We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lantern Court Motel

Certificate of Excellence
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Lantern Court Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Lantern Court Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 116: English reviews
Mangonui, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Great accommodation with different types of unit to meet all budgets. Very clean and comfy we had a wonderful king bed 😃. Very friendly and helpful reception staff who focus on customer satisfaction.

Thank dalex010
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hello dalex010, Thank you for a lovely review. Its the great people we get to meet that make our job so enjoyable. It is a pleasure to see folk out and about enjoying them selves. Take care and hope to catch up again some time, best wishes Kerry

Amberley, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

We booked the three bedroom apartment here and it was fantastic. If you're looking for super modern then maybe this isn't for you but if you're up for blending into the feel of the town then you'll love this place. Beds are comfy! Lantern Court is central in Reefton but only minutes walk from the gorgeous Inangahua River. It's next...

Thank Hospo_Lyf
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hi Hospo_Lyf, Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. Really pleased that we met your expectations. Some of our units are of the older style which blend in with the historic town. We do try to keep them to a good standard and have a lovely group of local ladies on our house...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We stayed in a three bedroom unit on our stopover, on our way to Queenstown. It was very tidy and homely. But what really made our stay was the beautiful host who waited around for us for our arrival at 9pm after some car issues. She greeted us so kindly and pointed us to somewhere where we would be able...

1Thank LDDartsworth
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hello LDDartsworth, I am so pleased you you enjoyed your stop over here with us at Lantern Court. I felt so sorry for you as it had been a long day and with car problems you didn't need. Hope we get to see you back our way again at some stage. Best wishes from Bronwyn and Frank

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We stayed one night at the Lantern Court on our way to Motueka. Good location as it's right next door to the supermarket. Frank upgraded us to a larger apt (since we had travel delays) and the apt was very clean and spacious. We received excellent recommendations for a 6 mile loop hike and where to eat - the Pub....

1Thank workingmom919
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hi De Hi workingmom919, Thank you for posting a great review and so pleased you enjoyed getting out and about while you were here. There are some great walks around this region depending on your fitness level there is something for everyone. Great for the kids as well - we don't here too many of them complaining :) All the...

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Stayed for two nights at the Lantern Cout Motels.Whilst exploring four wheel roads with other motorcyclists.The management at Lantern Cout Motels made us feel very welcome. Helped us store our motorcycles in the hugh storage shed on the property and dry our wet clothing. Gave us advice . Comfortable rooms. Friendly welcoming team. Recommend ++++.

Thank robhambrook63
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hello robhambrook63, It was a pleasure to be able to assist you were a great bunch and it was good to see you all enjoying yourselves. Thank you for a great review, hope we get to see you all again some time. Best wishes from Bronwyn and Frank

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Comfortable bed, good wifi, kitchen ok. Friendly lady on reception who gave us advice on the condition of the roads for our trip the following day. Room was old but furnishings looked newer and in good condition and clean. Unfortunately we were woken in the early hours of the morning by the smoke alarm beeping every thirty seconds. I thought...

Thank LilaBear87
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hi LilaBear87, Thank you for posting your review. I was genuinely upset you did not get to enjoy a full nights sleep while you were here. My sincere apology, I was so concerned that your safety may have been compromised that I over looked the fact a discount was considered appropriate in this instance. I know it is a little...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Four of us friends stayed one night in a 3bedroom unit - huge amount of room, full kitchen including plunger coffee, linen and great views. Very close to all food outlets and shops. The manageress shifted her own car so that we could park both our cars right beside our unit. And stored our valuable gear for 3 days. Really...

Thank ShonaAs1
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hi ShonaAs1, Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you all had a great weekend even though it was a tad chilly. Hope you get back our way again to do some more of the tracks. Take care and best wishes for plenty more great rides. Kind regards Kerry

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Small gold mining town good for a stop between Christchurch and Hokitika after visiting Hanmer Springs. Some interesting shops on the main street. The hostess is delightful and gave great touring advice. There is a choice between two star old characterful accommodation and 4 star modern accommodation. We choose the two star with the uneven floor, plenty of space, and...

1Thank dianeka2
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hi dianeka, Great review and thank you for taking the time to post it on TA for us. If you venture back our way at some stage, and you do have more time, we do have some beautiful walks in the region. We are located right in the center of the Victoria Conservation Park which was humming in the Gold...

Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the luxury ground floor spa room for two wonderful nights after Kerry upgraded our booking. A fresh new room, with kitchenette, large bathroom with corner spa, all fittings are early colonial style. Very comfortable, we loved sitting on the porch, snacking on nz berries and wine on a sunny afternoon. We just love everything thing about Reefton....

Thank Julian D
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hello Julian D, Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a fun weekend and lovely to see everyone in great Xmas cheer. Reefton is known as a friendly town so I am pleased we didn't let you down :-) I hope you had a great Xmas, maybe we will get to see you back our way again...

New Zealand
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Highly recommended accommodation in the beautiful historic Reefton. Our room upstairs was spotless and so warm and comfortable. So convenient with the beautiful Inangahua river and township right at our door, we walked everywhere.

Thank KiwiChrissie
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hello KiwiChrissie, Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you had an enjoyable time in Reefton - you are right - it is a cute town along side a lovely river. Next time you come back this way allow some time you might be in the right season to try your hand at some Trout fishing : -) Thank...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (22)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (4)
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (16)
Room/Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Dining (1)
Other (6)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reefton hotels
0.4 km away
The Old Nurses Home Guesthouse
0.3 km away
Alfresco Historic Villas
0.1 km away
Reef Cottage B&B
Reef Cottage B&B
#1 of 4 in Reefton
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Lantern Court Motel

Address: 63 Broadway Street, Reefton, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Reefton
Price Range: €73 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Lantern Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lantern Court Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs they have terrific balconies”
 of 5 bubbles michaelhA6897NQ, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Staff are happy for you to view rooms to choose the type that suites you”
 of 5 bubbles dalex010, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for 2nd floor apts”
 of 5 bubbles workingmom919, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We thought we would like a first floor room as the view to the hills would have been good but none were available, ground floor was great.”
 of 5 bubbles SoniaI574, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for the top floor, great views”
 of 5 bubbles PieterS90, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates