We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lanes Hotel

Visit hotel website
Traveller (88)
Room & Suite (27)
Video
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
BOOK DIRECT for best rate available. A contemporary boutique hotel in a traditional hamstone building. Beautiful grounds with friendly goats on their own island. Modern Brasserie restaurant. A Somerset cider list complements a well chosen wine list. Spa & gym. Perfect location for the Royal Navy Fleet Air Arm Museum as well as stopovers to and from Devon & Cornwall. For best available rate: book direct at our website.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Reviews & more
407Reviews
94Photos
2Q+A
68Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 270
  • 102
  • 22
  • 10
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Under new owners since our last visit and they have cut the previous owners established quality for money. The standard of the food was a big let down at the banquet and the bed mattresses need replacing. Breakfast is now on a hotplate so was dry and hard, they need to go back
Read more
Response from Shaun W, Owner at Lanes Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for posting a review. It is always disappointing to read that guests have not enjoyed a stay with us, we put so much hard work and effort into such a special event as this. It is a shame that your party didn't enjoy the food, we have had so much positive feedback and two groups have already enquired about rebooking for next year. I must refute your statement that we 'have cut the previous owners' quality for money'. We are now buying produce of a much higher quality level throughout our food purchasing, with meat being a prime example. The meat is from a local butcher who only buys meats from local farmers on a quality basis. The comparison you make is unfair as you have not compared apples with apples. The last time you visited, you attended a black-tie gala dinner, whereas this year we offered a more relaxed carved buffet due to local demand. This is what we marketed and this what you booked. The two services are very different and this was also reflected in the cost of attending the event. I note that your party had two bedrooms, one of which had a new mattress on the 20th of December 2018, so I assume that it was the other mattress that you found uncomfortable. I will look at this and replace if required. We offered a buffet breakfast on New Years Day as we know from experience that a large volume of guests will come down at a similar time leading to delays with a la carte breakfast however we are always willing to cook to order when requested. With that said, I disagree with your comments regarding the quality of the breakfast buffet on that particular morning. With the quick turnover, items being cooked in small batches and regularly changed or topped up by our staff, I am content that the breakfast buffet was of a high standard. I appreciate that our opinions differ and I respect your perspective. I can only conclude that it is impossible to please all people at all times. I know from feedback received that the other guests enjoyed celebrating New Year with us and were happy with the food served at both dinner and breakfast, with your party being the only exception. I wish you well for 2019.
Read more
I spent Christmas here with my daughter ,I really can't fault it. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, but it is the staff who make it so special. They are the most friendly , happy ,caring staff you could ask for. The room was spotless, the beds comfortable, and it was quiet,
Read more
Response from Shaun W, Owner at Lanes Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a nice review​. It was a lovely Christmas for all, including all of us working. Your kind comments are really appreciated by the team. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
I stay at The Lanes hotel on a reasonably regular basis while visiting the area on business. The rooms are well appointed comfortable and spacious. The bar area is pleasant and in the summer sitting in the gardens to the rear is very lovely. The food is all of good quality but
Read more
Response from Shaun W, Owner at Lanes Hotel
Responded 14 Dec 2018
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoy staying with us and trust that you will continue.
Read more
I have stayed at lanes several times, the hotel is very nice, but on this occasion I was disappointed. The bed was far to low, and comfort was not so great, two of us were in a Double room, with 1 towel I ordered a paper that was given to me on check out. Might seem small and
Read more
Response from Shaun W, Owner at Lanes Hotel
Responded 12 Dec 2018
Thank you for your posting. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your recent visit. I will look at the bed in that room. There is no excuse for the lack of towels nor the newspaper however these issues could have easily been dealt with during your stay. Incidentally, I did take the newspaper off your bill on checkout but I was unaware of the towels. The room was set up for a single occupancy, hence the lack of towels for two. You are correct, the details matter, we understand this and I'm sorry that we fell short on this occasion. I do hope that we can reassure you on your next visit. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Attended a business lunch at Lanes this week. The venue is always good and the food and staff were top notch. I would recommend anyone have a business meeting, lunch or conference to consider Lanes, you will not be disappointed.
Read more
Response from Shaun W, Owner at Lanes Hotel
Responded 9 Dec 2018
Thank you for posting a positive review, it is always a pleasure to look after the local business community. I look forward to seeing you all in the new year.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Bedroom
Bathroom
PreviousNext
123456
Does this hotel have any entertainment?
Hi, yes we have a programme of tribute nights. We also have a pianist on selected Friday evenings. Please see our website or call me for details on dates. Regards Shaun
0 votes
does it have a pool or sauna?
It has the Leisure Suite, which includes a spa with a sauna, Jacuzzi and "experience shower". There is also a gym but no pool.
3 votes
Show all answers
"What till the mattresses have been renewed."
"Back rooms have views over a beautiful garden"
"Try to get a room at the back with a view over the garden."
"Request a garden view."
"ask for an apartment or balcony room"
PreviousNext
12345614
PRICE RANGE
US$133 - US$253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lanes hotel west cokerlanes hotel yeovil
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYeovilWest Coker
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing