We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Inn Derby North West hotel

Save
Share
95 Ashbourne Road, Mackworth, Derby DE22 4LZ England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$60
View deal
Hotels.com
PremierInn.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.comUS$64
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (19)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Premier Inn Derby North West hotel
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hit the hay in style at Premier Inn Hotel Derby North West. Converted from an old stables, every room has bags of traditional charm. There's plenty of exploring to be had nearby, with lots of local attractions like Pride Park and Derby city centre just a short ride away. Trot on over to the Download Festival for some world-class music. Show your support watching Derby County. Take a long lunch in Derby city centre, ride a gondola cable car over the limestone gorge at Heights of Abraham. Then race back to the hotel for great food at the restaurant beside us and a lovely comfy bed.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
434Reviews2Q+A66Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 190
  • 157
  • 49
  • 19
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
DicktheBad wrote a review Jan 2022
Redhill, United Kingdom42 contributions31 helpful votes
Firstly, this is not a Premier Inn any longer. It is, instead, the OYO Tyger Inn. This was my second stay at this hotel. The room was large, very comfortable, warm and very clean. There is plenty of car parking and the wifi was more than sufficient for streaming television pictures on my tablet. The picture on the television set in the room was very good. You could check in as early as 2pm if you wished. It is true that there is some outstanding decorating work in the bathroom (room 16) but at £40 per night my stay represented outstanding value for money and I will be looking to book again in the spring when I return to the area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
flytimbo wrote a review Nov 2021
Hastings, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
This was my second stay at the hotel, the first being in May 2017, when it was run by Premier Inn. Back then I found it a very pleasant place to stay. However this time around, I was not so impressed, and found the room I stayed in (Room 6) to be tired and in need of repairs, particularly in the bathroom. The flooring and wall around the toilet were sodden and there was a lot of black sludge building up on the wall and underneath the lino. I suspect there is either a leak from the toilet or an issue with the damp proof course that is coming up from below the floor. The sealant around the bath was mouldy in several places, which looked quite unpleasant. The taps for the bath were wobbly, and the shower was difficult to operate, as the valve to switch between taps and shower kept pinging back down. In the main bedroom, neither of the bedside lamps worked, one was missing a bulb and the other one just didn't work. There was a patch of mould on the ceiling just above the head of the bed, which was quite off-putting. During the night the solenoid/timer for the heating clicked on and off very loudly, which caused a minor disturbance. On arrival, and speaking on the phone before arrival, I found the staff to be rather unhelpful and unfriendly, which was a stark contrast to my experience when it was a Premier Inn. Although we didn't need any assistance during the stay, the receptionist on our arrival seemed to be rather uninterested and abrupt, and it felt like we were an imposition. Based on this experience, I think it is doubtful I would return here unfortunately. It was nice as a Premier Inn, but sadly OYO seem to have paid very little care to it during their tenure.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
shadll1207 wrote a review Oct 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom116 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
Avoid this is no longer a premier inn and it’s awful . We thought it looked lovely with little cottage type looking . That’s quaint and it stood there . First room no 14 stank of sewage . The 2nd room 8 was dirty this hotel needs some work we booked for 2 nights but stayed only 1 .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Alan S wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
A dreadful hotel; the only good thing that could be said about it was the price. OYO have obviously taken it over from Premier Inn and let it run down. Damp and musty smell everywhere and black mould in the bathroom. The "receptionist" was completely useless - his card reader would not work and I had to pay in cash. Thank goodness I only had to stay one night!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Derby North West hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2021
Hi there, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you were left disappointed by the cleanliness standards in your room. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you. The safety and wellbeing of our guests and teams has always been incredibly important to us and everyone in our hotels should rightly expect a safe, clean and protected environment. The Coronavirus crisis has brought this into sharp focus, which is why we have launched a new rigorous, daily cleaning regime across all our hotels. We apologise you found your room to not be up to the high standard we would expect. We have ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with our Housekeeping teams to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Danny
Read more
jonnymurph65 wrote a review Sep 2021
Greater London, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
Staff seem to have difficulty with English. A broken window could not be opened and it was a warm day. They had to move us. No air conditioning. They told us to use the fan! Furnishings very dated. Almost no tea, coffee etc in the room. We won't be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't bother to go
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
DicktheBad wrote a review Sep 2021
Redhill, United Kingdom42 contributions31 helpful votes
Recommended and I intend to book again when I am next in the area. A nice comfortable room which is modelled on a chain hotel room. Unlike other hotels, the room provided was cool even in the September heat wave. I attribute this to the courtyard layout which means that all rooms are on the ground floor. I was also pleased with the price which was £42.50 per night. Car parking is excellent. The car park is the inner part of the courtyard and there was always parking available even though the car park is shared with the pub. What is needed now is to tidy up the maintenance. For example, in room 20 the bathroom door does not close and there is black (mould?) coming through the white ceilings in places. I wrote the above review before looking at the other comments. Having seen them, I would add: a) Yes this is now the OYO Tyger Inn. It is not a Premier Inn although the room looks very much like a Premier Inn room but not as well maintained. b) I saw no signs of any ladies of the night. c) I was not interrupted by cleaners on my check out day even though there is no check out and you simply leave the key in the room. d) It will be interesting to see if the owners tidy up the place or if it gets worse.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Partygirlnd2021 wrote a review Aug 2021
41 contributions5 helpful votes
Second visit here staff are always friendly, quick and professional! Rooms are very clean and modern puts a-lot of other high end hotels to shame! Food is great also will definitely return again Well done
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Eccentric2525 wrote a review Aug 2021
Bideford, United Kingdom39 contributions28 helpful votes
It all started off so well, two rooms next to each other. That's it. That's the good bits. Our double room was large as it was their disabled access room. It also included a sliding door for 'easy access' to the bathroom. I'm 6'foot tall and 14 stone and i could not shut it fully, so anyone with frailties or disabilities would really struggle. We stayed Friday, Saturday and Sunday night. We came home late on Saturday and room hadn't been cleaned, but as we had an early start Sunday also I left it until our return in the afternoon where our bin remained full, our towels remained unchanged and we had no toilet roll remaining. I informed the reception and I didn't get an apology, just coffee, towels and toilet roll to replace what they hadn't done. There was also a part of our dressing table that had a hole in, but looked like it had been covered in brown paint to hide it. Each room also had its own parking spot. As we had the disabled room we had a disabled spot which I didn't use, partly because I wouldn't unnecessarily use a disabled spot, partly because the spots were filled with Laundry trolleys. Overall, having received little to no service I don't think the rooms are worth anywhere near the price and would love a partial refund, but that being as likely as pigs flying, I will never stay in an OYO hotel again. The pub next door is completely unrelated to this cowboy operation and is lovely, definitely worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Derby North West hotel
Responded 27 Aug 2021
Hi, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to the issues with the room. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. In future, our Reception team are on hand 24/7 and so we would advise speaking with the team as soon as any issues arise to help resolve this whilst you're still in-house. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Mo
Read more
Steven J wrote a review Aug 2021
York, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
When we entered the room rubbish was found on floor tea and coffee was enough for 1 person no duvet on bed and the toilet roll only 1/4 full this is the second time that we have been to this premier inn or should be called shoddy inn first time dried blood found on bed rubbish not cleared we stayed in 1 of the londin premier inns at start of week this was first class service rooms imaculate.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Cinz wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
An absolutely horrible hotel. The pub nearby was great and very convenient just the noise was a problem as the hotel is so close. The parking was free but you park next to the pub customers. The hotel room was full of mould and smelt damp. I would not recommend staying at all. Stay away from this crap hotel, it was cheap but not worth the hassle.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$56 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn derby north west hotel mackworth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireDerbyMackworth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Derby North West hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Derby North West hotel?
Nearby attractions include Make Your Escape (4.4 km), Unescapable Escape Rooms (4.0 km), and Wild Park Derbyshire (5.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Derby North West hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Derby North West hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Derby North West hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Derby North West hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Derby North West hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Dining Room, True Pizzas, and Caruso Cafe Boutique.
Is Premier Inn Derby North West hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.04 km away from the centre of Mackworth.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Derby North West hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kedleston Hall (3.7 km), Derby Gaol (3.4 km), and The Door On Sadler Gate (4.0 km).
Is Premier Inn Derby North West hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.