We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Bull Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bull Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Bull Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Went there today. Lovely historic building, nice beer and pub food. BUT. Left purse on counter/bar for 5 minutes and it was gone. Asked staff, didn't I seem to care, didn't ask other staff or nearby customers.... Short staffed or just didn't care. Just be weary. Shame

Helpful?
Thank burnham643
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

on a noisy road so no lay in room stank of damp, mold in bathroom carpets torn up rooms in need of fixing up. cooked breakfast was a let down hash browns not cooked burnt toast but we paid 50 quid so you get what you pay for wouldn't stay again or recommend

Helpful?
Thank Gemma S
Klara B, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gemma, your feedback is very much appreciated. I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay and that our breakfast was a let down. I will share your feedback with the rest of the team to make sure we only improve. Kind regards, Klara More 

Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Part of our family came over for what was hopefully going to be a nice meal at the Bull, after waiting over an hour for our dinner it eventually arrived the rolls were burnt, the contents were dry the french fries were very hard unable to eat, unless you wanted to break your teeth on them! We replaced one lot... More 

Helpful?
Thank jackifelton
Klara B, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Jakiefelton, we appreciate every comment (good or bad) as that helps us to improve. Please accept my apologies for your the disappointment and inconvenience. Rest assured that your feedback will be shared with the kitchen team and action will be taken. Kind regards, Klara More 

Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Based on the very reasonable B and B rate, we weren't expecting the Ritz and we didn't get the Ritz! What we did get was an off road parking space, a lovely sunny pub garden to chill out in, comfortable night's sleep, en suite hot shower (with complimentary toiletries to boot!) and very good selection breakfast menu (buffet service with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo M
Klara B, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jo M, thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad to hear you find The Bull good value for money and that you enjoyed your stay. I will share your comments with the rest of the team. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Klara More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Booked for one night 17 August 2016 with husband, have stayed here once before but not in the main hotel, and we accept that old places are quirky, which is what adds to character of a hotel room. Very pleasant staff showed us to our room OMG the smell hit us first, musty unpleasant, noted they had a plug in... More 

Helpful?
Thank ushers1981
Klara B, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ushers1981, thank you for taking the time of your busy schedule to leave us a feedback. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy yours stay. Can I please ask you to contact me direct on 01787 472144 to discuss this matter further. Kind regards, Klara More 

Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We a currently sitting in the restaurant after waiting an hour and 15 minutes for our main course. Once served part of my partners meal was cold. We were told several times are meal was "on its way" but they were unable to give us a specific time.

Helpful?
Thank Kimberley W
Klara B, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We value every feedback given. Please accept my apologies for the long wait on food. We have had a few very busy evenings which we were not ready for. I can assure you that we are currently looking into recruiting more staff to ensure smooth food and drink service at all times. Hope... More 

Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016

As you can tell from the title, our visit did not happen. This review is about extremely poor customer relations. My wife and I booked a room in March to ensure we had accommodation for a family wedding on the August bank holiday weekend. On the day before travelling (today at teatime) Old English Inns telephoned to say The Bull... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jambak
Klara B, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jambak, thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. Please accept my apologies for the flooded room and also a full responsibility for the disappointment you feel. Situations like this are never easy and I will make sure we handle them in the best possible way in the future. Regards, Klara More 

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Walked in, looked around and walked straight out again. Room tiny. Mold in bathroom, dirty hand prints everywhere. Kitchen staff sitting on floor in reception area. Food carried through reception area. Not good

Helpful?
1 Thank grandnez
Klara B, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review grandnez. I appreciate the time you have taken to leave your review and it is only feedback like yours that helps us to improve. As discussed, the team and I are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to The Bull when convenient. Kind regards, Klara More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed in hotel for 2 nights Was looking for a authentic English pub & this was right on the money Room & bathroom was small but was fine Free parking off street Staff were wonderful , very friendly & happy to talk .Breakfast was included & was delicious, there was hot & cold to choose from.

Helpful?
Thank Lotto1313
Klara B, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Lotto1313. It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and particularly enjoyed our friendliness! Please rest assured that your kind comments will be shared with the team. Regards, Klara More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Booked a night away for me and hubby....arrived an no room in bar area to sit down and restaurant fully booked...eventually got table and ordered food and waited 30 minutes when food came I began to eat my Indian selection and it was chicken... I am a vegetarian!! Waitress took it away with mumbled apology my hubby was left to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
Klara B, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dawn S, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Only with feedback like yours we can improve. I am sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay and that there was confusion around your dinner order. I will speak to the staff to ensure orders are being taken properly. Kind regards, Klara More 

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halstead
9.1 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 5 in Braintree
322 reviews
20.1 km away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
360 reviews
8.7 km away
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coggeshall
289 reviews
8.7 km away
Premier Inn Braintree (Freeport Village) Hotel
10.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Bull Hotel Pub
The Bull Hotel Pub
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Halstead CO9 1HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Halstead
Price Range: €52 - €86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bull Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one of the original rooms in the main building. They are so quaint”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from rooms in the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles ushers1981, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“don't bother unless they've had a refurb.”
  • Pretty old window
  • get cleaning
  • Lunch from Saturday left in our room the whole of our stay
  • Curtain hooks needed. Clean those nets!
  • Stained cushion. Nice.
 of 5 bubbles lucybarratt63, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask if they have a room near the back with opening window”
 of 5 bubbles juliebJ467CC, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 - regal!!!”
 of 5 bubbles MrsLPalmer, 14 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay