We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Emerald Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kawau Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Emerald Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Emerald Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 27: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our night away. Good food, good company good weather, looking forward to a return visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We arrived at 2:30pm as told, but could not have our room until 6pm by the time the other guests had checked out and the room was ready (the voucher clearly states late checkout, so unsure why they were not more organised) Felt rude having to ask for a drink and the average dinner wasn't until 9:30pm! Dry meat, veggies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RBandEW1428
John C, Manager at Emerald Lodge, responded to this review

I remember the couple well. They were and are not the type of people that would enjoy our lodge. She complained about service and dismissed our staff when they tried to help with an off hand "Just Go!". They were given three bottles of wine free of charge. Nothing we could do would have made her pleased. Table manners were...

Auckland
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We booked this lodge for a special occasion two months in advance by email, and received confirmation of the booking. Two days before, I emailed to confirm this, and received a relatively polite but flat response back saying that they have a problem and have no record of the booking, and no space for us. No apology however, simply a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KaneAkl
John C, Manager at Emerald Lodge, responded to this review

They didn't stay with us....we were not obliged to offer a refund but elected to do so under the circumstances.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Not what my wife & I expected from reading earlier reviews. To begin I must mention my wife & I are both in our late 70,s, & while quite keen on walking, are not really agile. Getting there can be a problem. The Kawau Kat is a fairly large & comfortable means of transport, but you are not guaranteed that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robert M
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Lovely place to stay and very friendly hosts. More of a homestay than a lodge as advertised. Still a nice place to go to to relax. Great place to unwind and chill, but not a lot to do if you like going out. Was raining when we were there so were confined to the accomodation. Obviously this wasn't the fault...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The location is totally tranquil & serene. You can't help but unwind and relax with the location and fantastic attention from Kim & John. You never wanted for anything and the food was first class. It feels like you are sitting on a boat with the sea lapping at the side.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anotherkiwitraveller
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 January 2012

If you want a place to stay where you can totally relax without being fixed to 'food times', have friendly service and fantastic food then this is it! If you are a cat lover (which I am) then you are in cat heaven with 3 beautiful friendly cats (and the dog Max is not bad either!). Lively conversation at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dolly070759
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I had been looking for ages for the perfect weekend away present for my parent's 40th wedding anniversary. My parents are both busy people so I wanted them to be pampered, looked after and well rested. Emerald Lodge was EXACTLY what I was looking for. John and Kim looked after my parents like they were family and my parents said...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike Lorelle R
John C, Owner at Emerald Lodge, responded to this review

:) Comments like yours are the reason why we do this....thank you so very very much WOW!

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 December 2011

There's nothing to do but enjoy the spectacular tranquil surroundings and the excellent down home hospitality.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew S
John C, Owner at Emerald Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much...it was a pleasure to have enjoyed your interesting conversation and wit.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Emerald Lodge is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Whatever the reason for your stay, hosts John and Kim make you feel welcome, relaxed and well feed. The native bush and birds add a peaceful ambiance to reading in a hammock or kayaking on the water. There is never a shortage of great home cooked meals and snacks. Enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth D
John C, Owner at Emerald Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much....I loved talking about the bees with you...a real pleasure. :)

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for a slice of heaven, a unique experience to share with family and friends. Come and discover this wonderful Island escape. Your hosts, Kim and John, would like to welcome you to their home located on the sunny sheltered shores of North Cove, Kawau Island. If it's a breakaway to recharge the batteries, reignite the passion or a jam packed, kiwi outdoor experience, we can make your island dream come true. Too good to be true, certainly not. Come, discover the delights of Kawau Island at its best. This is our slice of heaven and we look forward to sharing it with you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emerald Lodge

Address: North Cove, Kawau Island 1142, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Kawau Island
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Emerald Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles karenk610, 12 May 2012 | Read review
“Not all rooms have ensuits so specify if you feel you need one. However we had bathroom all to ourselves anyway and posed no problems at all.”
 of 5 bubbles MattH572, 14 Apr 2012 | Read review
“Ask for a room that has a bathroom attached.”
 of 5 bubbles TrevorP67, 13 Mar 2012 | Read review
3 of 3