We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Universel Quebec

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Universel Quebec
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Universel Quebec
See the most recent reviews
Showing 175: English reviews
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I stayed here for two nights, and had an experience that seems to differ from others. First, I booked through Hotels.com and didn't feel penalised for it. I was very happy with my room, which was spacious and away from any noise. It looks like a motel from the outside, but this is very much not the case. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becca H
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

First of all, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are truly happy to see that you fully enjoyed your stay with us! It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from our guests! In fact, our hotel offers you a great opportunity to help you to relax. It is true that we are...

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Very modern hotel with great amenities, pool, hot tub, sauna and more. The rooms are clean, adequate in size and décor. The bathroom was well appointed but small. Sleep comfort was OK. Minifridge but no microwave in the room. The rooms open to interior hallways but no security on exterior entries. Convenient to the university and about 6 k form...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

First of all, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are truly happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from our guests! In fact, most of our rooms are equipped with a minifridge, but it is only our suites and economic rooms with...

Reviewed 9 October 2016

We were with a tour bus group and stayed there for one night. The hotel was updated. The bedding is comfortable and room in general is updated. However, the bathroom is small and there is not enough hooks/ rack to put the clothing. The wash basin was a raised one without much counter space.The hook on the door was removed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank candy L
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share with us on Trip Advisor your satisfaction about your last stay at our hotel. We are truly happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are sorry to learn that you have not enough space to put your clothes. Your comments are really important to us and we take...

Reviewed 29 September 2016

Overall, I was satisfied with the hotel. The rooms were pretty ordinary and its also clean, I enjoyed the swimming pool and spa although it was overcrowded with children I also enjoyed the breakfast in the nearby restaurant but it would be better if they have their own restaurants where breakfast is included. Again not complaining just satisfied

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hasan d
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are truly happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It pleases us to know that you appreciated your room and that its cleanliness has met your expectations! Moreover, we are glad to read that you spent a great time at our tropical...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

This place seems to be party central. I think there was a frat party in the room next door with drinking game chants and loud rap music. When we checked in the place seemed normal, but that had all changed when we returned around 9pm. Never again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

We are really sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. It is not in our habits to offer an experience like that and we thank you for sharing your impressions with us. In this kind of situation, do not hesitate to advise our front desk team about disturbing customers. Our staff we will do...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Our room was quite comfortable, we had a balcony overlooking the spa and pool which were well maintained, everything was clean. It was funny to wake up hearing the birds (caged) in the spa area asking to have their night cover taken off. I am awake early anyway but maybe late sleepers would not be amused by that. A good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ontherideau
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

First of all, we would like to thank you for leaving feedback about your experience at the Hotel Universel Québec on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you appreciated your stay with us and that you liked the sound of the birds in the atrium. We work hard to keep all the pool and spa area very clean and...

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Overall, I was satisfied with the hotel. The rooms were pretty ordinary and its also clean, its also convenient that they have a restaurant nearby but it would be better if they have their own restaurants where breakfast is included.. Again not complaining just satisfied..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelo P
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about the Hôtel Universel Québec on TripAdvisor. We are glad to see that you are satisfied of your experience with us during your stay in Quebec City. It is true that we don’t have our own restaurant with included breakfast. However, there is a Boston Pizza accessible right from our...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We had originally booked a basic room but when we arrived we found they had upgraded us to a suite with private interior balcony overlooking the pool! Seeing as how there are only 9 rooms that overlook the pool out of about 150 rooms, we were quite surprised. The hotel in general was very clean and the location is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your satisfaction on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you loved your stay at our hotel! We are pleased that you enjoyed your upgraded room. It is always our pleasure to offer such upgrades, when it is possible. Many of our guests mention the pool and spa area. It is...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival I sat down on my bed to notice the mattress was completely deformed, I sunk into a large divot on the side. Proceeded to attempt to connect to the wifi, which wasn't working whatsoever. Called the front desk only to sit on hold for too long...They had only 1 worker, this young teenager with an attitude, accusing me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scooploops
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. First of all, we are sorry if your mattress did not meet your comfort standards. We will ensure a follow-up on that aspect. Moreover, we know the importance of a good WIFI connexion during traveling and we are sorry to notice that you met...

ottawa
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Unless you book through them u will not get any good rooms nor service. My husband and I booked through Hotwire just to see how things go well we got to the hotel and they gave us a room with broken air conditioner and no window, so we went down to request a new room but wow i dont know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stastin
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

We are sorry to read that your experience was not as pleasant as it should have been. We would like to start off by saying that we take very seriously all of our customers’ opinions as they help us point out what we do right and what needs to be improved. Let us start by saying that we do not...

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
9.6 km away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#77 of 101 in Quebec City
462 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#52 of 101 in Quebec City
285 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Quartier
Hotel Quartier
#83 of 101 in Quebec City
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
2.3 km away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#53 of 101 in Quebec City
300 reviews
3.2 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#89 of 101 in Quebec City
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Universel is located in front of the Laval University, aproximately a 15 minute drive to Old Quebec. For a warm and very relaxing getaway in Quebec, Hotel Universel offers you the best with its exotic Atrium and Scandinavian Spa. Our 160 stylish rooms and suites will please both business people and tourists alike, in their quest for commodity, comfort and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Quebec

Address: 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range: €62 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Universel Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Universel Quebec Quebec City
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Universel Quebec staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Universel Quebec staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“it is located across from the university which is not a bad thing because there were close amenities by”
 of 5 bubbles cbot2ni, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“At another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles DJ-USA, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take a room on the higher floor as there as it's not very sound proof.”
 of 5 bubbles Nadine16, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for newer rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles liquid_gumbi, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book ahead”
 of 5 bubbles Bob_C44, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5