We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Banff Gate Mountain Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Banff Gate Mountain Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Banff Gate Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 116: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Since the first time dealing with these guys there was nothing but problems! Their staff told us our chalet was booked and then last minute we find out it’s not after I had a lengthy conversation with the staff and he assured me everything was taken care of. Our whole family had nothing but problems with them as well. Their...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bethanywatts33
Banff Gate M, Front Office Manager at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Hi Bethanywatts33, Thank you for your review. Our staff is very well trained and are very courteous with many positive reviews from guests. We apologize that you feel as though you were treated poorly during your stay.

Scottsdale, AZ
Reviewed 13 July 2016

For our family trip to the Canadian Rockies we stayed there for a week. The location is pretty good - just over a hour drive from Calgary airport, 45 minutes from Costco, which is a must for a cabin stay unless you plan to eat all your meals out. Nestled in the mountains and surrounded by magnificent views, which make...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PickyBizTraveler
Banff Gate M, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Hi PickyBizTraveler, Thank you for your detailed review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the mountains. It's true, we are not the Fairmont or the JW Marriott; but for what we lack in modern furniture, hi-speed internet and multiple tv channels, we make up for with magnificent views, friendly helpful staff and the...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We loved our first time at Banff Gate Mountain Resort!! If you are looking for a 5 star hotel or modern up to date amenities, look somewhere else. This is a quaint, rustic area with spectacular backdrop to it. Located minutes from Canmore, this peaceful resort is located in Dead Mans Flat. Our cabin (#28) was a two bedroom cabin...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank crash2224
Banff Gate M, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Hi Crash2224, Thank you for your review! It sounds like you and your family really enjoyed yourselves and made good use of all that we have to offer! The swimming pool is definitely a kid favourite! We look forward to having you come visit us again soon!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We really enjoyed our time at Banff Gate Mountain Resort. The cabin was spacious and well appointed. We were in a 2 bedroom that comfortably fit our family of 6. The kitchen was great to have as the mud room was an unexpected bonus. The mattress are starting to get old, but overall comfortable sleeping. The amenities were really great....

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

Disappointed with the under maintained carpets ,bathrooms,old furniture, small pillows (bring your own). The area septic system is inadequate, creating an annoying smell. The games room needs some upgrading , the pool area is fine. Cabin supplies like toilet paper and paper towels are inadequate 1 industrial roll for the week (bring your own ). The view is fabulous .

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mikechartrand
Banff Gate M, Resort Representative at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Hi Mike, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our resort during your stay. We are aware that our cabins are a bit dated - we are working as hard as we can to get some upgrades in there as soon as possible. There are always extra supplies like toilet paper, towels,...

Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

We have been going to Canmore for years and had no idea this place existed! It is off the highway and very quiet. It is located about 15 minutes away from Canmore where the restaurants and shops are - easy drive. Check in was efficient and friendly. In the main lodge, you can rent movies, there are a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MacapaAB
Banff Gate M, Resort Representative at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Hi MacapaAB, Thank you for reviewing our resort! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Banff Gate and were able to take in the views, as well as enjoy the amenities we offer. Hopefully we will get to see you again in the summer!

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

The views of this old ski resort turned individual cabins are spectacular. My family has had time shares up here and we have been going for years. Do not expect 5 star suite or service, however the units are cozy and comfortable and sleep 6. The pool and hot tubs are also fun for families and nice after skiing.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark S
Banff Gate M, Resort Representative at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Hi Mark S, Thank you for your review! The views from every cabin are definitely a guest favourite. We are glad to hear that you love this place as much as we do - we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 8 January 2016

stay and go skiing in winter; stay and go hiking in summer. go groceries shopping in Canmore within 10 minutes drive. near Banff, go shopping and sight seeing within half an hour drive. go to Lake Louise for sight seeing just an hour drive.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael K
Banff Gate M, Resort Representative at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Hi Michael K, You're right - there is so much to do out here in every season! We are so close to Banff and Lake Louise, as well as multiple ski hills in winter and incredible hiking in the summer. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Walnut Creek, California
Reviewed 15 December 2015

The resort is conveniently located just a few minutes from Canmore and about 20 minutes from the Banff NP gate. The staff was friendly and helpful. The cabins are very comfortable and maintained well though they are a little dated which is hardly noticeable because of the awesome views all around. Note that the Hertz Neverlost did not have the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
Banff Gate M, Resort Representative at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Hi rpowell25, Thank you for your review! It's true that our cabins are a bit dated - but we are working on upgrading as much as possible. The views definitely make up for what the furniture lacks! We have heard quite a few stories from other guests about the GPS leading them astray when they try to get here -...

Gibbons, Canada
Reviewed 6 September 2015

I booked a long weekend stay at the banff gate mountain resort for my family, from the photos I saw it looked awesome, and it really is, its quiet even when it is full, a handful of 1000sqft cabins in the middle of the pigeon mountain range?...yes please! It is rustic, let's get that out of the way, but from...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Shane S
Banff Gate M, Resort Representative at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Hi Shane! Thank you for your glowing review! We are so happy to hear that you love our resort as much as we do! Since all of our chalets are fully equipped, it can seem quite quiet on the resort even when we are completely full! Once the warmer weather arrives though, we have lots of outdoor activities such as...

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dead Man's Flats
1.2 km away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
965 reviews
8.3 km away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
8.5 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
8.6 km away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#17 of 29 in Canmore
550 reviews
10.4 km away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Banff Gate Mountain Resort is an outdoor playground for all ages where mountain activities and rustic amenities meet. It is nestled in the majestic pines of Pigeon Mountain at the foot of the Lougheed and Windtower Mountains. Our 46 fully appointed chalets are surrounded by Lake Louise and the adventures of the Banff National Park. Activities include water rafting, hiking, skiing, mountain biking, dog sledding, golf and more. For those preferring more peace and quiet, the picturesque grounds of the resort provide the perfect retreat. Children’s play areas are intertwined by hiking trails that sprawl throughout the resort connecting to the surrounding wilderness. Local wildlife often wanders unhindered throughout the area and across the property. An indoor heated pool, hot tubs and a family clubhouse provide a well-rounded travel destination for families and adventurers alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banff Gate Mountain Resort

Address: 302 George Biggy Sr. Rd., Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Price Range: €112 - €274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Gate Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Banff Gate Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Gate Mountain Hotel Dead Man`s Flats
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Banff Gate Mountain Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Bourget, Canada
Atlanta, Georgia
9 months ago
Modesto, California
College Station, Texas
Boston, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Banff Gate Mountain Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“bring your camera”
  • local wildlife
  • the surrounding mountaiins
 of 5 bubbles walterjan49, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cabins 13-18, 37-45, 201 and 202 are high up the slope and have better views”
  • There is no easily acessable resort on the Canadian Rocky Mountain's east slope with  this sort
  • There is no easily acessable resort on the Canadian Rocky Mountain's east slope with  this sort
  • There is no easily acessable resort on the Canadian Rocky Mountain's east slope with  this sort
  • There is no easily acessable resort on the Canadian Rocky Mountain's east slope with  this sort
  • There is no easily acessable resort on the Canadian Rocky Mountain's east slope with  this sort
  • There is no easily acessable resort on the Canadian Rocky Mountain's east slope with  this sort
 of 5 bubbles Bruce_Raynor, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Every cabin is basically the same.”
 of 5 bubbles asianfoodaddict, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pick the cabins away from the lobby area”
 of 5 bubbles crash2224, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Check out your assigned chalet and make sure it is clean before paying for it.”
 of 5 bubbles 413marylyna, 5 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5