We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Backpacker Pad

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Backpacker Pad
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 52: English reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I stayed here in August. When I arrived the owner and staff were very drunk which made me feel uneasy but friendly and loud music was playing until late preventing me from sleeping. The noise persisted throughout my stay. The place was a bit dirty and I disliked how the owner treated his staff, he spoke to them without respect,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ksyenia K
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Man, this guy is the host with the most. I broke my spectacles, he had me at an optometrist in 10 minutes, his home is full of love and we could not have felt more welcome. Sophats English is excellent and he has a jungle trekking business with over10 years experience certified by the Cambodian ministry for tourism, could not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Osnabruck, Germany
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and did a Tuk Tuk tour organized by the owner. The place is cheap, so great for travellers on a budget - don't expect anything more than the basics. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast good but if you go on the street you get it even cheaper.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Klenner
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

It's a cheap hostel, the beds are okay, they offer food for breakfast and lunch. You can book tracking tours and tickets for the bus to city's near bye. The manager is very nice and speaks good English. Dorm is very cheap, I think the cheapest (2$) I ever had, but it's okay and only 5 beds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander A
BackpackerPad, Owner at Backpacker Pad, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review about our hostel. As the owner of guest house I will try to work very hard to provide better services to our clients both guest house and jungle trekking tours. Our team is ready to perform our work professionally. I hope we will keep in touch. Many thanks for your smile and...

Reviewed 19 February 2016

I stayed over in this place for 1 night in Banlung. The place is nice and comfortable for a price of 2$ for a bed. though the staff are learning to speak in english, the owner does and gave enough info about the place and various eco camps that can be done. Obviously for the price you can expect an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karthik K
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

Everything was dirty and broken. There was a "maid" but she spent more time trying to get into my bag to steal than cleaning. I also caught another member of the staff trying to steal money from my bag. I agree that usually when something like that happens it is mostly our responsibility, but there it's the staff, and my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Envela
Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

No communication with the "supposed" manager, we asked twice if we could book a bus and he never answered. What is more, we asked if we could pay with visa and he answered that it was OK but of course, at check-out the machine was supposedly taken by the bank for checking! Worst excuse ever, right? Food was served 30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank no_1990
BackpackerPad, Manager at Backpacker Pad, responded to this review

Hi ! thanks you for your comments. Actually, our guests can pay by their credit card Visa, master or mastro through our ATM pos services offered by the local bank in Banlung. The day you wanted to pay for your bills, the ATM pos already taken to have it checked but you still wanted to pay by card because of...

Zürich
Reviewed 15 October 2015

We had a great trekking but my friends monney got stolen (1xUS100 and 1xUS300), and as we heard there were more people with the same issue. Wenn the police was involved, they finally offered (with the consent of the police, what a scam!) to pay 50% of the lost money if they agreed not to talk about it. Has this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RaH1273
BackpackerPad, Owner at Backpacker Pad, responded to this review

Hello ! thank you so much for your million reviews posted by the same person. It posted, posted, posted and posted nonstop by the same person. Do you know the rule of the guest house in the world? everywhere it is the same. You must take care of your valued stuff at your own risks. The guest house is not...

Hod Hasharon, Israel
Reviewed 26 August 2015

The accommodation is cheap and simple, but that's not the important thing. i booked my track from Sophat (Tours) and i didn't regret for a second. i'm travelling for a long time and that's was one of my best tracks I've done. we did 1 night in the jungle (next to a waterfall) and 1 night in the village. we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UV1993
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We stayed two nights there - when we arrived, we got the first room next to the "living area" where they played very loud music. When we asked for a room more in the back, the owner promised, that the music would be turned off after the kitchen closed (which was 9 pm). Little to say that the music was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Netsprecherin

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banlung hotels
0.0 km away
Tree Top Eco-Lodge
Tree Top Eco-Lodge
#1 of 17 in Banlung
167 reviews
0.0 km away
Banlung Balcony Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.0 km away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#1 of 24 in Banlung
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Nature House
Nature House
#2 of 24 in Banlung
19 reviews
0.0 km away
Ratanakiri-Boutique Hotel
0.0 km away
Terres Rouges Lodge
Terres Rouges Lodge
#2 of 8 in Banlung
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Backpacker Pad is a family run guest house in Banlung. Mr. Sophat formally the manager of Lake View Lodge and his family has just moved to a new place which is strategically located between the lake and city center. The geust house is doing the same jobs such as accommodating, catering food and beverage, organizing day tours and extreme jungle treks (Sophat Tours).Furthermore, Backpacker Pad offers a new dorm bed for $1 and $2 per night. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is amazing. Furthermore, the guest house also provides free WiFi, pool table, DVD player and pick up from the bus station. We are Backpacker Pad staff is very happy to welcome to your stay at our place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Backpacker Pad

Address: | Village 5, Labanseak, Banlung, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Ratanakiri Province > Banlung
Price Range: €9 - €9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Backpacker Pad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Backpacker Pad staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't take a room close to the living area!”
 of 5 bubbles Netsprecherin, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“any room from what i saw there all pretty good.”
 of 5 bubbles LouisM148, 25 Jun 2012 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay