We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fosshotel Eastfjords

Traveller (326)
Room & Suite (82)
Dining (15)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice 2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Located on the east coast of Iceland, Faskruðsfjorður is celebrated for its majestic nature and beautiful scenery. Fosshotel Eastfjords operates in 4 historic buildings previously made for French fishermen in the years between 1898-1907. The most famous of them is the French hospital built in 1903. In 1939, the house was disassembled, moved and it became deserted for almost 50 years. In 2008, a decision was made to reassemble it at its original location. The hospital has 13 rooms of the total 47 rooms at the hotel. The Doctor's house, located across from the French hospital, hosts the reception and the Chapel, built in 1898, is beside the reception hosting 4 rooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Reviews & more
331Reviews
355Photos
3Q+A
60Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 228
  • 87
  • 10
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
We loved our 3 day stay at fosshotel eastfjords. Very clean, modern, spacious, cozy, quiet -basically everything you could ask for in a hotel PLUS the best part; the stunning view!! We woke up to the sunrise on the mountains and spent forever taking photos & video (see below)
Read more
We drove the Ring Road around the country and stopped here for a night. There was some confusion as the check-in is at the French museum, but the actual hotel is across the street and the dining area is the building next to that. We had a room with windows that opened onto the
Read more
Response from FreyjaS16, Manager at Fosshotel Eastfjords
Responded 24 Oct 2018
Thank you for the kind review :) The hotel is actually in 4 building and the lobby is in one of them. There is actually a big sign outside the lobby building which directs people to the check in. But you are correct, some of our guests don´t seem to have noticed this sign. Which indicates we should look into this matter. The alarm on the door is for the guests safety and shuts off once the door is closed tight enough but never later than 14 second after it starts. All the door locks are checked regularly and we do not know of any failures in any of the buildings. I will have this double checked anyway. again thanks for the tip :)
Read more
This is a charming old style hotel is across the street from the old French hospital in a a nice fjord side town with surrounding mountains. The hotel is on the water and very scenic. The rooms have small balconies and old fashioned window hardware for the extreme weather in
Read more
Response from FreyjaS16, Manager at Fosshotel Eastfjords
Responded 9 Oct 2018
Thanks Vincent for the great review :) Truly appreciate it.
Read more
This is in general a nice hotel in this small village - rooms are nice and bathrooms are spacious. We came 3 persons on a business trip to the hotel. I would though like to complain a bit about the service on check-in - as we came outside the high season, we assume that the
Read more
Response from FreyjaS16, Manager at Fosshotel Eastfjords
Responded 9 Oct 2018
Thank you Pia for the review. We are not understaffed but some days are just more busy than others. There must have been some kind of miscommunication between the reception and the cleaning staff since we always emphasize on getting everything finished before 16.00. If people like to have an early check in, like in your case, we always try the best way we can to put those rooms in priority. I truly apologize for any delays in the check in process. To be completely honest and open the countryside hotels, like the one we run, are too far away from the main tourist area and it is simply not possible to keep the restaurant open during mid day, unfortunately. Even though we have been rather busy on many days in Sept compared to last year.
Read more
This place is stunning. Far in the fjords, you can stumble upon this great french style hotel. If you are lucky, the water is just under your window. The museum is pretty interesting too. Great one, would have stayed longer.
Read more
Response from FreyjaS16, Manager at Fosshotel Eastfjords
Responded 9 Oct 2018
Thank you so much for your great review. Truly appreciated :)
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementFosshotel Eastfjords
Double Room
Zimmer
terrasse de la chambre avec vue sur le fjord et la montagne
PreviousNext
12345617
What time does breakfast start and are all rooms facing the fjords?
As said above, not all . From experience of my visit there last October I would ask for a bottom floor "fjord" facing room, which have good sized balcony. There are also upper floor rooms which have small balconies, but you get a good view from either. In October the breakfast room was busy, open very early but sorry, not sure of the timing. Dinner was very good also, there isnt much else around for food. Theres a small museum in the check in building over the road
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear Sir/Madam, sure we can :) We do have spacious rooms with extra beds upon requests. Please send us an email to austfirdir@fosshotel.is and we will arrange this for you :) Best regards Freyja Snorradottir Hotel Manager Fosshotel Eastfjords.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi Cheryl - I hope I am answering quickly enough. This hotel is on the other side of the country. if you are flying in internationally then you will need to rent a car and drive the Ring Road over to the East Fjords. Now - you _can_ fly closer to this hotel. But you will need to get from Keflavik Airport to the domestic airport in Reykjavik. It is about 40 minutes by bus. And then you would fly over to the Eastern Fjords to Egilsstadir Airport. Then it is 40 minutes driving to the Fosshotel. Hope that helps!
0 votes
Show all answers
"Face the water for the best views"
"Avoid room 4005 unless you need handicapped access"
"Choose a room on the water!"
"Must get a fjord view and balcony in the annexe"
"Request waterfront room"
PreviousNext
12345612
PRICE RANGE
US$129 - US$327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IcelandEast RegionFaskrudsfjordur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing