We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Kent Estates, Coorg

Save
Share
Thaikappa Estate Horoor Post and Village, Suntikoppa 571237 India
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
Agoda.com
FindHotel
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (626)
Room & Suite (178)
Dining (45)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Suntikoppa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Old Kent Estates, originally developed in the mid 1800s, is one of the earliest established coffee plantations in Southern India. William Roland Wright, a Colonel in the British Army led to the transformation of this 200-acre estate from a jungle in which big game abound to a cultivated plantation and a delightful home to his family. First constructed in 1864, the stately bungalow has been fully restored to its former charm & glory and has vignettes of the by gone colonial era and houses several rooms. As a tribute to the Wright Family, each room is fondly named after one of the family members who once inhabited within. The property has been designed keeping in mind its rich history and tradition, ensuring the conservation and preservation of the natural surroundings, within an exclusive boutique setting. Each English cottage with its own private garden provides the utmost privacy, Get pampered with the Old Kent hospitality and experience the tranquil life of a typical estate owner in British India. Read some of the reviews from our guests to find out why we have been awarded the coveted Traveller's Choice Award two years running.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Parking
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Billiards
Darts
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Butler service
First aid kit
Umbrella
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi, Tamil, Urdu
342Reviews20Q+A94Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 240
  • 72
  • 13
  • 10
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kirutam wrote a review Jan 2020
Atlanta, Georgia47 contributions31 helpful votes
Hate leaving a negative review. Pros: Beautiful scenery Nice people/staff Nature Cons: Where do I begin? I’m honestly baffled by the positive reviews. I can see how this place would have been amazing years ago? But it isn’t anymore. The family that runs it are sweet, is that why it has positive reviews?? I can’t understand it. 1. Mild and mildew throughout the guest areas, lodge, and cottages. We stayed in tow cottages. Couldn’t stop having allergic reactions to it. Unbearable. We asked to leave a day early and to get refund but they wouldn’t budge. 2. Food was mediocre. It wasn’t bad. But it certainly wasn’t good. There are no options for any other food nearby. Room service items were never available. Every single time we called. Food was disappointing and at
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Asim Azeez, General Manager at Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and to devote your valuable time reviewing us. Although we appreciate constructive criticism and welcome suggestions for improvement, we do not like facts to be twisted and exaggerated to the extent of falsification. Allow me to refresh the turn of events that transpired. You had booked two cottages for three nights, the first night was all cozy and comfortable but wanted to cancel the second and third night. Since you had booked through a travel portal, last minute refund and cancellation was not possible which was communicated to you. After this you started having service issues with everything, I personally spoke to you on the phone, we offered to change your room after you complained of alleged mold in the room which was refused. We offered to send food to your room from our round the clock menu which was again refused even though we offered it on the house. I came across you at least thrice after this and each time I wished you and you acknowledged, neither me nor any of my colleagues avoided you, We tried our utmost to make your stay an enjoyable experience, but you refused to be accommodated in any way for reasons best known to you. At least we agree on one thing, Leave honest reviews, like mentioned earlier we appreciate honest reviews. We refuse to be cowed down by people who misuse a honest platform to discredit us because they didn't have their way. Regards, Asim Azeez General Manager
Read more
S M wrote a review Jan 2020
Mumbai, India1 contribution2 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights. THe best part is its located in a 200 acre estate and one of the staff takes you for a 1.5 hour walk in the evenings through the estate. The estate is beautiful. This is ideal if you are looking to get away from the city and chill, take walks and do nothing else. The food is awesome. It s a very quiet place. With inidvidual separate cottage time rooms. we did not have mobile or data connectivity in the rooms, only in hte reception.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Asim Azeez, General Manager at Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and to devote your valuable time reviewing us. We are humbled by your appreciation of our services. Your feedback plays an essential part in evaluating our standards and a great moral booster to our team. We eagerly await to welcome you on your next visit. Regards, Asim Azeez General Manager
Read more
Ramya K P Shenoy wrote a review Oct 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
The estate is magnificent. We actually cancelled one day's sight-seeing plans in favour of just exploring the trails, listening to birds sing, and trying to identify the local flora. There's so much to explore and discover! It was great fun and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The Spa experience was great, and the coffee was brilliant. It felt like we'd tripped into the Colonial Era, with beautiful landscapes, an enthralling view, and cosy cottages clutched in nature's embrace. Our cottage was spacious, the aperfect blend of antiquated charm and modern luxury. The air was fresh and crisp, far removed from the dust and pollution of the city that we were accustomed to. It was an amazing experience. We would love to stay at Old Kent again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Asim Azeez, General Manager at Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and to devote your valuable time reviewing us. We are humbled by your appreciation of our services. Your feedback plays an essential part in evaluating our standards and a great moral booster to our team. We eagerly await to welcome you on your next visit. Regards, Asim Azeez General Manager
Read more
Muwajjidh T wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Went there with my wife for a mini get away for 3 days. It was a truly an electronic free zone. The poor mobile network made it even better. They would even lock up your gadgets if you asked. The views and the walks were excellent. Their home brew coffee is a must along with their cozy ambiance. We had taken the Jacuzzi room. It was extremely relaxing, though it took a while to fill up. Their staffs was always available to help us.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Asim Azeez, General Manager at Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and to devote your valuable time reviewing us. We are humbled by your appreciation of our services. Your feedback plays an essential part in evaluating our standards and a great moral booster to our team. We eagerly await to welcome you on your next visit. Regards, Asim Azeez General Manager
Read more
budhrajar wrote a review Sep 2019
Pune, India3 contributions1 helpful vote
Amazingly serene and wonderful place.lovely location and a perfect getaway with polite efficient and pleasant staff.lovely rooms spacious and clean.very impressive and creatively done bathrooms.must go place !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Asim Azeez, General Manager at Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and to devote your valuable time reviewing us. We are humbled by your appreciation of our services. Your feedback plays an essential part in evaluating our standards and a great moral booster to our team. We eagerly await to welcome you on your next visit. Regards, Asim Azeez General Manager
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$146 - US$199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaKarnatakaKodagu (Coorg)Suntikoppa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing