We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Show Prices
#45 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expert photos
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,980: English reviews
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2015

Really great top quality hotel. Friendly staff, helpful and very clean rooms. I would recommend to anyone. The location is in a good spot, close to and connected to the underground. Staff is always there to help

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 743teresat
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear 743teresat - Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our staff members and the service provided. We're also glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and its convenience being connected to the underground city, especially in the winter months! Until next time, warmest regards from the entire team. More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2015

Great location, on top of underground city, close to train station, and convenient to most of downtown. Renovated rooms are well done; I suspect most complaints arise from old rooms. Front desk is friendly and helpful. Big plus: For runners, a guided run is offered every morning. It's a great way to see Montreal. I had the chance to run... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChefDilettante
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear ChefDilettante - Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us last fall. We're sorry however to learn the breakfast buffet was a disappointment. Please know several changes have been made to the breakfast offerings since last September and we do hope you will visit us again. Thanks and regards. More 

Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2015

This was our second stay at the Queen Elizabeth, and would stay again. Ideally situated, within walking distance to old Montreal, and above train station, so easy access to transit. The whole city is open to explore! Elevators tend to be noisy, so request a room away from them.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank jillandtim2014
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear jillandtim2014 - thank you for sharing some feedback further to your return visit to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're glad you once again enjoyed your stay and most definitely look forward to welcoming you back again in a not-too-distant future. Best regards. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2015

Stayed here a couple times including very recently. Hotel is old and worn and needs an update. That includes the room. Overall very dark and gloomy place. Biggest disappointment for me was the room cleanliness on my last stay. Was fairly clear to me that the room wasn't cleaned with any diligence (dirty sink, stained toilet, dirty floors...) I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank dparcanada
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear dparcanada – We appreciate your comments and suggestions further to your recent stay. We were very sorry however to hear how we failed to provide you with the experience you expected. We completely understand your disappointment with regards to the cleanliness issues you encountered. Please know we have comprehensive housekeeping standards in place and our hotels are focused on... More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
363 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2015

For the Outstanding: (1) the concierge who made our dinner reservations at a restaurant I couldn't get into myself, checked us in for our flights when she saw us waiting for the computer and was just generally so pleasant; (2) Dominic in the main restaurant who heard me raving about the almond croissant and brought extra in a box to... More 

Helpful?
Thank AmberK
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear AmberK - Thank you for your comments regarding the outstanding service provided by our concierge team as well as Dominic at Le Montrealais restaurant. We're thrilled to learn how pleased with you with our staff members and please know your lovely note has already been shared with the team. That being said, we're sorry for not being able to... More 

Saint-laurent
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2015

The Beaver Club in my opinion always needs to be open on New years Day! Valentines day, Our wedding anniversary in March, My wife's birthday in April, My birthday in October, and any other special day of the year. The Beaver club is the best restaurant in Montreal. It just needs to let everyone know that they are the standard... More 

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank keni474
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear keni474 - Thank you for your loyalty to Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the special celebration on New Years day at the Beaver Club restaurant. Rest assured your lovely note will be shared with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back! Warmest regards. More 

Charlo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2015

The people working at the hotel from reception to chamber maids were fantastic. The hotel was clean from lobby to rooms. Also very well situated for walking in downtown Montreal. The pool and exercise area were very clean and had attendants

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Berthe2013
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear Berthe2013 - Thank you for your kind note about the friendliness of our team members. We're happy to learn they made your recent stay a comfortable one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards. More 

Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2015 via mobile

My family of 9 stayed here over winter holiday. Rooms and hotel are very well appointed. Fantastic buffet breakfast. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Only complaint is that our rooms were spread out all over the floor. And my room for 3 was so small we could hardly turn around. We booked 9 months in advance and asked to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank ggfleur
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear ggfleur - Thank you for your recent visit. We're glad you enjoyed the services offered. With regards to the room assignment, we're very sorry to hear we coudln't accommodate rooms closer to one another. Depending on the room categories booked, it is sometimes difficult to assign nearby rooms. If you do return in the future, please do contact us... More 

ottawa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2015

Service at the Montreal Fairmont – Le Queen Elizabeth - Robotic as one reviewer put it, mindless I would add sums up the service at the Fairmont Montreal – personal, not in any sense of the word… Something is very wrong with this hotel and Fairmont surely is to blame. Rooms shabby and tired, staff complacent and checked-out. After many... More 

Helpful?
Thank drmwvrOttawa
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear drmwvrOttawa - We very much regret to hear how disappointed you were with the service and amenities offered. We take pride in offering a warm service to our guests and we're sorry for not providing you with the hotel experience you expected. We were very surprised by your comments regarding some unusual activity in the lobby during a UFC... More 

London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2015

We stayed in the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth for 6 nights over Christmas 2014 and we had a pleasant stay. The rooms are clean and quite large and the hotel is in a good location. One bad point about the room is that if you move anything in the minibar you have to pay for it, even if you don't drink... More 

Helpful?
Thank SJ123
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear SJ123 – Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We’re glad you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciated the cleanliness of your room along with the helpfulness of our colleagues. The direct access to the underground city is very convenient for our guests. That said, we’re sorry to hear the Christmas Dinner buffet did not meet your expectations.... More 

1,070 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (682)
Viewed
Room/Suite (188)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (141)
Viewed
View from Room (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (73)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (172)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (387)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Fairmont Gold Room - Wheelchair Accessible (30)
Viewed
Fairmont Room - King Bed (43)
Viewed
Fairmont Room - Two Double Beds (36)
Viewed
Jerome Le Royer Executive Suite (82)
Viewed
John Lennon and Yoko Ono Suite (56)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#56 of 163 in Montreal
1,891 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#4 of 163 in Montreal
1,165 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#15 of 163 in Montreal
1,148 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Renaissance Montreal Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighbourhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Le Montrealais Bistro
Le Montrealais Bistro
Cuisines: French, Canadian, Bar
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the center of Montreal's vibrant cultural and commercial district sits the city's grandest and most gracious hotel - Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. Located above the train station (Via Rail & AMTRAK) and connected to the extensive underground city of thousands of boutiques, restaurants and cafes, and within walking distance of sports and cultural attractions, this Montreal hotel reflects the city’s distinct elegance and charm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Price Range: €227 - €1,283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 982
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
over a year ago
Edmonton, Canada
Vancouver, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother asking for an upgrade at reception as you will not receive unless you're willing to pay more.”
 of 5 bubbles obkelly, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This is Canada ask for a no smoking floor”
 of 5 bubbles Zapatero421, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“A Fairmont President's Club card may very well get you an upgrade and quick check-in”
 of 5 bubbles alexpus, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you want a non smoking room you will have to go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles DrGreg1963, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are small so if traveling with family, I'd suggest upgrading to deluxe room or even a suite.”
 of 5 bubbles AshokS942, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay