We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
Lindenhurst, New York
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

After two months jockeying around south east Asia I knew I'd need a break before continuing on. This was just right. Perfect accommodations. I've never seen a pillow selection chart anywhere else. Every part of the resort I used was good. Two shower heads! Water pressure was outstanding. Unfortunately the hot water was never around when I needed it but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iratdog
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am p;leased that you enjoyed the pillow menu, water pressure and breakfasts. If there was a hot water problem it would have been specific to your room because each room has its own hot water system which makes life a lot more fragile because we have so many hot water systems to look after....

Kortrijk, Belgium
Reviewed 5 April 2016

We booked last minute twee two bedrooms and bathrooms villas in this resort. A big part of this resort is specially reserved as a nursing facility for elderly europeans in need of rest and friendly staff. Prices are good and welcoming is up to date. The small pools are more than enough as we were only the ones in it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fredsnac
Ibiraquera, SC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

I've been here for a meditation retreat, and we were in a large group of people from different parts of the world. We were greeted with authentic Thai care, with attention to detail of our needs and a big YES to everything we need. Receive and take care of a group of about 100 people is really a delicate task...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siyana C
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to have such a wonderful group staying with us. I often say that pleasant guests find the most helpful staff and everybody in your group was extremely pleasant to deal with, it was enough for us to consider the benefits of meditation! Something works! Yours was the biggest group for the longest period that we have...

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Brought my mother for a birthday Spa treat in January and was very disappointed. I has stayed many times before and loved it. This time was much different. first off, we rented the family suite at twice the price , specifically for the Jacuzzi tub. first off the Jacuzzi was moldy and I had to clean the tub before I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4aroras
Peter B, Manager at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

It hurts me more than usual when a previously happy customer has been let down. If you can contact me I will try to find a method to recompense you for your stay. I apologise for the problems.

Nesbyen Municipality, Norway
Reviewed 22 March 2016

If You are travelling north of Chiang Mai.....and are longing for a peaceful resort but still with luxury and moderate prices....this is the stay for You!!...... Sunsawan Resort lies just 30 min. outside the city.....and here are many roomtypes/villaoptions to choose between; standardrooms, suites, deluxsuites..If You want to feel like a queen/king for some nights;...I really recommend to book Delux...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meritengstrom
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

It is difficult to know what to say having read your extremely kind review. It makes the work of the staff worthwhile just to get at least one response like this. We do try hard to makes things as best we can, we are after all a family business with limited funds and when we read a bad review it...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Suansawan is a quiet and beautiful resort hotel set in an area with many attractions. The service is very good, staff always helpful to all kinds of requests. Rooms are nice and spacious, many are placed by a small lake. There is a nice garden with trees, palms and ornamentals which is well maintained. The hotel also has two nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vibhoda
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and always grateful when a happy guest takes the trouble to write a review Peter

Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with a group of 150 people for a meditation retreat. It was so nice to come to the hotel and out of the city after spending some days there.It was very quiet and tranquil here.The room I had was cool all day without the AC on. There is a lot to explore around the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kumud H
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.WE enjoyed having your group here Peter

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2016

went for three months to escape English winter/ weather was good. told several untruths in information. No crafts as advertised every week. NoI pad info as advertised every week. When you are elderly you need things to do. The weekly excursion was always to a hugh shopping maul. in your 70/80 you do not need a new wardrobe every week....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous361879
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I read your review with sadness especially after the amount of expense and work that we have put in to improve the resort for disabilities and specifically curing those faults that you pointed out to me during your stay. I would estimate that our resort is the most disabled friendly of its kind in Chiang Mai but I am aware...

Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

The gardens and pond are so beautiful here, I felt relaxed as soon as we got there. Pool is cold and not very busy. I'm so glad we chose to stay a little bit out of the city. Unfortunately when your out of the city it means you'll need a moped or you'll spend more on taxis. The breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea S
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the resort but disappointed that you didn't enjoy the food.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night. Staff absent. Had to carry my luggage to the room and rather 'absent' staff at check-out. Rooms are well appointed but bathrooms are in need of renovations. All very clean however. Did not try restaurant and swimming pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaurentK
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I don't understand how you had to carry your own bags to the room unless we were already taking other guests. I apologise for the problem Peter

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (171)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Rim hotels
4.2 km away
Gudi Boutique Hotel
Gudi Boutique Hotel
#15 of 18 in Mae Rim
22 reviews
16.9 km away
Botanic Resort ChiangMai
Botanic Resort ChiangMai
#16 of 18 in Mae Rim
18 reviews
0.3 km away
Mae Rim Lagoon
Mae Rim Lagoon
#8 of 18 in Mae Rim
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
1.5 km away
Ruen Ariya Resort
Ruen Ariya Resort
#17 of 18 in Mae Rim
25 reviews
2.7 km away
Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is a relaxing, boutique, garden resort situated in the beautiful and tranquil Maerim Valley, a 30 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and in the centre of the wide range of Chiang Mai's attractions. Offering a full range of recreational activities the facilities include two swimming pools, a beautiful Thai spa, a fitness centre, a sauna, and a lakeside relaxation sala with library These facilities are surrounded by the finest relaxation environment and nature. The resort features 47 understated rooms & villas in huge sub-tropical surroundings with approximately 1,000 trees, an impressive lake, 3 fishponds and many garden areas with relaxing garden salas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai

Address: 43/1 Moo 6, Mae Rim-Samoeng Road | Maeram Subdistrict, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand (Formerly Away Suansawan Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Price Range: €29 - €58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Mae Rim
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand - Mae Rim
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mae Rim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room on the lake is the best:)”
 of 5 bubbles Elena_Starchenko, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Villas are great”
 of 5 bubbles apinadell, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“....Delux Suite Lakeside!!....They are heavenly!”
 of 5 bubbles meritengstrom, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“New rooms have quiet air-condition. AC in old rooms are noisy, though location of old rooms are more beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles Vibhoda, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I am talking as a disabled traveller. Staff to scared to take you out in case anything goes wrong”
 of 5 bubbles Anonymous361879, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5