We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Captain Jack's Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portobelo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 56: English reviews
Start your review of Captain Jack's Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 December 2016

The hostel is extremely basic. We had to make our own beds. Not particularly clean. Creepy shower curtain with a silhouette on it. Shower was only a trickle. Wasn't secure AT ALL, no lock on the door to the outside or the room, anyone could've walked in. Internet connection is terrible. Overpriced for what you get-pretty much pay just to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lala L
CaptJackPortobelo, Owner at Captain Jack's Hostel, responded to this review

Captain Jack no longer owns this hostal. It has been under new ownership/management since Nov. 2015. We have a bar/restaurant only.

France
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here because we had our boat to Colombia the next day. The hostel and the restaurant are own by 2 different person. The restaurant is very nice ! Good food ! The chef Jeff is very nice and will help you if any request . But the hostel !!! Well not very clean , wide open ( but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sabi324
CaptJackPortobelo, Owner at Captain Jack's Hostel, responded to this review

Captain Jack no longer owns this hostal. It has been under new ownership/management since Nov. 2015. We have a bar/restaurant only.

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

A lot of the reviews are really awful - our stay was fine but for $13 per person I would expect more. The rooms are cramped and very hot with minimal fans and not very clean. There aren't many spots to hangout unless you want to sit in the accompanying restaurant, and not many facilities. A lot of the boat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LucyQA
CaptJackPortobelo, Owner at Captain Jack's Hostel, responded to this review

Captain Jack no longer owns this hostal. It has been under new ownership/management since Nov 2015. We have a bar/restaurant only.

Reviewed 1 July 2016

This hostel is the worst i have ever stayed at, it is filthy dirty and the owner is a massive creep. Was offered drugs as soon as i paid by the hostel owner and then told to make my own bed. Toilets and showers look like they have not beed cleaned in months. The vibe is disgusting, and your stuff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coren S
CaptJackPortobelo, Owner at Captain Jack's Hostel, responded to this review

Captain Jack no longer owns this hostal. It has been under new ownership/management since Nov. 2015. We have a bar/restaurant only.

Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Once we arrived, we we're welcomed by a little girl but the owner wasn't there. It's smells badly like cats and cat food in the sleeping room and the cats were laying all over the beds! Ugh!! The beds are really unhygenic and covered with a plastic coat. The sheets were fine. My friend was sleeping up in the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank riekeschoenberg
CaptJackPortobelo, Owner at Captain Jack's Hostel, responded to this review

Captain Jack no longer owns this hostal. It has been under new ownership/management since Nov. 2015. We have a bar/restaurant only.

Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

We are traveling since three month through Central America and this was the worst hostel we have been. The "kitchen" can't be called like that - no knifes and to boil potatos took us 1:45h!!! In addition to that the owner turned off the water at 6 pm without any message - brushing the teeth would be a nice thing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David F
CaptJackPortobelo, Owner at Captain Jack's Hostel, responded to this review

Captain Jack no longer owns this hostal. It has been under new ownership/management since Nov. 2015. We have a bar/restaurant only.

San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewed 4 March 2016

Spent 3 fun days and nights in the dorms at Captain Jack's hostel. Good vibe here. Their restaurant is real nice but way over priced, as are many places in Portobelo. However, right down exactly at the end of the street from the hostel, is a funky Panamanian restaurant...not too expensive and really good food. Good place to hang out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tommy O
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

It's basic, clean and fair prices. They have a second hostel up the road which is even better. Very clean and friendly staff run both places. It's Latin America, so there will be the odd problem. No wifi sometimes and while I was there the water went if for 12 hours but hey, thanks the fun of travelling. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonjonesyboy
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

All I can say is Hostel Portobelo will stay with me forever! Great owner in Marco who took us all out on a day trip with his family to a local beach. (We drunk a lot of gin!!)! Douglas the man about town was a fabulous host who again made us feel right at home, I was so sad to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lampslover
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 February 2016

The rain forest atmosphere and open air dining is fantastic. We gathered for breakfast at Captain Jack's around 9am. The staff was friendly and quick with our needs. There were a few locals and travelers there. The food was fresh, coffee great and the company offered interesting conversations. Our visit was short but one to remember.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcie0413

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portobelo
0.0 km away
El Otro Lado
El Otro Lado
#1 of 1 in Portobelo
94 reviews
0.0 km away
Rancho Juancho
Rancho Juancho
#4 of 9 in Portobelo
21 reviews
0.0 km away
Hostel Wunderbar
Hostel Wunderbar
#2 of 3 in Isla Grande
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
La Casa Congo
La Casa Congo
#2 of 10 in Portobelo
52 reviews
0.0 km away
Scubapanama
Scubapanama
#6 of 9 in Portobelo
17 reviews
0.0 km away
Octopus Garden Hotel & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge

Additional Information about Captain Jack's Hostel

Address: Portobelo, Panama
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Portobelo
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Captain Jack's Hostel Panama/Portobelo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Captain Jack's Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No room is a good room”
 of 5 bubbles caitlins695, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Just sleep in the dorms.”
 of 5 bubbles tommyo949, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Don't go here”
 of 5 bubbles roamingwombat, 8 Nov 2015 | Read review
“two separate rooms offering dorms of 4 beds provide more privacy. Excellent for back packers, but is noisy in the evening.”
 of 5 bubbles bev1935, 12 Feb 2015 | Read review
“No place for couples - but ideal for solo travellers or if you are travelling with friends.”
 of 5 bubbles Raiker88, 20 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5