We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur

Expedia.comUS$77*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$88*
US$77*
US$88*
US$77*
US$88*
US$77*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel l\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

565 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
See the most recent reviews
Showing 408: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2013

As others have said, the biggest selling point for this hotel - besides the real bargain price - is its staff, all of whom go the extra mile. Carole, especially, went out of her way to give me helpful tips, including for one-off events happening that weekend that I would otherwise never have known about. Even the cleaning lady made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesKilleen
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment and for your kind words regarding location, cleanliness of the rooms, staff and price. We are aware that being in the downtown area, located in a historic building, that some of the rooms (particularily the budget rooms) can be noisy with street disturbances. Our fantastic location in a centennial building...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 August 2013

my Wife and I stayed there for 2 night in late August 2013in this hotel. First we were surprised with a change in the room, that we never been notified about, 2 queen bad instead of 1 , they told me it's an upgrade but for me it's it's not and I hated it. Because I complained the bold guy...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Terry B
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

We are truly sorry your experience at our property did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to guarantee our guests 100% genuine hospitality and we constantly try to provide a perfect service. Though we were unable to change you to a smaller room on the first evening, we would have gladly changed you the following morning for the duration...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 22 August 2013

At first we thought this would be very backpacker like and did not have high expectations for it especially with the shared bathrooms. We were wrong! When we arrive though we received a warm welcome from Carrol who gave us a lot of tips on what to do and where to go, as our flight got in very early. In...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Toodi7
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words and your excellent recommendation. We make every effort to exceed the expectations of our guests with true hospitality. We are also pleased that you were impressed with the budget rooms with shared washrooms. In addition to the budget rooms, we also have in the hotel, superior rooms with private washrooms in the newly renovated...

Ballston Spa, New York
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I stayed a week, based on the recommendations of other TripAdvisor users, and were not disappointed. The room was immaculate, and the availability of a full kitcheonette made our stay super easy - on our first day, we visited St. Viateur Bagels, and returned with marvellous breakfast for the rest of the week. The hotel is within...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Stephen M
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. A Montreal bagel for breakfast is a local staple. We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay and that in part, we were able to help in making your trip to Montreal a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.....please remember that return guests that...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Such a fantastic location - a busy street with lots of activites, so close to the metro and a short, plesant walk through Chinatown to Old Port. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and to make sure we had a good time in the city. The day we checked out we were able to leave...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gina T
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and excellent recommendation. I am pleased that you enjoyed our prime location and in your words, our fantastic staff. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on your next visit to Montreal.

Bisbee, Arizona
Reviewed 5 August 2013

OK, it is a little bit hard to find because the street STe-Catherine Quest is closed to cars, which also is a really big plus because there is no street noise. Park on the street, check in and then park you car in a local garage and walk for the rest of your stay as this hotel could not be...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank sleepydog
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

Ste-Catherine Street is a pedestrian walkway during the summer months, thus creating a wonderful atmosphere during day or night. Thanks for your suggestion regarding parking (there are numerous surface and underground lots in the area at reasonable rates) and our prime location is indeed ideal to discover by foot most of the major tourist sites. I am pleased that you...

Steinbach, Canada
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed here 5 nights. The service was very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Even the maids were courteous and went beyond expectations. My friends and I had been playing Trivial Pursuit and other board games and left the cards scattered on the night table. When we got back the next day, the games had been cleaned up and stacked nicely....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank northropfrye
Larry56Montreal, Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We take great pride in our customer service and of our clean accommodations and therefore are very grateful for your comments in this regard. I will be pleased to share your comments with the entire staff.....till next time.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with a few friends and loved it. Amazing value for such a great position (walking distance to old montreal, latin quarters, gay village and the plateau). The lady behind the desk was super helpful, showing us how to get from a to b and suggesting cool things for us to see and do. Possibly the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BonnieEJ
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

I will certainly share your kind words with our receptionist Carol, as well as with the hard working cleaning staff. I am pleased that you appreciated our prime location and the value of our budget rooms. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Ottawa
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed one night during Just For Laughs and were thrilled with the location and value. It's clean and modern, feels like a European hotel. We parked at the Hyatt for $20/day. Staff was very friendly. I will be back next year for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keagan
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

We are proud of being recognized as #1 best value hotel in Montreal on Tripadvisor. Our aim is to offer good service and clean accommodations at a reasonable rate. We thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again next year.

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Recently stayed for a quick jaunt to Montreal. This hotel is an excellent value: a few blocks from China town, Basilica Notre-Dame, and other sites; and at a very reasonable rate. The rooms were clean and service excellent. One the negative side: this part of Montreal has many homeless people who will continually ask you for money (but no worse...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jack M
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

Thank-you for sharing your experience at Abri du Voyageur Hotel. Glad that you took full advantage of our prime location to discover our city. There is always something to do in Montreal and we therefore hope to see you back again soon.

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Budget One Bedroom (20)
Viewed
Budget Two Bedroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Studio with Kitchenette (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#47 of 163 in Montreal
660 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#56 of 163 in Montreal
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#67 of 163 in Montreal
173 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#81 of 163 in Montreal
328 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#72 of 163 in Montreal
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Quartier des Spectacles

Neighbourhood Profile
Quartier des Spectacles
The bar-none entertainment district for music and arts, Quartier des Spectacles is an interactive playground that delights the senses. It totals over 30 performance halls, with the vibrant Place des Festivals at its heart. The outdoor event space features glowing towers, glass edifices, and granite-lined bike paths, and hosts annual festivals, concerts, and comedy nights. The cinema, theatres, and exhibition centres are entwined with external art projects, exemplified at Montreal's Contemporary Art Museum and appearing along every walkway of the Promenade des Artistes in the form of sculpture and public works, from digitally-enhanced swingsets to glowing fountains. Design, performance, and alternative music come together here, a stone's throw from the lively Latin Quarter along Rue Saint-Denis, the quintessential after-party spot for dinner and a drink following a day of jazz, poetry and play.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dating back to 1876, Abri du Voyageur Hotel has been renovated in keeping with its historical character. High ceilings, bare brick walls, maple-wood floors, continental doors are reminiscent of the past and give our hotel a unique personality. Abri du Voyageur Hotel is not an impersonal, run-of-the-mill cookie factory type hotel but is part and parcel of the history and evolution of the Faubourg St.Laurent and of Montreal.Abri du Voyageur Hotel is adjacent to the Quartier des Spectacles Hotel. Each hotel is in a separate building linked by a common lobby and reception. A single entry serves both hotels in a 4 storey centennial building.All our rooms and studios are equipped with an air-conditioner and cable television. We also offer free wireless internet for all our guests.A friendly professional staff and a warm ambiance offers you a welcomed refuge in the midst of the hustle and bustle of downtown Montreal. Relax in our ‘hotel de charme’ and visit by foot Montreals’ boutiques, cinemas, restaurants, museums, art galleries, sport events, shows, bars and discothèques. Metro St.Laurent ( subway station) is less than a block from the hotel and will bring you in 10 to 15 minutes to those few sites not in walking distance ( ex. Doré Beach on the St.Lawrence River, Mount Royal, the Botanical Gardens, the Biodôme, the Casino of Montreal). What a dream location! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur

Address: 9 rue Ste-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Price Range: €61 - €126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Abri Du Voyageur
l Abri Du Voyageur Montreal
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#49 Business Hotel in Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a studio with kitchen facilities.”
davidpY5562ZU, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“no view, hard to get to”
, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Go for the studio with rhe kitchen. You save a lot on food.”
rdcjMD, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“avoid at all costs”
, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best going for a suite, they have their own bathroom”
ebhowe, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$77* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$77
PricelineUS$77
CancelonUS$88
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates