We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hare and Hounds Country Inn

Save
Share
Lane Ends, Wadsworth, Hebden Bridge HX7 8TN England
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wadsworth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
It could be a pint of Timothy Taylor on the patio; Sunday lunch with the family by a roaring fire; or a weekend escape from the big city. Maybe a daydream whilst watching our pet pigs and chickens play, or a game of scrabble by the fire on a cold wet night. We really do look down on Hebden Bridge, nestling 900 feet below. Just a twenty minute saunter, through beautiful scenery will take you to the centre of the wonderful eclectic town of Hebden Bridge, with its fine mixture of urban and rural. The area has a rich literary and artistic history, including writers, photographers, musicians, artists, alternative practitioners, teachers, green and New Age cultures. You name it Hebden Bridge has it. From coffee bars to micro bars, Turkish food to Vegan food, and its "great little shops", Hebden has something for everyone. With two buses an hour or a taxi for less than five pounds its easy to escape back to the peace and quiet of our lovely little village.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Kids' meals
Hiking
Darts
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Street parking
Wifi
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
198Reviews2Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 49
  • 11
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tony Lee wrote a review 22 Jul
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom21 contributions6 helpful votes
I just visited this country pub for a meal with my wife and daughter. We had a lovely time. James and Kelly and their team looked after us from start to finish. If you're looking to go al fresco this is the place. Breathtaking views to Stoodley pike and down the Calder Valley. What more could you ask for. We had Caesar salad, sweet potato fries, haloumi fries snd salad and a child's scampi. All made with love and you could tell that. Thank you. The Timothy Taylors Boltmaker/bitter is phenomenal. Thank you again to all of you for a lovely afternoon. My daughter particularly enjoyed feeding the ducks. More soon please. An excellent establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from James Fielden, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you so much Tony , really glad you all enjoyed it all . Even pencilled in a shower to cool down the 30 degree heat . Thank you for the review it means a lot
Read more
kieroncoyle wrote a review Jun 2021
Atherstone, United Kingdom22 contributions21 helpful votes
Went on 20th June was brought menus and told " we will be back in 5 mins to take your order" so far so good. 25 minutes later no one had returned, 10 minutes after that we were told that we cannot accommodate you for food because a large group has arrived. Thanks for nothing, crap service in a crap location with crap staff giving crap excuses so overall CRAP
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Dont go, go to Robin hood inn, pecket well or into hebden bridge
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from James Fielden, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Firstly we appologise you didn't enjoy your experience. At very busy times when people who have actually booked arrive then it can sometimes impact on any walk in's however you should not have been told we could cater for you and the bookings book had clearly not been communicated by the bar supervisor to the waitress/ waiter team we will use your feedback to address this via training with the team to the benefit of the service and customer experience in the future thank you . I think if you check the vast majority of reviews since we took over in October 2020 have been highly positive and negative reviews are a tiny percentage. We would certainly have to disagree regarding the location being crap it is by far one of the best pub locations and views there is in Yorkshire Once again thank you for your feedback we do take it seriously and will use it to improve. If you would like to book in for a meal in the future we would provide you some complimentary drinks , If you had got to try the food you would see its well worth coming back for... Thank you Al the best Kind regards James ( Landlord )
Read more
John F wrote a review May 2021
Eaglescliffe, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
Whilst visiting the area we booked in for an evening meal at this fantastic Pub. The staff were friendly, helpful & attentive. My father in law is elderly and they moved us to near the fire to make him more comfortable. The food was homemade, tasty and fantastic, the beer was great but the icing on the cake was all the staff who made this such an enjoyable experience. I will visit again and try your pies next time as they looked unbelievable when they were bought to the table next to ours. Also thanks for the Mug
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James Fielden, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much John glad you all enjoyed it see you soon
Read more
Amanda B wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Arrived for late lunch. Sat on the terrace in the sun with great views over to Studley Pike. Fab food cheese pie was fantastic, home cooked chunky chips. Second visit this holiday. Family catch up in a great location.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James Fielden, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much
Read more
Hungry Dumpling wrote a review Oct 2020
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom27 contributions22 helpful votes
Good to see this lovely pub with a great refurb, all looking much brighter, updated etc. Good food, above average pub grub, friendly service. Only quibbles perhaps a lack of lighter menu options (not even a salad) and we felt people were seated too close for Covid safety really. Our next table was occupied and certainly no more than a metre away. We'll be back but perhaps during the week when less crowded or after covid has 'blown over'.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from James Fielden, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your feedback
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$115 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireWest YorkshireHebden BridgeWadsworth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hare and Hounds Country Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Hare and Hounds Country Inn?
Nearby attractions include SMJ Falconry (7.4 km), Heptonstall (1.8 km), and Hebden Bridge Picture House (1.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hare and Hounds Country Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and darts.
Is parking available at Hare and Hounds Country Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hare and Hounds Country Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The BAR & TAPAS an Aux Delices company, Marco's Cafe, and Engine.
Is Hare and Hounds Country Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Wadsworth.
Are pets allowed at Hare and Hounds Country Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Hare and Hounds Country Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Heptonstall (1.8 km), Hardcastle Crags (2.0 km), and Gibson Mill (2.7 km).