We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Cornwall

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Cornwall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 95: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Cornwall
 Click to rate
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We had to pull off at Cornwall on our way back to Montreal from Toronto due to a major winter storm which delayed our commute following a big accident on the 401 with a toxic chemical spill. Best western were full to capacity but told us to go to Howard Johnson. The rooms do need renovating however the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
Lahore, Pakistan
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 17 February 2017

i stayed in the hotel on my way to ottowa and the rooms were decent ,so were the beds. The staff is helping and very copoperative. Nice and Clean and the rooms are renovated improved then the shown on the pics

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sara_Butt_11
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

What a terrible, horrible experience. Disgusting rooms. Terrible customer service. No security. Poor office hours (3-9 pm only during winter!!!). Hanging up on guests. This place does not represent the Wyndham brand well at all! They would be best served to kick them out of the family! Worst stay and customer service EVER!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jordan G
sam b, Manager at Howard Johnson Cornwall, responded to this review

He stayed for 3 nights and had non-refundable reservations for 4 nights.He approached on 3rd night to the desk clerk and ask for cancellation of 4th night and the refund. The desk clerk informed him that only the travel agency can cancel his reservation.We are not allowed to do that.He should call the agent who is reserved the room for...

Reviewed 24 February 2017

Rudest staff at the front desk I have ever encountered. I arrived ~8:20am to leave my large suitcase ahead of my check-in later in the day. "No!" "Absolutely not!" was the reply. I asked if I could pay to leave my suitcase. "No!" The women staffing the place called someone explaining that I wanted to check my bag and how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thaddeus W
sam b, Manager at Howard Johnson Cornwall, responded to this review

the facts of the matter is ,local police has cautioned us not to store any unidentified luggage from anyone ever who is not duly checked-in the hotel. The desk-agent reports that,this man came at 8 am and claimed that he will be checking in at night and that the front desk let him store his luggage to which desk clerk...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Old, grungy, only stayed there because they advertised continental breakfast included, it was the worst breakfast I ever had at a hotel, hands down. Toast and jam, donuts and Vachon Cakes washed down with Luke warm coffee. All served in dollar store plastic bowls. No yogurt, no cereal, no waffles, no boiled eggs. I went and paid extra at McDonalds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NSbeacher
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

The room looked nothing like the photo! We had to clean all surfaces & TV with a flannel. The bathroom was quite small and the other flannel I used in the shower simply fell apart! The breakfast was a joke - all served in a side corridor with no seating and tables. I am not making toast then carrying everything...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christopher D
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I pre-booked my room in Mississauga, Ontario the day before my arrival at the Howard Johnson hotel/motel at Cornwall, Ontario. Upon arrival, the young man at the reception desk couldn't find anything listed on me at all, although I had been given a confirmation number by the owner when I booked, plus he had taken my credit card info.....but nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank trapperss0n
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This is not a place I would stay again. I would rather sleep in my car. The service the worst of any hospitality in the world. No concept of running a hotel. Their concept of breakfast is stale food and if your lucky, if, maybe coffee. This place feels more like a funeral home than a hotel. Save your time...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jim514555
Reviewed 6 August 2016

All surfaces dirty when I wiped with travel wipes. Showed wipes to clerk. Was offered full refund if I wanted to go elsewhere but at 10:30 pm check-in we chose to stay. I was presented with a paper to sign confirming that I was offered a refund so this may be a common occurrence. 'Take if of leave it' attitude....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gerri K
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed 28 July 2016

I am not by nature a picky person, but the Howard Johnson hotel/motel in Cornwall, Ontario was one of the worst experiences I've had in my life. The only reason we chose to stay at the hojo was based on the reputation that they had. Unfortunately, the experience was a complete disaster: The service was awful, the front staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cappuccino_Man

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cornwall hotels
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
0.5 km away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
317 reviews
2.7 km away
Super 8 Cornwall ON
Super 8 Cornwall ON
#6 of 12 in Cornwall
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 12 in Cornwall
184 reviews
0.9 km away
First Canada Inns
First Canada Inns
#4 of 12 in Cornwall
104 reviews
0.1 km away
Century Motel
Century Motel
#3 of 12 in Cornwall
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Cornwall

Address: 1142 Brookdale Ave., Cornwall, Ontario K61 4P4, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Cornwall
Price Range: €49 - €64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Cornwall 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Cornwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornwall Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Cornwall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“expect nice franchised quality room for the cheapest price in town”
sara_Butt_11, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
Jim514555, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Read hotel reviews before booking.”
562gerrik, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I don't think this place has any 'good' rooms.”
freejoa, 9 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the low 100's - they are on the main hotel side and have better outside lighting at night.”
178carmenj, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5