peeling off the doors ! ! ! Didn't drink the 'free' coffee . . and what continent did the continental breakfast come from ? ? ?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ivan P
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

Rude , dirty and unprofessional front desk, she must work there 24 hours could only stand one night.. Keep driving and go stay someplace else. I called Howard Johnson directly about this place hope they lose the franchise , I used to work front desk this chick is the worst.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ramona B
sam b, General Manager at Howard Johnson Cornwall, responded to this review

I am sorry you had this fight with the desk clerk, although it was not for her attitude but you know that she responded because of you starting an argument.

toronto
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Old and tired. When the front desk clerk finally showed up only to ask what I wanted I thought this may not be a stellar experience. What else could I possibly want, but a room? It was 9pm and they're located just south of the 401. Once the clerk figured out it was a room I was after came the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank freejoa
sam b, General Manager at Howard Johnson Cornwall, responded to this review

We have checked with our desk clerk, and she says she did not delay your check in at all. Matter of fact she was quick to check you in; but says that all she wanted to know was what kind of room, two queen size, king size, one queen size etc; you were looking for; and that was the only...

Syracuse, NY
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We stayed here to break up our long drive from Charlevoix, QC to Philadelphia, PA... The place is old and dated, but the 2 Queen beds were clean and comfy... Location is great for quick dining... As well as fast access to the International bridge Instead of the standard non-descipt "buffet breakfast of breads, donuts and cereals... Suggest Tim Hortons...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vinooram
sam b, Manager at Howard Johnson Cornwall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwall
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
0.5 km away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
287 reviews
2.7 km away
Super 8 Cornwall ON
Super 8 Cornwall ON
#6 of 12 in Cornwall
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 12 in Cornwall
175 reviews
35.9 km away
McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre
1.0 km away
First Canada Inns
First Canada Inns
#3 of 12 in Cornwall
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Cornwall

Address: 1142 Brookdale Ave, Cornwall, Ontario K6J 4P4, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Cornwall
Price Range: €60 - €62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Cornwall 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Cornwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornwall Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Cornwall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely check the room first!!”
 of 5 bubbles trapperss0n, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Jim514555, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Read hotel reviews before booking.”
 of 5 bubbles 562gerrik, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I don't think this place has any 'good' rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles freejoa, 9 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the low 100's - they are on the main hotel side and have better outside lighting at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 178carmenj, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay