We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

An Chuirt Hotel, Gweedore

Save
Share
Gweedore Ireland
eDreams
Priceline
FindHotel
Destinia.com
Etrip
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (165)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (24)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
An Chúirt is nestled in the beautiful Donegal countryside on the shore of the Clady River, with the iconic Errigal Mountain as your backdrop, amidst rolling valleys, fresh woodlands and forestry, glistening lakes, deserted sandy beaches and offshore islands. Located along the Wild Atlantic Way, Gweedore Court Hotel is a perfect base to explore our rugged coastlines, charming villages and the outstanding Glenveagh National park. Residents can avail of beautiful, spacious accommodation, our award winning Earagail Health Club, freshly prepared local cuisine while experiencing unrivalled views. Combining heritage with effortless luxury, An Chúirt Hotel extends a warm Irish welcome to those looking for a special home away from home. Choose to dine in the New Fara Óg's Bar & Restaurant or The Duck Restaurant with a wide selection of beverages and unwind overlooking the unspoiled countryside.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
667Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 350
  • 160
  • 75
  • 44
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ann-Marie S wrote a review 28 Jun
1 contribution
We stayed at the hotel while attending a wedding nearby. Lovely hotel - very relaxed in a beautiful setting. We were in a large family room - 3 doubles and a single. Ample room and very comfortable. Unfortunately my daughter left her very precious bedtime bunny in the room as we checked out. On ringing the hotel the next day the toy was nowhere to be found! Spoiled the end of our lovely weekend. So if anyone finds a dark brown bunny in room 110 at some stage we would be most grateful to be reunited!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Sharon O wrote a review 25 Jun
Ireland29 contributions41 helpful votes
We booked a 3 night stay in An Chuirt to finally catch a break after working flat-out through Covid19 lockdowns and restrictions for the last 2 years. This is my 2nd time to stay here and I was keen to come back again after my previous visit many, many years earlier, which was a fabulous experience too. We were greeted at reception by a very welcoming lady who let us know everything we needed for our stay. The only slight disappointment was our room, which was small and dark and the décor was a bit bland to be honest. However, we decided not to bother making a fuss as we decided we were happy enough and we knew we were going to be out and about for most of the days and evenings. The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were spotless. I had stayed at the hotel some years previously and had a much more luxurious and larger room so I just assumed all room were of similar décor and style and I presumed from the hotel's website 'gallery' that we would get a room like what is shown there. Next time we will ask for a different room! We enjoyed dinner in Fara Ogs bar so much on the 1st night, that we decided to eat there again for the entire stay. The breakfast was also quite good with a decent options. The staff are very polite, welcoming and efficient and made us feel right at home. We are both avid travellers and An Chuirt has got to be one of my favourite hotel stays, ever. The location is absolutely stunning and very special and I highly recommend a stay here as it ticked all the boxes for us (apart from our room but the rooms overall are beautifully appointed). The hotel is an absolutely perfect base for sightseeing, climbing Mount Errigal and the entire area is a stunning feast of beauty. Overall we had a really memorable and wonderful stay and we will definitely return to An Chuirt, sooner rather than later. Thank you for a really memorable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Sarah M wrote a review 13 Jun
3 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked a night away in An Chuirt to celebrate the end of my exams. When we arrived, we were checked in by a lovely lady in reception who told us everything we needed to know for our stay. Our room was a suite at the front of the property overlooking the river, such a luxurious experience with a four-poster bed, a sofa, really comfy armchairs, and a jacuzzi bath! We had dinner in Fara Ogs bar, I had the fish special which was beautiful, he had the burger and we both had desserts & coffees. I am celiac and the staff looked after me so well, they were very knowledgeable but checked with the chef if they were not 100% sure. This means so much when you have a food intolerance. The bar was busy the night we were there with a retirement party so the atmosphere was lively too and definitely added to our night. The breakfast was equally as good for choice with gluten-free bread and cereals available without having to be requested. The staff again were very very welcoming and friendly, as they were in reception again on check-out. Overall, the food, the staff, and the room made our night away. We really couldn't fault anything and we will definitely be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Francis Breslin, General Manager at An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sarah M We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay. It really is satisfying for the entire team to read your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon Kind Regards Francis Breslin
Read more
Lynette Mc Eneaney wrote a review 12 Jun
Drogheda20 contributions9 helpful votes
One of the finest hotels I have stayed in. The location was perfect. The staff were friendly and efficient and the whole experience was well worth the trip. The leisure center was so well equipped and so relaxing too. I would highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Check out the rooms with a view. It's a good walk to the nearest shops so double check before you...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Francis Breslin, General Manager at An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Lynettemce, Many thanks for your kind words following your recent stay with us at An Chuirt Hotel & Health Club. I was really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. I have already passed your comments on to all of the team which was again very much appreciated. Kind Regards Francis Breslin
Read more
PG626 wrote a review 5 Jun
Birmingham, United Kingdom44 contributions36 helpful votes
A bit of a mix up at check in but was sorted, staff were friendly. The room we stayed in was the smallest double room I’ve ever stayed in. Small double bed with very little space in the room for two! Poor window view. It’s generally a nice hotel with lovely outdoor views and breakfast was fine but not really 4* standard in comparison to other hotels in this range. Poor toiletries and no little touches that would make it such. The meal in the bar attached was average.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Francis Breslin, General Manager at An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore
Responded 1 week ago
Dear PG626, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at An Chuirt Hotel & Health Club I’m sorry to hear that not every aspect of your visit with us was up to your expectations. Its regretful that your concerns were not brought to our attention as we would have welcomed the opportunity to offer you a larger guest room as we have various room types available from economy to suites ( economy being the smaller guest room ) We hope to still have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and please feel free to contact me directly as I would be happy to assist with your reservation Kind Regards Francis Breslin
Read more
Ciaran O wrote a review 5 Jun
Midlands Ireland3 contributions4 helpful votes
I went back to An Chuirt having been there a number of years ago.Very disappointgly nothing has changed.It was clean and the bed was very very comfortable.Bar was dead.Breakfast was very average .Small breakfast area.Very small room despite asking for room with a view we were out the back. It is only worth 90 a night but instead we paid 150.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Francis Breslin, General Manager at An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Codrodcm Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at to An Chuirt Hotel & Health Club I was very disappointment to learn that unfortunately it hadn't lived up to expectations Over the last ten years the Hotel has carried out several refurbishment programmes to include the Hotel Bar, Duck Restaurant & Leisure Facilities. Since June 2021 we have opened a new Bar & Restaurant within the hotel grounds offering our guests alternative dining , carried out further works on our leisure facilities, hotel grounds and our guest bedrooms. So I think its unfair to state the Hotel has not changed in ten years Our breakfast area can seat approx 140 guests so its adequate for the size of the property I am saddened that you left us with such an impression, however I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future Kind Regards Francis Breslin
Read more
Paul wrote a review 2 Jun
6 contributions
+1
We again had a lovely break at An Chuirt. Thanks to the very welcoming receptionist for the upgrade to a riverview room. Food in Fara Og's bistro was first class. Breakfast was plentiful. Overall a very peaceful break.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Francis Breslin, General Manager at An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Breentrips We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay. It really is satisfying for the entire team to read your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind Regards Francis Breslin
Read more
lmagl wrote a review May 2022
lmagl21 contributions7 helpful votes
Booked three nights in river view room over six months before trip. Upon arrival learned I was bumped to room in the rear so hotel could accommodate a conference. View of what looks like a construction site. So far away from the front the wifi didn't even work (even though they rebooted). Extremely disappointed with this hotel that prides itself on "genuine Donegal hospitality". Booked three nights to be more meaningful and wasn't worth the drive north. The hotel knew before I arrived they were not honoring my reservation (had already assigned me the rear room) and they did not contact me to let me know. Instead I arrived at 5pm on a Friday and was stuck. Bad treatment and they still got my money. Manager on duty did not say a word to me, instead just joked with staff behind the desk. Hotel offered me a small discount for putting me in another room and two main courses. Does not make up for their lack of organization, poor treatment, and my disappointment. Hard to say anything else about the place. Room was like any hotel room. Lacked enough outlets. Shower had good water pressure. Bath towels are bath sheets which is nice Ultimately, if you reserve a river view room, call in advance to make sure they are honoring the reservation. Following COVID amd lockdowns, we were so excited to stay here and enjoy time in Donegal. Following this hotel's treatment, we would have saved a lot of money and been much happier at some other place.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Call in advance and ask if they have booked a conference during your stay. If so, you will be...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Francis Breslin, General Manager at An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Imagl I am sorry to read of the issues you encountered on this occasion and would like to assure you that this is not indicative of our usual high standards. However, a senior member of our Front Office reduced your rate to include dinner in our Restaurant to as a token of apology, I would disagree that this was a small discount as you mentioned in your review, also your comments with regards our Duty Management team is unfair as there was no Duty Manager at reception when you checked in or when you later returned to the desk. I was glad to learn the next day that a room with a view became available and our team were able to assist you Please accept my apologises with regards your reservation error and for any inconvenience that this may have caused you while staying with us, our team did follow up with you during your stay and you seemed happy that the matter had been resolved, so naturally we are disappointed to read your review Kind Regards Francis Breslin
Read more
Laxon M wrote a review May 2022
Castlerea, Ireland11 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel was average 4 star décor a bit dated but very clean and well kept. Bedrooms were spacious and clean with a great view of the river and Mt. Errigal in the distance. Staff were all friendly and helpful. The mattress on the bed was very soft and saggy, I am used to a firm mattress so as a result did not sleep well. Bathroom was good, clean and with a lovely shower albeit over the bath (a walk in shower in my opinion is much more user friendly in this modern day) Breakfast is open for 7.30am but on both mornings had to wait while they got organized with the hot food so nearer to 8am before you actually got your food. It is the usual buffet help your self style and food was average. The main reason for the 2 star rating was Fara Óg's restaurant. It was our only choice the other option (The Duck???) was not open. We were on a package deal that included dinner and breakfast. The menu was very limited with a lot of burger options. The wife and I had "the catch of the day" which was salmon on a bed of tagliatelle...... The salmon was a small square piece that was well overcooked and rather hard as for the tagliatelle...... Luckily we were not paying for this as it was €19.95 a head!!! The following night I had a burger and the wife had a platter of Chicken wings, spare ribs, Goujons, Sliders etc which was more than generous (enough for 2 people to share). The food was a slight improvement on the first night but certainly not worth the prices on the menu. A small glass of white wine and a pint for yours truly came to €11.50. This is runaway inflation!!! (in my opinion of course.)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: River facing rooms have a great view of the Donegal countryside (no buildings in sight)
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Francis Breslin, General Manager at An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at to An Chuirt Hotel & Health Club I was disappointment to learn that unfortunately it hadn't lived up to expectations I would appreciate if you could contact me directly gm.ac@gallengroup.com so as we can identify which room you occupied as we have all new mattresses in our guest rooms I hope we are given a chance to make up for the shortcomings on this visit & are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future Kind Regards Francis Breslin
Read more
Victoria G wrote a review May 2022
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
We visited here for the first time in March and loved it that much we went back again a few weeks later! The room was so big and spacious and we couldn’t get over the size and comfort of the super king bed! I don’t sleep that well the best of times but I had the best nights sleep both times we stayed. The staff couldn’t of been friendlier, the hot tub was a big hit for us in the spa, huge spread for breakfast and we couldn’t fault the food and drink in the restaurant. Great selection of cocktails. 👌
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Francis Breslin, General Manager at An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore
Responded 4 weeks ago
I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us, we truly do appreciate it. Dear VicGarg83 I am delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay with us and were able to make use of our facilities. I would also like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our team. I do hope we can welcome you back to An Chuirt Hotel again very soon. Kind Regards Francis Breslin
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
an chuirt gweedore court hotel
LOCATION
IrelandCounty DonegalGweedore
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore
Which popular attractions are close to An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore?
Nearby attractions include Mount Errigal (7.2 km), Sharkey's Bar (6.8 km), and Bunbeg Wreck (Bad Eddie's Boat) (6.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore?
Conveniently located restaurants include Leo's Tavern, Sean Og, and Danny Minnie's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Gweedore.
Does An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Church Dunlewey (7.8 km) and Teach Mhuiris (5.3 km).
Does An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is An Chúirt Hotel, Gweedore accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.