We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BreakFree Great Sandy Straits

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BreakFree Great Sandy Straits
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

419 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BreakFree Great Sandy Straits
See the most recent reviews
Showing 418: English reviews
Nambour
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean apartment with good views, quiet and well positioned. Just if you are going to use the provided BBQ's be aware you have to pay for them and might be better off going to a local park where they are free. Be aware that the under cover parking is a garage and may not fit a 4WD or car with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank veronicau598
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent place to stay for a relaxing stay. Great onsite facilities, lap pool and tennis courts. Beautiful beaches for walking and recommend swimming in the sea at high tide. It would have been convenient to have a Wifi connection. Nearby restaurant has a good menu choice and serves delicious food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
ManagerHB2, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Dear Richard H, Thank you for taking the time to review BreakFree Great Sandy Straits. We were delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed our onsite facilities as well as the nearby attractions We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Toowoomba
Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort is in a good location and has great resort facilities. Restaurants, etc. are nearby and there is a great walking path along the esplanade. Front counter staff are always friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
ManagerHB2, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Dear Karen N, Thank you for taking the time to review BreakFree Great Sandy Straits. We were delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed our close proximity to the marina and it's wonderful dining. Your kind words have been passed on to our Front Office Team for their perusal We look forward to welcoming you back...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice stay close to restaurants and Boat club , great pool area , would definitely recommend it to family and friends and would come back for another stay ,disappointed no undercover parking for all rooms

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 561trevorg
ManagerHB2, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Dear 561trevorg, Thank you for taking the time to review BreakFree Great Sandy Straits. We were delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed our close proximity to the marina and it's wonderful dining. We appreciate your feedback regarding the parking, at this time all One Bedroom Apartments are offered undercover parking in the way of a...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found that the shower had no water pressure and because of this it took a long time to wash and rinse my hair and the bath took ages to fill. The mattress on the bed was very poor which gave us both 2 sleepless nights. Will more than likely not stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michellerI3002EU
ManagerHB2, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Dear michellerI3002EU, Thank you for taking the time to review BreakFree Great Sandy Straits. We were saddened to hear that on this occasion your expectations were not met. Rest assured, your constructive feedback has been passed on to the individual unit owner, as well as the maintenance manager for their viewing Many thanks

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What can i say.... Location, Location, Location! Our apartment was functional, but to honest we didn't stay here to sit in our room. We had a ground floor apartment on the beach side - easy access to the beach, 2 pools, short walk to marina or esplanade. The property is spread out so you aren't on top of other guests....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
ManagerHB2, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Dear Mel R, Thank you for taking the time to review BreakFree Great Sandy Straits. We were delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed our close proximity to the esplanade and marina dining! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent position by the water . Perfect for relaxation , fishing & swimming . Good eating nearby for lunch & dinner . Self contained so bring your food & drink and no need to get in your car at all for your stay .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy O
ManagerHB2, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Dear Wendy O, Thank you for taking the time to review BreakFree Great Sandy Straits. Your kind words are greatly appreciated, and will be passed on to the department heads to be shared with their teams We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When needing an awesome place to stay in Hervey Bay , do yourself a favour and stay at Breakfree Great Sandy Straights resort you'll glad you did with everything close handy including onsite facilities and the Marina .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephenrM6199WA
ManagerHB2, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review stephenrM6199WA, so pleased that you enjoyed a fantastic stay.

Geelong Bellarine, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are regular guests at Sandy Straits. This year we bought our 6yo grandson and he had a great time. The amenities are great and it is in a fantastic location. We will return. See you again next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 987clarky
ManagerHB2, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Hi 987clarky, so pleased that you had another fantastic stay at Great Sandy Straits Resort - we would love to welcome you back again! Ours is a great destination for kids, so we would love to welcome your extended family for a return visit. Thanks for the great feedback.

Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely stay in a quiet, clean and secure environment. WiFi would have been nice. Nice beach walks from property. Older establishment but well maintained and very good value. Staff were very helpful with advice and bookings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaretwS3639PR
ManagerHB2, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Hello margaretwS3639PR, thank you for your lovely feedback about our resort. We have (we think) the most wonderful location in Hervey Bay; it's a great location for enjoying leisurely walks along the beach. I will pass on your feedback to the team - they pride themselves on a fantastic job, and they'll be really pleased by your kind words.

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urangan
0.1 km away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
1,262 reviews
32.6 km away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
582 reviews
2.8 km away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 24 in Hervey Bay
151 reviews
1.3 km away
Oceans Resort & Spa
Oceans Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Urangan
339 reviews
11.1 km away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
3,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BreakFree Great Sandy Straits is located in Australia's whale watching capital, Hervey Bay. With a great location you can easily take a stroll to the main shopping, restaurant and cafe areas or just kick back, relax and enjoy the wide range of onsite leisure facilities ideal for families. Boasting safe beaches, pristine waterways, great fishing and boating, along with some of the world's most unique natural attractions, the Fraser Coast is a rare destination. Between July and November, Hervey Bay becomes an aquatic playground with the annual migration of more than 3,000 Humpback whales between Antarctica and the Great Barrier Reef. The sleepy seaside town is also the primary gateway to the world's largest sand island and World Heritage-listed area, Fraser Island. The resort offers one, two and three bedroom apartments with all room types offering air conditioning, kitchenette or full kitchen facilities, balcony or patio with views, TV and laundry facilities (studios have shared laundry facilities). There is also a three bedroom penthouse with all the same facilities mentioned as well as a spa bath. The one bedroom apartment also has a spa bath. The resort has a range of onsite facilities sure to keep the whole family entertained. There are two pools, a sauna, tennis courts, BBQ area and for the kids a children's play area and a games room. BreakFree Great Sandy Straits offers the ideal location for a family holiday or weekend getaway to Hervey Bay on Queensland's Fraser Coast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree Great Sandy Straits

Address: Great Sandy Straits Marina 17 Buccaneer Dr, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Price Range: €56 - €145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Great Sandy Straits 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your BreakFree Great Sandy Straits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Great Sandy Straits Hotel Urangan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BreakFree Great Sandy Straits staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BreakFree Great Sandy Straits staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are great, but do your research and make sure you choose the room right for you.”
 of 5 bubbles 199jenj, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There is a variety of rooms we were lucky to get one overlooking the Marina.”
  • Looking out from the living area to Marina
  • Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles gaylew507, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request an ocean view unit. You have to pay in full 14 days' prior to arrival and there is a surcharge if you pay by credit card.”
  • A view from my balcony
 of 5 bubbles margaretd503, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles marylG2446FE, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Moreland1451, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay