We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Penzance

Save
Share
Traveller (67)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (4)
Overview
Hotel website
E-mail hotel
Castle Horneck, Alverton, Castle Horneck TR20 8TF England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
3 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit Hotel Website
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
113
48
12
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
113
48
12
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyouth hostelself catering kitchenbunk bedsdrying roomfamily roombell tentperson roomcommunal facilitiescamping areabike storagelands endtrain stationcycle ridetop bunkst michael s mounttown centrefree wifi
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Always stayed in Yha's in the Lakes and North Wales. So never thought up until this year to stay in any others. Boy was I blown away as the place was busy and beautiful. I stayed in a form with 6 beds and the place...More

Thank Hemmett13
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time trying hostelling as a family (5 of us) and we were absolutely delighted with everything. Highly recommended. The hostel has a lovely friendly, atmosphere with plenty to keep everyone occupied

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank familydv
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed at YHA Penzance on a bank holiday photography trip to Cornwall. We arrived at around 3pm - although we were unable to check in until 5pm, the lovely staff said that we could relax in the lounge until check in...More

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank JDouglasImagery
Response from Paul K, Manager at YHA PenzanceResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for such a positive review it's much appreciated when guests notice all the little things. At this late stage of the season the staff have usually slumped in a corner and the building is looking tired. This year has been different...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an overnight stop prior to getting the early ferry to Scilly - the staff were amazingly helpful and accommodating. I've not stayed at a Youth Hostel for about 30 years and my word was I pleasantly surprised the family room was specious and...More

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank rockhogg
Response from Paul K, Manager at YHA PenzanceResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Rockhogg, 30 years! Was it reminding you of woolly blankets and angry wardens? Those days have long gone. YHA have spent millions of pounds on upgrading the network. The blankets have gone. We even made the bed for you. It's time to start booking...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a hostel this isn't too bad. Good kitchen, dining room, lounge, bar, food and staff. Scruffy laundry, poor pool table, unreliable (or over-stretched) WiFi, too few toilets and showers. Our two person room was the smallest we have come across in any hostel. Two...More

Thank BobLackNZ
Response from Paul K, Manager at YHA PenzanceResponded 3 weeks ago

hello Bob, thank you for your review. It started well, thanks. I am sorry that you felt hat we are overpriced and your room too small. I have checked your booking and see that you requested a ground floor room as you were unable to...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$36 - US$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Family Rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$36 - US$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Family Rooms, Non-Smoking Rooms
Photos
Traveller (67)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (4)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Queens Hotel
545 reviews
1.48 km away
Hotel Penzance
901 reviews
1.97 km away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
85 reviews
5.98 km away
Marazion Hotel
377 reviews
6.08 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all restaurants
Sportsmans Arms
76 reviews
1.17 km away
Mackerel Sky Seafood Bar
670 reviews
1.34 km away
Heamoor Fish & Chips
19 reviews
1.33 km away
Jelberts
351 reviews
1.33 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all attractions
Newlyn Filmhouse
95 reviews
1.26 km away
Penlee House Gallery & Museum
572 reviews
1.31 km away
Newlyn Art Gallery
125 reviews
1.30 km away
Morrab Gardens
111 reviews
1.49 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from YHA Penzance staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Don't go in July or August. They allow campers in their back garden to crowd the hostel."
Read review
"Room 22 is hot and small - cramped for 4 people."
Read review
"Private room."
Read review
"There is a disabled bathroom on the ground floor plus suitable accommodation on that floor."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing