We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pytchley

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Haddon
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Pytchley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 119: English reviews
Start your review of The Pytchley
 Click to rate
Tring, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having my best friend in West Haddon i was already familiar with the excellent quality of food served in the restaurant as we often have the 2 steak and wine deal which is amazing value, so when we came up for a family party to celebrate her youngest Daughters 18th, The Pytchley was our obvious choice for an over night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jillcornell
Calgary Canada
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stopped here several times during my stay in the area and sampled several different meals. I can't speak to the room quality-- only the pub itself. All meals were very good and expertly prepared. Service is friendly and efficient. The Wi Fi is free and very good (fast and reliable). This is quite a busy place, but the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrism623
Tracy D, Owner at The Pytchley, responded to this review

Thank you so much Chris for taking the time to post your lovely comments. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food during your recent stay, and that our staff were friendly and efficient (the very least you should expect when you are eating out I think). We hope that you may consider staying in one of...

Daventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We have been going to The Pytchley for years and have always been more than happy with the service and the wonderful food. We were there yesterday as it was my birthday, unfortunately I did find a small stone in my salad. I told the waitress who said it was a "Pip" how do you get a pip in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CRW237
Tracy D, Manager at The Pytchley, responded to this review

What lovely comments. Thank you so much CRW for taking the time to post a review, and am delighted to hear that your pip/stone experience did not put you off returning. We look forward to continuing to serve you 'wonderful food' for years to come. Kind regards Tracy D

Daventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Sat 7th Jan, 530pm evening meal. Nice time to suit the kids. Small portions available as well as child's menu. Food was timely and good. Great service as always. The breakfast is goo as well. You don't need to be a resident :) That's a bit lazy for a local, but its fab, also OK if your passing!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sijo469
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Thank you for a lovely meal and for accommodating our group of 15 the week before Christmas. Considering how busy you were, you responded to each of requests with no fuss but most importantly a smile. The staff are an absolute credit and made us feel so comfortable and welcome. As for the food, perfect. Hot, fabulous portion size, perfectly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sian C
Manchester, England
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

I arrived at 8pm to be told that the shower didn't work in my room, with no other room available. Not great news after a 3 hour drive. The lady on reception was extremely helpful and apologetic. She was kind enough to offer a discount off the room, free drinks etc. Unfortunately these generous offers can not compensate for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edwaron
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely evening at the Pytchley for a family birthday. The steaks were delicious, piping hot and a good size. Sadly, my lasagne was an inedible lump, and a strange sponge-like consistency. Chips were good though!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
Tracy D, Owner at The Pytchley, responded to this review

Thank you Lesley for your feedback following your visit. I am really pleased to hear that your family's steaks were delicious, but saddened to hear that your lasagne wasn't to your taste (and I am obviously disappointed that this has resulted in only a three star review!). Our homemade lasagne is a very popular dish and having been on the...

Reviewed 15 November 2016

As ever we had a lovely meal at the Pytchley last weekend. We have been now and with only one exception the service has always been very good. Attentive and friendly. The menu is extensive although not particularly adventurous it serves just what you want. Well cooked pub/ restaurant food and plenty of it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TipsyDog
Tracy D, Owner at The Pytchley, responded to this review

Thank you TipsyDog for your review. We are really pleased to hear that you have found our service to be good and hope that you continue to visit us at The Pytchley. I think your comments about our menu are very fair - we don't aim to follow trends and fashions with our food offer, but aim to deliver quality,...

Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I was taken here for lunch by a work colleague as he had been here numerous times before and we were in the area. He advised that it was a nice place to eat and he wasn't wrong! On arrival a lady greeted us and remembered my colleague from previous visits, she showed us into the bar area where we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whackerv23
Tracy D, Owner at The Pytchley, responded to this review

What a lovely review Whackerv23 - thank you so much for taking the time to post it. We are always really delighted to welcome new visitors to The Pytchley - especially when they come on recommendation from a friend (word of mouth is the best possible advertising!). I am really pleased that we did not disappoint, and look forward to...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Booked here to take my partners parents out but unfortunately they were ill, so we decided to still go as we had booked a table. Very busy for a Monday night, but was the end of the month so I suppose people have just been paid. Sat in lower bar area and the person on the next table might has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
Tracy D, Owner at The Pytchley, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Louise S. You're right to point out that we are fortunate to be busy from Monday through to Sunday - a great situation in which to be in a trade that sometimes finds village pubs struggling to fill tables in the early part of the week. I am sorry to hear that you felt a...

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Haddon
5.8 km away
Ibis Rugby East
Ibis Rugby East
#1 of 2 in Crick
359 reviews
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton
7.9 km away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
331 reviews
13.4 km away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
452 reviews
0.1 km away
No photo provided
The Crown
#2 of 4 in West Haddon
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pytchley is a silver-award winning four-star country inn, with a traditional and informal atmosphere. 18 stylish en-suite guest rooms offer visitors excellent value bed and breakfast accommodation, conveniently located just 4 miles from junction 18 of the M1. The popular family-friendly restaurant maintains a far-reaching reputation for the quality of their chargrilled steaks, grills and home-cooked British food. See also TripAdvisor listing under "Restaurants". ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pytchley

Address: High Street, West Haddon NN6 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > West Haddon
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pytchley 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Pytchley Hotel West Haddon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pytchley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a premium room”
keane31, 19 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Remember there are no lifts.”
FelicityR, 30 Jul 2015 | Read review
“If you don't want the kitchen view don't book or accept room 29”
tonyfall, 5 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Ask for one of the rooms in the older part of the building as these are bigger than those in the more modern buildings”
OwlTours, 8 Sep 2013 | Read review
“We stayed in room 22 which was comfortable. Rooms are individually decorated and all looked clean and comfortable. The cleaning staff were very friendly and happy to show us around. Nothing was too much trouble.”
Flat21_Putsborough, 25 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5