We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

#45 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
04/07/2017 05/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,982: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 11 January 2015 via mobile

I have stayed here many times but I think it is time to find myself a new hotel to stay at in Montreal. This stay has been boring. Admittedly it's January but the lobby is dead, the bar had no vibe, and the eating outlets are stale. My meal in the bar was 33.00 with no alcohol and I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kspragg
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear kspragg – Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. We’re very sorry to learn we didn’t make this visit an exciting one. We appreciate your comments and we will most definitely work on revisiting the offerings in our bar. We also thank you for bringing to our attention the issue...

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 11 January 2015

This hotel was base camp for our foray into the city of Montreal. It did not disappoint. The hotel is smack dab in the center of the city, within walking distance of many of the cool things to see and places to eat the city holds. I will come right out and say it. The rooms are small at the...

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank saintm89
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear saintm89 - We're so pleased to learn how much you and your family enjoyed your visit to Montreal in December. We're glad our team members, namely our concierge desk, made your stay most memorable. We do look forward to seeing you again in a not-too-distant future. Many thanks and kind regards.

Williamstown, Canada
Reviewed 9 January 2015

We recently stayed at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth in Montreal and very much enjoyed our time there. We were given a great deal with the 'home for the holidays' special and had a lovely king suite that my husband and I shared with our niece and her girlfriend. It is conveniently located adjacent to the train station. The staff are...

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diggersmom
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear Diggersmom - How lovely it was to learn how pleased you were with your recent stay at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth. We truly appreciate the kind words you shared and look forward to welcoming you and your family again on a future visit to Montreal. Many thanks and warm regards.

Brampton
Reviewed 9 January 2015

not applicable but horrible rooms and ambiance. The carpet and bed were stained and the bathroom was in terrible shape.The flush did not work. Iam not going to this place in future even if it is price cheap

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shreya_arora2185
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear shreya_arora2185 - We're very surprised and deeply sorry to read your feedback. We understand your disappointment and we wish we had an opportunity to address your concerns during your visit. Please know we've communicated your feedback with our housekeeping and engineering team for immediate attention. We sincerely apologize for these unfortunate shortcomings and we thank you for bringing this...

Canton, Connecticut
Reviewed 9 January 2015

The Queen Elizabeth is wearing out and in need of an overhaul. The bathrooms are worn out and need renovating. The Staff needs to step up their game with making guests feel welcome and appreciated. A robot can check you in and say hello and thank you but, it takes a professional person to know how to interact with a...

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tennysona2015
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear tennysona2015 –We’re deeply sorry for not meeting your expectations in terms of engagement of our staff members. We do strive to offer a warm service and a personable approach and we thank you for your candid comments as we do value feedback from our guests for service improvement. Additionally, please know we are working on a renovation plan, which...

Concord, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 January 2015

This hotel has everything anyone could want in a hotel....location, in-house amenities, incredible access to amenities all around, great staff, fabulous restaurants, wonderful rooms. My only complaint would be the the fact that you had to pay ($14/day!!) for wifi....that seemed ridiculous, but maybe that's the standard in Canada...I don't know. Other than that, this was a perfect hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MNFamof5
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear MNFamof5 - Thank you very much for the lovely feedback you shared online from the comfort of the hotel to our great staff members. With regards to the internet access, there is indeed a daily fee, which is waived for the members of our loyalty program. We encourage you to enroll at no charge by visiting fairmont.com/fpc prior to...

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 7 January 2015

the staff at the Fairmont does not like Americans... stay at a Marriott. not only did I have to wait to check-in, they had the wrong room. The staff did not recommend or even tried to get us reservations for dinner, I truly felt unwelcomed at the hotel. the only nice person was room service. sad but I will not...

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2014XOXO
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear 2014XOXO - We were extremely surprised and concerned by your feedback regarding the service you received while staying at our property in Montreal. We cater to an international clientele and we have the pleasure of welcoming a high number of American travellers every week. We're very sorry to hear how disappointed you were with your recent stay. We appreciate...

Reviewed 7 January 2015

In terms of the room size and comfort it turns out better than the nearby hotels. These room rates are for people that don't fit my profile, BUT for three in one room, under $80 a night each per person.that fits my profile. I had one bad experience there, and it is not worth mentioning in detail, everyone has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear Peter P - Thank you for your pleasant note about the service provided by our staff members. We're happy to read you had a great time discovering Montreal and we look forward to welcoming you again should your travel plans bring you back to the city. Many thanks and kind regards.

Yellowknife NWT Canada
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Was a little disappointed at paying nearly $300 to book a king bed, and finding out there were no kings available when we checked in....so we had to take a queen. However, the desk staff did offer to have a king available in 2 more hours.......we had to be at the Arena at the same time, so we took the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear Wendy F - Thank you for your visit. We do apologize for the confusion at time of arrival regarding the rooms you had confirmed. Indeed for all guests who arrive earlier than the guaranteed check-in time, our front desk team makes every effort to find an alternate solution for you to avoid having to wait for the room. That...

Ingleside, Canada
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Lovely stay at the Queen Elizabeth (Fairmont) on New Years Eve. The staff were especially busy but still managed to patiently book us in so courteously. This hotel is ideally situated in the midst of every venue. Shopping is accessible through the lower level of the Hotel - all underground- so leave your heavy coats in the room. Pool was...

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank disappointed983
FairmontQueenE, Manager at Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, responded to this review

Dear disappointed983 - Thank you for taking the time to share some comments about your recent stay. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your overall visit. We're sorry about the the pool being busier than usual due to the holidays. Having said that, we do look forward to welcoming you back in a not-too-distant future! Warmest...

1,098 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (679)
Viewed
Room/Suite (188)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (141)
Viewed
View from Room (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (73)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (169)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (387)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Fairmont Gold Room - Wheelchair Accessible (30)
Viewed
Fairmont Room - King Bed (43)
Viewed
Fairmont Room - Two Double Beds (36)
Viewed
Jerome Le Royer Executive Suite (82)
Viewed
John Lennon and Yoko Ono Suite (56)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
04/07/2017 05/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#54 of 163 in Montreal
2,060 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 163 in Montreal
1,443 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighbourhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Le Montrealais Bistro
Le Montrealais Bistro
Cuisines: French, Bar, Canadian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth has closed its doors to undergo a $140 million transformation project to become once again Montreal's leading choice hotel for travelers, special events and business conventions. The hotel will reopen in summer 2017. The common areas and approximately 500 out of our 950 guest rooms will be ready in time to celebrate Montreal's 375th Anniversary and the 150th Anniversary of Canadian Confederation. Following the completion of the transformation project, Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth, one of Montreal’s most iconic landmarks, will offer: A brand new design blending a contemporary decor with a vintage flair reminiscent of Montreal’s golden years. The authenticity of our building, a historic heritage monument, will be preserved. An innovative business campus that will be among the most modern in the world. The campus will include a set of interconnected and accessible public meeting and multi-functional spaces where business people will be able to engage in creative, collaborative and innovative experiences. A new restaurant, bar and coffee lounge introducing innovative culinary and experiential concepts brought to life thanks to the expertise of Baptiste Peupion, Culinary Director, and Nader Chabaane, Director of Mixology. An urban market, a revolutionary concept in the hospitality world, offering seasonal products and supporting local producers and artisans while fostering a community spirit in the heart of downtown Montreal. The Agora, a multi-purpose venue with dynamic programming, pop-up shops and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth

Address: 900 Blvd. Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Price Range: €204 - €412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 950
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Hotel Montreal
Fairmont Montreal
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth
Montreal Fairmont
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#27 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask if any renovation of hotel and rooms since summer 2015!”
Robert8888Lee, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother asking for an upgrade at reception as you will not receive unless you're willing to pay more.”
obkelly, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This is Canada ask for a no smoking floor”
Zapatero421, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“A Fairmont President's Club card may very well get you an upgrade and quick check-in”
alexpus, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you want a non smoking room you will have to go to another hotel”
TheTravelDoctor2000, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates