We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fairholm National Historic Inn

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 268: English reviews
Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Fairholm Inn for two nights during a winter storm in Charlottetown. We could not have been more pleased with our accommodations or the service we received. Mitchell was very attentive and answered every question we had. As we were unable to explore Charlottetown on the first stormy evening during our stay, Mitchell lit the fireplace in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gbamoore
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We booked this Inn as a group for our son's wedding taking place in a venue close by in Charlottetown. This Inn is centrally located close to everything within a short walk. The was so beautiful that the bride chose to have the wedding rehearsal here. It's beauty was difficult to capture in a photogragh and the photos posted on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank love_birds_1985
fairholminnkeeper, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review of our property! We really enjoyed hosting your group during such a special time for your son. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Brooke and Mitch. We are looking forward to your next visit! Ben MacMillan General Manager

Vineland, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We arrived at the Inn at 8 pm, a bit later than we had expected. It was dark, and we had trouble finding the Inn and the guest parking lot. We experienced some panic when we walked in and there was absolutely no one around, it was spookily quiet! We rang the bell, we used the phone by the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nitvoyodelo
fairholminnkeeper, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. It is not often we receive such a thorough review so it is always very nice when a guest comments with such detail! The Emslie is one of our most beautiful rooms - we have actually recently added a second door outside of the room to prevent the breakfast smells from...

Barrington, Illinois
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We arrived at Hillhurst Inn only to find out we had been switched to Faiholm. (My email was off to avoid international connections). Not knowing what to expect, but certainly needing a room we walked a couple of doors down to another beautiful mansion. OMG, somebody was looking out for us! Fairholm is Stunningly Beautiful. From the moment we walked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cam8880
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review

Cam, We really enjoyed hosting you and your husband during your stay with us! It's great to hear how much you appreciated the restored status of the B&B. Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of our property. We would love to have you back next time you find yourselves in Charlottetown! Ben MacMillan General Manager

Beijing, China
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This Inn is located in downtown, Charlottetown, P.E.I. It is stunning both inside and out! Perfect for a weekend getaway or for a family celebration. I have stayed several times. I also got married there 13 years ago, it was an incredible setting for a family wedding, The immediate family spent the night and we had a beautiful brunch the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 888travler
fairholminnkeeper, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for continuing to stay with us at Fairholm. It is not often we have the pleasure of continually hosting guests who were married here! We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review for us. Hopefully we will see you soon! Ben MacMillan General Manager

Church Point, Canada
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We stayed for 4 nights. The staff with the owner where always there for our needs (how to put the TV on, explain how to get to their dinning room). The room was very quite and clean. We where on the second floor with a deck and nice view of their garden. The food for breakfest was very good this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavegLeBlanc
fairholminnkeeper, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review

Dave, Thanks for taking the time to write a review for our property! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to hear that you will be returning, hopefully it is in the near future. Ben MacMillan General Manager

Reviewed 14 October 2016

We stayed at the Hillhurst property owned by Fairholm and it was lovely. Knowing that downtown Charlottetown could cause sleeping issues (street noise, etc) it was surprising how quiet it was. There was a little issue with our bed (loose headboard) - a quick mention of it in the morning and they were AMAZING. Assessed that it should be repaired...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
fairholminnkeeper, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review

Julie, It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Carriage House as well as Hillhurst. We are sorry about the little mishap with your bed, thanks for being so understanding! We are thrilled to hear the two of you will be back to stay with us in the future. Ben MacMillan General Manager

Calgary
Reviewed 10 October 2016

If travelling to PEI and Charlottetown in the fall be careful to not under estimate occupancy at this time of year - we did. Likely the reason we found this property at the last minute was their pricing point. We were happy with this property - an old historic building with wonderful antiques and architecture. We stayed in the Fitzroy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigZipaway
fairholminnkeeper, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property! You are dead on about the occupancy during October - the whole island is pretty jammed packed from mid June until the end of October. Hopefully you'll keep us in mind for the next time you find yourselves in Charlottetown! Ben MacMillan General Manager

Canada
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

This was the perfect to explore PEI! We had a beautiful suite, large, clean, and romantic! This was our honeymoon trip across eastern Canada and we really wanted to stay in historic properties during the trip. We were not disappointed!! We walked through the front door and the inn keeper greater us and knew who we were without asking. Location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marco M
fairholminnkeeper, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review

Derrick, Thank you for writing such a detailed review of our property! We are honoured that you chose us to be part of your honeymoon trip. Keep us in mind if you come this way again! Ben MacMillan General Manager

Reviewed 23 September 2016

We enjoy staying in beautifully restored, period properties. So when we saw that Fairholm Inn was advertised as a 5 Star rated property, we did not hesitate to book a stay for our anniversary. When we arrived we saw that it was indeed a period property. However, the suite we were allocated was on the ground floor and was clearly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
fairholminnkeeper, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review

Joanne, I would like to take the time to thank you for writing a review of our property and will try to address all of your concerns. We pride ourselves on being one of the top locations to stay in Charlottetown, but I will admit we did have some misses last year. We had just recently expanded our property to...

457 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (303)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Brecken Suite (34)
Viewed
Emslie Suite (29)
Viewed
Florence D. Rogers Suite (30)
Viewed
Irene Rogers Suite (24)
Viewed
James (36)
Viewed
Lucietia Starr Suite (29)
Viewed
Reginald (43)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)
Viewed
T.H. Haviland Suite (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 km away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
574 reviews
0.7 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
675 reviews
0.3 km away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
295 reviews
0.7 km away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
367 reviews
0.5 km away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#8 of 23 in Charlottetown
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 5 Star Inn and National Historic Site, Fairholm is a 1838 Mansion restored to its original splendor. Spacious and unique rooms with superb architectural detail all feature private baths, fireplaces, original antiques and hardwood floors. A short walk away from the waterfont, theatre and downtown shops and restaurants. Free wi-fi and parking. Delicious full hot breakfast for two is included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairholm National Historic Inn

Address: 230 Prince Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A4S1, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Price Range: €116 - €246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairholm National Historic Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Fairholm National Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairholm National Historic Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fairholm National Historic Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very romantic ambience in the main Fairholm. Apartments in the Carriage House are modern with full kitchens, livingroom, large bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles love_birds_1985, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All but we love the Brecken Suite!”
 of 5 bubbles 888travler, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We loved the second floor. There is no fridge in the room so plan for this.”
 of 5 bubbles DavegLeBlanc, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for a suite upstairs!”
 of 5 bubbles K5062PUjoanneh, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Fairholm Inn. Look for more modern room in their two approximating properties for a nice stay. Management works very hard to please.”
 of 5 bubbles maxpr1, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5