We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sands Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

The new Bistro at the Sands was the choice for dinner after a long day at work. My choice was the O.M.G. Burger. It was a monster burger, complete with bacon, cheese, tomato, caramelised onion and a oversized beef patties, all secured with a wooden skewer. Served with shoestring fries and horseradish ketchup. I needed 2 napkins to eat this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barina61
Gina H, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Ha! I know what you mean. We are thinking of changing the name to Food Coma Burger. It's become one of our best sellers. I hope you've continued to enjoy the rest of our menu. Please be sure to give us any feedback. See you soon! Gina Hooper Licensee

Reviewed 19 October 2016

It's actually a motel. We almost miss the entrance because it's really a small side-door of the building. The front-door of the building is actually a bistro, although I hardly hear any noise from it. The motel building is right next to the grocery store and a petrol station. It has plenty of open car park and it's free! It's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suntick
Gina H, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your honest opinion is what convinces other travellers to choose us, and is always greatly appreciated. Thanks especially for mentioning the stairs! We try to be as transparent as possible in all our online advertising, but sometimes our guests miss the fact that all our rooms are above a functioning...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Very welcoming place to stay. Neat and clean. Friendly staff. Great trivia night on Tuesdays. Close to beaches and other places of interest. I have no hesitation to recomend Sand Hotel. In fact, I will be back there again in November for a weeks stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne672014
New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

What a find! Stayed overnight in this great little hotel. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. All Staff are very happy and friendly. We travelled with other family members and booked two rooms. Each room was clean, roomy and well lit. We were a family of four, so our room consisted of a double and two singles. This hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShazzanDazza
Port Macquarie
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Four adults sharing one room. One double bed and two singles. We just wanted somewhere cheap to sleep without having to share a bedroom or bathroom with strangers so this was it. Quite good, not noisy and very close to Woolworths supermarket and a couple of take away shops.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dadeba
Mystery Bay, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2016

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at the Sands Hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and we have to say a big thank you to "Chrissie" for her kindness and helpfulness. The food at the Bistro was exceptional, along with the great service in the Pub. All the staff were terrific. The location of the Sands is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soovain
Gina H, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your review. I'm so happy to hear that you had such a positive experience with us, and I have passed on your thanks to Chrissy. I am also pleased to be able to take this opportunity to announce an exciting development in our Bistro.... Jason, our head chef, has just had a baby (a little...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend our son's wedding which was only 500mtres from Horizons function venue. Had a deluxe room at rear which was clean,spacious and good value, the small shopping center next to it was handy as it has a supermarket,chemist,bakery and a charcoal chicken shop. Staff were friendly and the service was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Infequenttravels
Gina H, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. It really makes a difference to our future guests to get an honest opinion from a fellow traveler. We are proud of our official AAA rating of 3 and a half stars, and like to be upfront about what we are: a clean, convenient and good-value motel above a friendly...

Bathurst, Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Fabulous Bistro, handy location. LOVED the food, great prices, it was a real find, I wish I lived in Sydney to take advantage of it. I had Beer battered John Dory fillets, chips, homemade Tartare sauce and a garden salad and they just don’t come any better, especially at that price. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinkum23
Gina H, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the two thumbs up! I have passed your review on to our Bistro staff, who always appreciate positive feedback. We hope to see you back in Maroubra soon! Happy Travelling, Gina Hooper Licensee

Reviewed 1 September 2016

This pleasant pub hotel is tucked away in suburban streets and forms part of a small shopping complex a short walk from the beach. Our Deluxe room was standard format with a balcony and spacious bathroom. All clean bright and in good condition. We were weary from travel and rang ahead to see if we could check in early. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
Gina H, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We know what it's like after a long drive, and were pleased to be able to wiggle our bookings around to get you the early check-in. Thank you also for mentioning how close we are to the airport and city. The express bus from Maroubra gets into town in only...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Reasonably priced accommodation for Sydney. Good location for a holiday stay, but unfortunately I was only there for the night so didn't get to explore or enjoy what they had to offer. Room was above the pub, so a little noisy in the evening. Good pub food on offer. Comfortable room with basic amenities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glen247
Gina H, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Sands Hotel! We're happy to hear you enjoyed the food; we like to boast that you can feed a family for under $50 at our Bistro with our range of $10 meals. Today's Special is slow-cooked beef pot pie with a puff pastry lid that you'd wish went on...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maroubra
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel Pub-Style Rooms
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
257 reviews
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sands Hotel in Maroubra offers the perfect 3.5 star (AAA Rated) accommodation base for exploring the wonderful Eastern Beaches of Sydney. We are like a friendly, first rate country motel and pub - only ours is just 20 minutes from both the centre of Sydney City and the airport! The Sands Hotel Motel consists of 15 rooms, all with free WIFI, ensuite, balcony, reverse-cycle air-conditioning, fridge, kettle, toaster, free tea and coffee, flat screen digital TV's (with over 20 channels to choose from) and daily servicing. Our Deluxe rooms are larger and are positioned to the quieter rear of the building, away from the street. Some Deluxe rooms are available with inter-connecting doors; ideal for large families (please call to check availability). All our rooms are on the first floor (up a short flight of stairs), with the Bistro, bar, function room and bottleshop on the ground floor. We are a friendly, family-run pub in the South Maroubra Shopping Village. We are community minded, and committed to providing a fun, safe and family friendly venue with great value meals from our Bistro, and well-maintained facilities in our motel and bar. There's ping-pong, darts, pool and arcade games, KENO, TAB and of course... really good beer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Address: 32-40 Curtin Cres, Maroubra, Randwick, New South Wales 2035, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Maroubra
Price Range: €105 - €126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seem to overlook car park and are above bar”
Bigtod, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The back rooms are quieter.”
, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have tea/coffee/toast/microwave facilities. The deluxe rooms have a kitchen sink.”
496jennyb, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Standard rooms are spacious,have a microwave & crockery/ cutlery adequate for light breakfast/meal.Room 9 was quiet? bigger.Walk in showers”
margaretgregor, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for fooms with double numbers as they are on the quiet side of the hotel.”
Dianne672014, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5