We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fat Fox Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Fat Fox Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 164: English reviews
Start your review of The Fat Fox Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After walking from Oxford, this was the place I'd booked to stay in Watlington. Arriving earlier than planned was no problem & I was shown to my room in the roof of a barn conversion. It was an incredibly comfortable stay, with excellent food in the restaurant, both for my evening meal and breakfast the next day. The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon-Michael L
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Fat Fox Inn is a gastropub with nine recently refurbished en suite rooms. There is easy access from Junction 6 of the M40, with Oxford 13 and London 45 miles away. Ramblers are attracted to the town, which lies close to the Ridgeway, a national trail which runs along the Chilterns. Whereas the bar has a classic rustic feel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddfoodie2014
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago

A welcoming change from the solitude of the Ridgeway. The Inn was bustling with local people of all ages and the staff very relaxed and welcoming. The food was good and plenty of choice for a vegetarian. My accommodation was a converted building in the courtyard and was charming and very comfortable. Good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendyalovatt
Chard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed overnight whilst a friend, myself and my two dogs were walking the ridgeway. Arrived with aching legs to a wonderful welcome from the young lady on duty who immediately located the parcel I'd sent ahead (all important dog food!). The staff were lovely; good old fashioned hospitality. We enjoyed a delicious supper in the comfy bar where the atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hla2606
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

food, as always was exquisite (the beef roast was delicious) and the interesting desserts add a special something to an already great menu. we were there on mothers day and the service was lovely, quick and the food is always very good. much better than previous times I've been to this establishment!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evekaye
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were extremely disappointed with the accommodation. The room was furnished with odd bits of badly marked brown furniture, but no wardrobe. Lots of dust behind the bed, I noticed because the beds were at an odd angle, with no headboards. The window frames were badly maintained, with flaking paint and they appeared to be rotten. The over bath shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

A delightful place to stay and eat. We were walking the Ridgeway and wanted an early start. We had an evening meal which was so tasty. I had something like gnocchi but made with Camembert and with a side of chard. So good. My sister had an omelette with whit asparagus, which was of the same quality. They use local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Our room was what I would class as basic, there was paint peeling off the walls and a crack in the sink. There was also rubbish in one of the drawers. Unfortunately you could also hear all noise outside, from the road to people shouting and having a fight outside from the pub. We woke up the next morning to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RGM2605
ox495bu, Owner at The Fat Fox Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your room. We decorate the rooms every 2 years and the room you occupied is due to be painted this spring, w when we will address the flaking paint on the architrade around the stable door & the hairline crack in...

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Popular pub with great menu. So cosy it felt like we were eating in our own home. Toad in the hole was of epic proportions- bring an elasticated waistband! Good quality food for the price - two people for less than £40. Staff also friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shivani t
Rudgwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Just returned home from a very pleasant stay at The Fat Fox. Obviously very popular with the locals, the pub was busy when we arrived. It was very chilly outside but inside it was warm and welcoming. We had booked for their Burns Night dinner and were treated to great Scottish dishes, a star performance by the chap who "addressed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carnegiebrown

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watlington
4.9 km away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
595 reviews
7.8 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
575 reviews
22.2 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
237 reviews
6.1 km away
The Fox Country Inn
The Fox Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ibstone
244 reviews
7.2 km away
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stokenchurch
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fat Fox Inn, formerly the Fox and Hounds, is a country pub with dining and accommodation in the village of Watlington on the northern edge of the Chilterns in Oxfordshire. The pub is easily accessed from the M40 at Lewknor. Watlington is only 15 miles from the heart of the City of Oxford and 35 minutes from Blenheim Palace and the Oxfordshire Cotswolds, as well as the Thameside town of Henley on Thames, home of the Royal Regatta. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fat Fox Inn

Address: 13 Shirburn Street, Watlington OX49 5BU, England (Formerly The Fox and Hounds Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Watlington
Price Range: €97 - €152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fat Fox Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fat Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fat Fox Hotel Watlington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fat Fox Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Fat Fox Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 5 and 6 are a good choice”
carnegiebrown, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the Barn”
jonathane139, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for number 7 - it is where we stayed and it is very quiet, right at the back.”
GraniaH, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“In the separate building at the back, away from the road.”
barford, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“just seems nice!”
trevors742, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5