We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Globe

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Globe
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 404: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Globe is a slightly grand old coaching inn on Topsham's main drag. Downstairs has been pretty well renovated and retains a good deal of charm. A bit too smart for me but the number of well heeled, well matured customers on a Monday evening in early December indicates there are many for whom it is just the ticket. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
StAustellManagement, Reservations at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another great visit.

Stanley, Falkland Islands
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Felt very welcome, nice selection of St Austell ales (of course). Food was well presented and service between courses was well timed, allowing each one to be properly savoured. Blade of beef was my choice, nicely done - not too melt in the mouth having retained it's texture. Superb veg - hot and not overcooked, sprouts, carrots, broccoli and cauliflower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
StAustellManagement, Reservations at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed our Christmas meal and you felt very welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have been meaning to go there for a while, so last Sat.evening we made it! It was busy and the atmosphere was good. But, we had to suffer 3 dogs right next to us while we were eating, which we found totally unacceptable! It really spoiled our evening. I feel it should not be allowed. The menu was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clive p
Coulsdon
Reviewed 1 week ago

I did not do much in the way of research prior to booking this hotel ( sometimes this is not a bad thing) and what a delight to discover this was an St Austell Brewery pub / hotel. The brewery alone is one of my favourites so they had a head start. Check in was good with v polite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roly171
StAustellManagement, Reservations at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely 5* review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and felt well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.

Bucks.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night on our way back to Cornwall. Our room was spacious and cosy with an excellent bathroom. We ate dinner in the restaurant having booked in advance. I had two starters; coriander tempura scallops with lentil and coconut dahl followed by pork cheek rillettes with parma ham, sourdough toasts, poached pears and salted crackling. All delicious....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fairylightqueen
StAustellManagement, Reservations at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely 5* review. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another great meal.

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A return visit as we stayed here last year when we came to support Bath against Exeter very nice surroundings a great mix of locals and travelers, ate here on the night we arrived and were not disappointed, very well placed for visiting the bars and restaurants in a very quaint riverside town. Will be Back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharkey57
Management response:

Thank you for such a positive review. It is always good to hear from a guest that has stayed before and that on both occasions the standards have been consistent. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for some drinks, lovely place and setting. Made the error of ordering a 'flat white', as the picture shows, it was not that at all. Instant coffee and hot milk? Coffee training is needed!!! Otherwise a nice visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe W
Management response:

Very sorry to hear that your coffee was not up to our usual high standard. The majority of our team have been trained in the service of the various coffees however we do have some new team members on board so we will address this as a matter of urgency. Thank you for the feedback.

Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Another lovely stay at the Globe. Room (number 20) was spacious with a nice bath and good overhead power shower. Room very clean. We had breakfast every day which was great quality and sets you up for the day. They do a very nice pint of Tribute. Staff all very friendly and combines family friendliness with corporate efficiency. A special...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank senga1001
Management response:

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We will pass your comment on to Mo whom will be delighted with your feedback. Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

All i can say is i wont be back! The passage house inn is more welcoming and better fresh food! shame for a pub in lovley topsham with staff nt really traind up for the coustomer satasfaction i had the soup and it was cold i then had the fish and chips how can u get that wrong i dont...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holmesfoodnetwork
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to The Globe. We are disappointed to read that you do not wish to return especially as we normally receive lots of compliments regarding our team and the food. We are unsure from your limited feedback what you mean by 'not really trained up for customer satisfaction' or what was wrong with...

Nottingham
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed the new menu in The Globe restaurant last night. The scallops with lentil dahl were amazing and my duck wad delicious. My companions had the beef blade which they thought outstanding. Great service . We are so lucky to have it as our local.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beaumanor
Management response:

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed our winter menu. Thank you for your continued support of The Globe and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsham
6.1 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
1,082 reviews
6.3 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#9 of 31 in Exeter
752 reviews
6.2 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed
8.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
6.3 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Globe is a beautiful 16th Century Coaching Inn set in the heart of Exeter’s Historic Estuary Town of Topsham. Located only 4 miles from Exeter City centre, it attracts both tourists and business travellers.The Inn has recently undergone a major refurbishment to restore and update the historic building whilst retaining its authentic character and personal touch.Topsham has a wonderful community, relaxed and friendly offering a perfect base to explore the area, whether by bike, foot or public transport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Globe

Address: 34 Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Price Range: €89 - €148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Globe 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Globe staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Leeds, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Globe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 is the biggest I think.”
 of 5 bubbles 906MarkW, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Probably quieter in the courtyard area to the rear”
 of 5 bubbles Sharkey57, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Parking at the hotel not available during the season, use Holman Way car park, rather than Quay car park”
 of 5 bubbles cossie93, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs on the courtyard was quiet when we stayed but may be noisier in the summer months when people are drinking outside.”
 of 5 bubbles Vangocamper, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in Room 4 which was lovely and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles JayneG_13, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay