We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Potters Hotel & Brewery

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Potters Hotel & Brewery
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Potters Hotel & Brewery
See the most recent reviews
Showing 321: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend when unfortunately a concert was on at Hope Estate. Room rate is inflated by approx $100 per night because of this. We booked a Queen suite and picked up the key a little early as we had a lunch and dinner to attend before heading back to Potters. We were not able to access the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendyjGalstonNSW
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Yes unfortunately an unforseen event took place with regards to the previous bed in the room and required immediate replacement. These type events can not be predicted and our reception staff failed to mention this to you at check in, for that we apologise. The reduction in rate was due...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 March 2015 via mobile

Had great conversation prior booking the room. Very fast responding and very helful staff, thank you! Same friendly approach we've got as we arrived. Wasn't expecting anything fancy from resort at brewery complex, so left the place satisfied. Of course it's not a 5*place, but they are not presenting themselves that way either. True is that the rooms are little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mirkanova
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review

How refreshing to see your review this evening. Thank you for your account on your recent stay with us. We love what we are and take pride in what we do. Potters Hotel Brewery Resort is conveniently placed in the heart of wine country. Our 3.5 star rating has us comfortably placed in the centre of accommodation quality in this...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Between average and v good. Wasn't bad for a one night stay for a concert weekend. It is expensive but on par with every other place in the Hunter. It was a nice surprise to receive a complimentary breakfast for 2. There was a choice of either a big cooked breaky or a continental style. The room was large with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuziOzz
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Spent one night here as part of a road trip from Brisbane to Sydney. The room was large and had a private patio. Furnishings are tired with carpets, headboard and chair stained from use. No hand towels !! It was extremely hot temp in the 30s but the air con did cope with this. Soundproofing very poor. We ate in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Diane H
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Be very aware - 'queen villa' refers to a motel room with a queen sized bed. Had to buy a fan - no mozzie screens and the air con didn't cool the bed part, just the TV part (although next door's external unit was outside our bedroom). Very cheap shampoo etc dispensed from very difficult to use dispensers, $3 per...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Judith P
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Judith. Our queen villas are spacious one bedroom apartments and have been priced accordingly for a concert weekend. Simple supply and demand dictates the prices in which are set. We did have lower priced rooms available however these quickly sell out. We have had returning guests for many concerts who come and stay with us...

Reviewed 14 February 2015 via mobile

I would have to agree with the last review. What a scam. Told that it was booked out and was a 2 night stay only to find many vacancies. At $375 per night rude but we trusted and booked. Weren't we the fools. Caravan park across the road looked more comfortable. Totally disappointed. Check In was pleasant and we had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dianne J
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for not meeting your expectations we do strive for total guest satisfaction and it is unfortunate your first night stay out of a two night stay has lead you to compile a review whilst still on site. $375 is in line with supply and demand in...

Reviewed 13 February 2015

At $375 per night, we expected so much more. Perhaps that was the problem? The reception check in lady was rude at best and made one point clear - check out on Sunday is 10:00am sharp, "no exceptions". Then she gave us a complementary bottle of red wine... From South Australia! Fast forward to opening the room door, and we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CDK1419
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to compile your review whilst on your first nights stay with us. I would like to take the opportunity to apologise for not being able to meet your expectations. During peak seasons such as concert weekends we work on a supply and demand system. There are over 20,000 people in Wine Country specifically for...

Bathurst, Australia
Reviewed 10 February 2015

Stayed here for a family 60th birthday party. Accommodation was overpriced for what was offered. Fairly basic but costly. The location was terrific with lots of people being able to stay the night and their bistro, bars, beer garden, pools etc were great. The catering and bar staff (in particular Michelle) were so very nice and helpful and went the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leonie C
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide guests with your review. We regularly host a variety of events from school camps, large conferences, weddings and other family gatherings. I do recall the event you are referring to and I must say communication from the beginning was very difficult. We do have guidelines for events at Potters and sometimes guests...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2015

The stay was excellent but didn't like my credit card statement when I got home:( I booked a room through one of the various websites, can't remember which one and got a good price on a room. Booked in and was given a voucher for breakfast for 2 adults and 1 child.Mind you , we had dinner in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanie057
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on our resort. Regarding your childs breakfast, our reservations staff recalled your daughter checked out on your behalf and was in fact told there is a charge for the childs breakfast and a $6.00 fee would be applied to the credit card upon departure. Card imprints are provided at check...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2015 via mobile

A splendid afternoon of Beer Bliss.. This Brewery creates genius Ale that tantalises the taste buds. A special shout out to our wonderful hostess Billy... Always sharp, full of Brewing knowledge and he outgoing nature is a refreshing welcome experience. Thank you Billy for a wonderful experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antsimba77

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nulkaba
2.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
7.4 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.2 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#4 of 16 in Cessnock
295 reviews
5.8 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.8 km away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#7 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country, Potters is a relaxing getaway. With new ownership since late 2008, Potters is home to the Hunter Beer Co., a fabulous Brasserie and Resort-Style Accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Potters Hotel & Brewery

Address: Wine Country Drive, Nulkaba, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia (Formerly Quality Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Nulkaba
Price Range: €75 - €211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Potters Hotel & Brewery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Potters Hotel & Brewery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potters Hotel And Brewery
Potters Hotel Brewery
Potters Brewery
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Potters Hotel & Brewery staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Potters Hotel & Brewery staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Can't comment didn't stay there”
 of 5 bubbles 177DavidC, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Average price for week-day stays...weekends more expensive”
 of 5 bubbles 50diannew, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the Eastern corner are furthest from Pub.,and have bush views,with Kangaroos in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles Toenieeee, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 is close to the brewery & bistro, just a short walk.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanWollongong, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No wifi in rooms only restaurant area. All rooms would be quite as away from restaurant and Brewery area.”
 of 5 bubbles 661gillianc, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay