We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Universel Quebec

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Universel Quebec
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Universel Quebec
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Stratford Upon Avon
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Very comfortable bed and spacious room but room hot - air con not the best. Did not have time to use - but pool/spa area looked great. Not bothered by roadworks outside as on a coach trip and not driving for myself. However- remember bulk of construction occurs during the all to brief summer (no snow then!)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iman321
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Hotel Universel for you stay in Quebec city and for taking a moment to give us your feedback about it. We are sorry to ear you had some issues with the air conditioning and please do not hesitate to mention any issues like this to our team member during your future stays with us. We will...

Québec
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Not the hotels fault but it was surrounded by road works which made going anywhere dangerous and time consuming. Hotel wise, this place lacks maintenance and cannot be run by people who care, our room was not too bad, beds ok and appeared clean but room very darkly lit and darkly decorated, like being in the 18th century with candle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JGM1950
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. As you mentionnned, the issue with the construction work near our establishment may be time consuming. Fortunately it is temporary. We are sorry some of our room's features like the lighting did not meet your expectations and we are taking good notes about all the comments you made...

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Hotel Universal Quebec We were on a coach tour and stopped for a couple of nights at Hotel Universal. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the service was good. They have a really nice pool and spa area which after a day discovering the city was much enjoyed. Very convenient to La Pyramide where there is a very good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jill O
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Hôtel Universel and for taking a moment to share your positive comments regarding your stay with us. It is heart warming to see that it was up to your expectations. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed the comfort and the cleanliness of our rooms as well as the service offered by our team...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This hotel was the perfect spot to help my son get settled for his year at Universite Laval. Right across the street from the university and just one block from his residence and convenient shopping at La Pyramide. Our fourth floor room was nice and quiet, had two comfortable queen beds with high quality linens, air conditioning, newly renovated bathroom,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeGoodTanya
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for writing this positive review. We are glad your room meets your standards; providing comfortable accommodations is one of our priorities. We are glad that our location was convenient for you and your son. It is true that the nearby «pyramid» (Centre Innovation) has many services, including a supermarket, a pharmacy, a movie theater...

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 17 August 2013

we went down for a fast weekend trip.. the only good thing about this hotel is the spa! but beware after dark it turns into a couples paradise!my son opened the spa on a couple inside enough said!the bed are so uncomfortable and hard i think the floor would be more comfortable.. the tub had no room for anything ie...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Donna B
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for this review. We are sorry about the problems you encountered during your stay. If there was any loud noise at night and some people acting indecently in the spa, we hope you contacted our front desk clerks so they could try to sort it out. We do take note of your comment about the bed...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This run-down motel is dark, musty, stinky, and had bug carcasses in the beds. The restaurant is "under renovation", i.e., closed. There is a Tim Horton's within about 2 blocks, but you have to dodge the road construction to get to it. I was on a bus tour that dumped us in this awful place for 2 nights. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank capitollover
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hôtel Universel. However, we are terribly sorry you had a bad experience. Your comments didn't pass unnoticed, and we will make sure the problems you mentioned about the shower and the cleanliness of the rooms are solved. About the restaurant, a Boston Pizza is about to open...

Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here one night during a quick weekend trip to Quebec City. When coming up to the hotel, it looks a little older, but once inside you see that they have invested quite a bit to modernize the property. Front desk staff was very friendly and check in was very quick. Got rooms 335 which had 2 queens beds and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheVerro
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for this great review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience so much. Our staff members will be very happy to hear about your review. We do try our best to make each of our guests' stay memorable, and getting such positive comments is truly a great reward. Again, thank you very much,...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 23 June 2013

situated in a bad area the hotel is however acceptable . Rooms are spacious and well kept. Beds are comfortable and spacious. However, bar is closed, restaurant is closed, shop is closed. The hotel is crowded with people staying just for one night, as we did, arriving on tour by bus loads. You feel the hotel has no need to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank albertbrussels
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear guest, We thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad you found your bed comfortable and your room spacious ; providing comfortable accommodations is our priority. As for the area, it is the Sainte-Foy district, which has Université Laval, Laurier shopping center and many restaurants. It is a 15-minute drive from the city center, however it...

Ottawa
Reviewed 8 June 2013

From the outside it looks like a small motel, but it is larger than it appears. I had a room with a balcony overlooking the pool area. I was worried about noise, but they seem to enforce an 11 pm curfew. The room was larger than usual. There was a bath and a shower that were nice. The work desk...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DavidFromOttawa
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We are happy to find out you found your room enjoyable and quiet. Our rooms with a balcony are indeed quite large and are usually very appreciated. We do apologize about your housekeeping problem. We hope you let our front desk personnel know about it so they could fix...

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Universel is located in front of the Laval University, aproximately a 15 minute drive to Old Quebec. For a warm and very relaxing getaway in Quebec, Hotel Universel offers you the best with its exotic Atrium and Scandinavian Spa. Our 160 stylish rooms and suites will please both business people and tourists alike, in their quest for commodity, comfort and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Quebec

Address: 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range: €65 - €147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Universel Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Universel Quebec Quebec City
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Universel Quebec staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Universel Quebec staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor (4th)”
812stevent, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Chose elsewere”
stephengF2749JN, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“it is located across from the university which is not a bad thing because there were close amenities by”
cbot2ni, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“At another hotel”
DJ-USA, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take a room on the higher floor as there as it's not very sound proof.”
Nadine16, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5