We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Noir

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Noir
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,026 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Noir
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,014: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2015

Stayed here back in August for one evening whilst picking my new car up. Hotel is clean and tidy and has excellent clean facilities. Finding our way out for the first time was 'interesting' as there was a series of rabbit runs in the hall ways, but after this it wasn't an issue. Hotel is a short walk from York...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FW18
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you're returning in the future, join our free loyalty club "Friends Of Noir" on our website and get 10% off rooms, food and drink every time you stay! Kind regards, Hotel Noir.

Runcorn
Reviewed 12 March 2015

I booked this hotel only 45 minutes before I arrived there. It is a lovely little hotel with excellent in room facilities and a very large, comfortable bed. The Tassimo coffee machine in my room was a lovely touch but it would have been nice to have had decaffeinated coffee available. It would also have been nice to have had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheshanna
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you're returning in the future, join our free loyalty club "Friends Of Noir" on our website and get 10% off rooms, food and drink every time you stay! A couple of our smaller rooms are without a desk due to layout issues,...

Reviewed 10 March 2015 via mobile

Booked a room as a last minute deal. Great price and lovely little hotel. Excellent location. Free parking. Free wifi. Complimentary mini bar. Ten minute walk into town. Friendly and welcoming staff. Room was clean with ample space and fresh towels and linens. Couldn't have asked for more. Be warned that there's no lift in this hotel, so ask for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twoeightthree
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you're returning in the future, join our free loyalty club "Friends Of Noir" on our website and get 10% off rooms, food and drink every time you stay! We're happy to help with bags up to the upper floors, or alternatively, depending...

Reviewed 2 March 2015 via mobile

Outside appearance and surroundings were obviously well looked after and regularly maintained which was a great start. Upon check in we were greeted by a not-so-enthusiastic receptionist who didn't speak English too well. She was pleasant enough but didn't deliver that warm welcome you expect from someone at front of house regardless of the price you are paying. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jess G
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay but disappointed that there were aspects you were not so pleased with. The receptionist in question is new and was on one of her very first shifts alone, so please accept my apologies if her inexperience hampered your stay in any way. With regards to the car park, we...

Reviewed 1 March 2015

Me and my partner recently stayed at Hotel Noir. Overall we had a pleasant stay at this hotel but there were a few points which did disappoint us. As a "friend of Noir" we were advised we were legible for room upgrade (if available upon arrival) if this wasn't available we would receive some "goodies" I was told this twice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mol2590
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you liked the room but sorry you were disappointed with aspects of your stay. Our Friends Of Noir club gives you 10% off the price of your room, and also from any food and drink you have while you're here. In addition, as you note, we provide a free upgrade where available or...

Reviewed 27 February 2015 via mobile

On a budget so we decided on the compact room. It was very cosy which I loved! Facilities were perfect for what you needed and I couldn't find a fault! Would recommend this place to anyone staying over York.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gemmerducky
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you're returning in the future, join our free loyalty club "Friends Of Noir" on our website and get 10% off rooms, food and drink every time you stay! Kind regards, Hotel Noir.

Reviewed 27 February 2015

The service was fantastic the staff went above and beyond expectations my partner was on crutches at the time of staying and the staff kindly placed a reserved cone in a parking space nearest the hotel for us at no extra cost. The rooms are great too a proper coffee machine with coffee and hot chocolate free drinks in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie-jay12111994
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you're returning in the future, join our free loyalty club "Friends Of Noir" on our website and get 10% off rooms, food and drink every time you stay! Kind regards, Hotel Noir.

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2015

We stayed here for just one night on a half board basis. Parking- the parking is free but very small and extremely tight if you are in anything bigger than a small car- we even struggled to get in the entrance due to cars parked on the road giving an awkward entrance angle! Check in- quick, efficient, friendly. Room- we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley D
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you're returning in the future, join our free loyalty club "Friends Of Noir" on our website and get 10% off rooms, food and drink every time you stay! Our car park is tight as you say (cars are much bigger these days!)...

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2015

Stayed Twice in December on business. Found this to be a great value Hotel. Clean roomy bedrooms and helpful friendly staff. Parked in car park on second visit and on street free parking on first. Good Location and Great Value!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vixxi-vixxi
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you're returning in the future, join our free loyalty club "Friends Of Noir" on our website and get 10% off rooms, food and drink every time you stay! Kind regards, Hotel Noir.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Lovely budget hotel in a great location. Close enough to walk to York city center with no problems. The staff was fantastic. Stayed with two small children in a triple room. We ended up with three single beds, which worked fine for us, but was a bit surprising. The cot provided did not come with a sheet and the sides...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank meghan303
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you're returning in the future, join our free loyalty club "Friends Of Noir" on our website and get 10% off rooms, food and drink every time you stay! Kind regards, Hotel Noir.

318 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Classic Room (22)
Viewed
Compact Room (23)
Viewed
Family Room (27)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Room (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.0 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,034 reviews
1.1 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
1,723 reviews
1.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Price Range: €66 - €200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Noir staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Noir staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pre-book breakfast is cheaper than PAYG.”
 of 5 bubbles RupertT_11, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 103 was good”
 of 5 bubbles crimson55, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some traffic noise on front - but these rooms have good outlook. Stairs steep but there are rooms lower down.”
 of 5 bubbles jandibroon, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms come with free mink bar etc, but join friends of noir to get this free if hotel is not full”
 of 5 bubbles fevladfrank, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 304 had a 4 poster bed with a large corner bath. Situated at rear, we had an excellent sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles rob_bailey, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5