We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The White Horse Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
The White Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 171: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Warm welcome on an overnight stay shown to room which was warm clean and well equipped. Very nicely decorated even a little christmas tree. Ate in the pub in the evening food was excellent as were the staff. The lady gave us advice on the area which was a nice touch they take the time to make you feel at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank derbyram15
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Dropped in for Sunday lunch, had no booking. Seated quickly..drinks served..order taken.. Starters were just lovely..pate and pear Stilton salad Mains Beef roast just amazing All for 17 pounds per 2 courses. Friendly efficient outstanding food Can't wait to return

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alistair S
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped here for evening meal 24/11/16 staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was any bother. So returned again 26/11/16 for lunch time meal again staff very friendly and could not do enough to make you feel comfortable. Manageress is very friendly. Food is fantastic and well presented. Looking forward to returning very soon and maybe stay in one of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank toms1977
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed over for two nights in between house move , food , bedroom , ambience , staff were fantastic , room was cosy and would highly recommend for a cosy country pub stop over or meal, thank you all will definitely return !

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gilldooley914
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stop here on the way home from London when we can, you always get a warm welcome. The food is fantastic, the staff are great not in your face but there when you need another drink. Wednesday night is stake night (but you can have other food) 2 good quality stakes and a bottle of wine £25 great value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul m
Management555, Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our steak night, it has been very well received by our customers. Many thanks for your kind comments, we hope to welcome you to The White Horse again soon.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good rooms, good food, good service, good value. If you're visiting Rutland Water or Stamford this place is perfect. We were visiting Peterborough 20 minutes away and broke up the journeys by staying here. Recommend to book in advance.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MJaway
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here last week and are booked to return. It is very good value at the moment. There is an excellent choice of cooked breakfast including luxuries such as smoked salmon. The room was quiet and we had a comfortable bed and pillows. There as also an excellent coffee maker in the room. Easy off road parking. Good evening...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paulinbath0000
Management555, Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you will be returning to The White Horse after being impressed with your initial visit. Thank you for your kind comments about breakfast, we are glad that you found our rooms to be comfortable and quiet. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Another lovely break at the White Horse. This was our second visit, we stayed for two nights as we did two years ago. The room was most comfortable, the ‘Egleton’ on the upper floor of the courtyard building. During our previous visit we stayed in the ‘Barnsdale’, a ground floor room. The service was friendly and the food excellent. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Spoddendale
Management555, Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that you found the service to be friendly and the food to be excellent. Unfortunately technology baffles us all at times, we will definitely look at offering sachets of instant coffee in the room to avoid anyone else experiencing the same issue. We look forward to welcoming you back to...

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped of just by chance, and we're warmly welcomed. Food amazing, in lovely "country pub" surroundings . Staff helpful and very efficient. Meal arrived quickly, even though it was busy. Would definitely eat here again . Would highly recommend a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie L
Management555, Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you found our staff to be welcoming and the food to be amazing in a lovely setting. We hope to welcome you back to The White Horse again soon.

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We stayed one night at the White Horse as it was the only place with a vacancy due to visitors to a local show making accommodation around Rutland Water extremely difficult to find. We were pleasantly surprised after we had checked in - there was a slight hiccup when they couldn't find our booking - our twin room was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank w0tcha
Management555, Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay and were not disturbed by the beer festival we were holding at the pub over that weekend. We are sorry to hear that you felt there were a couple of cons during your visit to The White Horse, and had there not of...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Empingham
4.0 km away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
4.5 km away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
12.1 km away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
278 reviews
4.7 km away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: 2 Main Street, Empingham LE15 8PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Empingham
Price Range: €55 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Empingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Horse Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Stamford, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the front may be a bit noisy early in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles Diana014, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose renovated rooms in out buildings”
 of 5 bubbles GKTravellers, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't eat here!!”
 of 5 bubbles W6228JXkevinf, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms available”
 of 5 bubbles Wallerpenj, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ours was good, called "Empingham". Across yard, Ground floor opposite back door”
 of 5 bubbles Cuilean, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay