We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Albion Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Albion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Albion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We were lucky to get a place at Albion Hotel during the high season in Auckland. We booked a horrible AirBnB and decided we could not stay there. We thought we booked the Shakespeare Hotel at Albert Street through Booking.com but it was a "false" reservation; Shakespeare didn't have a room. (Which means we needed to try get out deposit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank summerydawn
Creseda M, Manager at The Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write feedback about our property. We are glad that you liked our hospitality and service. We are well known for our central location and reasonable price in Auckland CBD. We are renovating our hotel rooms to upgrade our standard. Once again thank you for your time and effort you have invested to...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Although this Hotel is close to town it is in need of a serious makeover - mould all through the bathroom, towel rail falling off the wall, only 1 small light had a bulb, flannel left in room from whoever was there before us, dirty, paint peeling off doors, loo falling to bits, overloaded multibox as only had 1 powerpoint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natsr2015
Creseda M, Manager at The Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write review for our hotel. We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you faced during your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is valuable to us as we always strive for improvement. We always want to satisfy our customer but sometimes we lack behind. We are renovating all the hotel rooms to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 October 2016

After staying in dorms for the past two weeks, I was ready to treat myself and "splurge" on a private room before leaving New Zealand. I was nervous about this place after reading the reviews but my experience was fine. I have never stayed in a hotel above a bar so I didn't know what to expect. I was on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simone S
Creseda M, Manager at The Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are glad hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. Sorry for the disturbance by the construction work next door, but we can't do much about that. We have requested them to start the construction work from 10 am so that our guest can have good sleep....

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewed 19 September 2016

In a central location this hotel was perfect for exploring the CBD. It's close to food and drink whilst offering its own in house. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful from the owner to the bar staff. The room was clean and tidy. Yes it's dated but it's an old hotel and they are planning to renovate everything. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlexJW91
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 5 year old. We barely slept with our room situated directly above the bar. You could hear every conversation going on. Awesome spa bath however weren't told that we couldn't use it so we went ahead only to find out that all the bath water flooded through the roof directly into the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kat F
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Dropped in here for a quick lunch on a Wednesday afternoon. $10 steaks on the menu. My husband had the steak and enjoyed his meal. I had a chicken wrap which was lovely, it actually had large pieces of chicken in it ! Drinks were served in a large pint glasses. Service quick and friendly ! Very cute little pub...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maree H
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Had arranged a stay well in advance which coordinated with Monday city meetings, plus a group luncheon on Sunday. Good price. No parking?! even parking tips poor. Good greeting, young lad was very courteous and endeavoured to help/please. TV didn't work, no remote initially (an hour & half to remedy) initial "floor/overnight" Manager did stuff all when advised, followed up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
Nice, France
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Besides the fast free wifi and the very good location I cannot find anything positive to say about this hotel. I understand it is a historic hotel but it is dated, old, seedy and its way past time for this hotel to get restored. The shower walls were disgusting and it sure did not want make you have a shower...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dydsou
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

You get what you pay for @ $99 a night includes a standard room with queen bed and ensuite right in the heart of the city. What else were you expecting , 5 star? The Albion is a historic building with a beautifully refurbished restaurant and bar downstairs. The only thing was when I stayed in winter the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TJ-NZL
Auckland
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

The photos look great but in real it doesn't. Bed was done great but the room was not vacuumed well. Looks pale inside the room ( they could have just placed a flower to make it a bit better). No elevator. Poor heating, not great for winter. Reception was ok, but not that helpful. They have low occupancy but they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tani_bee143

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Region hotels
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
297 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.4 km away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 68 in Auckland
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Quest on Hobson
Quest on Hobson
#22 of 100 in Auckland
203 reviews
0.2 km away
Ramada Suites Auckland - Federal Street
0.4 km away
Barclay Suites Auckland
Barclay Suites Auckland
#7 of 100 in Auckland
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about The Albion Hotel

Address: 119 Hobson St, 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region
Price Range: €86 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Albion Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Albion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles MoniPeni42, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I really liked Room 306”
 of 5 bubbles simonesM5970OU, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“quaint cheap well located if you can sleep thru all the noise”
 of 5 bubbles 160MichaelP, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Do not choose this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Dydsou, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No lifts - ask for lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles melbourne1244, 6 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5