We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Saskatoon Thriftlodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Saskatoon Thriftlodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 138: English reviews
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It is a budget hotel in a motel layout. That should set your expectations. It was reasonably priced for the category of hotel this is. My expectations were not high, that said I was impressed. The rooms had up to date furniture. The breakfast was reasonable. Lots of parking. I was here for three nights, the last night there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank casper-sk
London, Ontario
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me just say that I picked this for 2 reasons: 1) Wyndham hotel & 2) price. The reason I say price is because it wasn't the cheapest but it was reasonably priced for the location to the airport and I was arriving late for a very early departure. My stay at this facility lasted all of about 6 1/2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
Travis306Batting, General Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Hi Richard, Thank you for your review and apologize you had a tough time sleeping with the people above you. We always encourage guests to let us know if there is a noise or any problem so we can handle any problems early on and have a chance for you to enjoy your stay and get some well deserved rest....

Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here just for one night in October and it was exactly what we were looking for. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean, though there were no towels (got some after talking to front desk clerk). This hotel has half smoking, half non-smoking rooms. So really, it is a smokers paradise. If you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bergs_Bees
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We've got a excellent stay in this hotel.I didn't expect this stay will be like it's price. With the price we paid here, I don't think we can have this kind of accommodation anywhere else. Will stay again in the future. Strongly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jornine F
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

I travel for work 80% of my week. It's refreshing to walk into a hotel, have them greet you by name, and treat you like a number one customer, even though you may not be. I am always greeted with a smile, and given the best rate possible even during peak times. Beds are super comfy and I don't find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the really kind review and true statement Sean H! The hospitality industry is about making people feel great, providing value, and being a great ambassador for the city we live in. We are a small property that is often overlooked but we love taking care of the people we know. I will share this with the rest of...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 28 June 2016

A noisy place that seems to draw sketchy characters, partiers and work crews. We paid close to $100 for the night, which is on the high end for a "budget" motel. It's close to the railway, the highway and sound seems to come through from every direction. Bad value for the money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David R
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Hi David R, Sorry to hear our property wasn't what you were looking for. I would disagree with you on a few of these comments. People like our location as we are close to the airport, close to downtown, and have lots of Restaurants(Ricki's All day grill and pub, Sardinia's, McDonald's, Tim Horton's) close by. Our prices when compared to...

Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

Not sure what's going on but this place is now on a steady decline. I first started staying here with work. Things were great. Fast forward to a year later and things are not being cared for. Rooms are gettin cleaned and the bathrooms? Well. They need to be renovated along with everything else. Proper manifolding of the hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kent H
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Working on getting the bathrooms renovated and wish everything could be done overnight. Working on getting rooms repainted, replaced 25 rooms of flooring this year, finished redoing all windows last year, installed a new commercial laundry room(2 industrial washers/2 industrial dryers), Brand new commercial boiler, a new complimentary guest laundry area, renovated the breakfast room this...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 28 May 2016

This is a very loud hotel. The freeway is humming until after midnight, not good. Walls are very thin, we were kept up by guests talking quietly and laughing in neighbouring rooms and people wandering, smoking, on cell phones outside our door. Stayed here to fly out early and hoped for 4 hours sleep, might have got 1. There has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SaskTraveller5
Dauphin, Canada
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed here while travelling to Manitoba. It was an ok room, comfy bed and nice sitting area. They allow pets. The lady who took my reservation was horribly rude. In fact I said I would call hee back as I had no intentions of staying there after speaking to her. I couldn't find another hotel as a function was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Prices in Saskatoon flucuate. Be careful with online websites that advertise rates as they purposely will post lower rates for future dates but not the dates you are choosing, they will also not let you cancel, make you prepay and make there money doing all these things. My advise is book as far in advance...

Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

I have no idea where my previous review went and really wasn't too concerned about it until I read the managers response to my boyfriends review of Saskatoon Thriftlodge. Our stay was the worst we have experienced in hotel/motel. When we complained about our stay we were offered a whole 25.00 refund, did not find that to be acceptable. That...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christine M
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

I had to laugh when I saw this as you and your boyfriend have now posted 3 horrible reviews here. I do wish you move on and spend your time on positive matters. Enjoy the rest of your Summer in Regina.

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
3.1 km away
Super 8 Saskatoon Near Downtown
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#36 of 39 in Saskatoon
134 reviews
0.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#21 of 39 in Saskatoon
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Motel 6 Saskatoon
Motel 6 Saskatoon
#18 of 39 in Saskatoon
145 reviews
0.6 km away
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
#30 of 39 in Saskatoon
178 reviews
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ensuring that our service exceeds your expectations we provide an affordable, comfortable and pratical place to stay while in Saskatoon. We have 56 guestrooms conveniently located close to the airport and many popular restaurants/amenities. Less Fuss, More Value. Amenities include free parking, free wireless internet, Continental Breakfast, Business Centre, Suites available, Fridges/microwaves available, and Long Term Rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Saskatoon Thriftlodge

Address: 1825 Idylwyld Dr N, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 1B6, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Price Range: €60 - €72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saskatoon Thriftlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Saskatoon Thriftlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saskatoon Thrift Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Saskatoon Thriftlodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for quietest room, though I think all are loud”
 of 5 bubbles SaskTraveller5, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“I cannot help you - sorry - but help the hotel buy a vaccuum - leave your spare change.”
 of 5 bubbles WnedyG, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“For four people, don't book a "single" or a room with a sofa bed. Rooms on the second floor may be a little quieter in the mornings.”
 of 5 bubbles champagnegirl62, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Park carefully - lots of vehicles in a cramped parking area.”
 of 5 bubbles MetisProud, 4 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Cars pulling up late at night can be a pain if you are sleeping in a ground floor room facing the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles 907rayg, 22 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay