We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 58: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This B&B had spacious, quiet, and pretty rooms. The breakfast was really good; every day was something different. Guests were allowed to use a mini fridge, which was really useful. The door is locked with a combination key pad, so guests could come and go whenever they wanted to without disturbing anyone. We thought it felt more like a hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christa E
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We try to make our home as welcoming as possible with a few extra amenities and ambiance. I just wish you had mentioned about the hot water situation. While we have a high capacity water heater, sometimes we still need to remind our guests to consider others and conserve our natural...

Reviewed 28 July 2013

I have started this review several times and I end up going on and on. Suffice it to say there isn't enough space for me to say all the good things I'd like to about Cindy and Guy, their friendliness, their excellent service and their hospitality. My family returned from PEI one week ago and, already, I can't wait to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank otter888
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Cindy and I are glad you enjoyed your tea and wire wrapping experience. Sometimes, taking a break and doing something fun and relaxing can be very fulfilling. It is also rewarding to bring home a homemade souvenir you made yourself. While we cannot promise to have many new scrapbooking embellishments next year, we also look forward to your next visit.

Enschede, The Netherlands
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed at the Trailside B&B for 14 days/nights last May, and truly loved it there. Guy and Cindy both know a lot about the Island and we had many nice conversations during those days. Some evenings I had a talk with Cindy about living on the Island, I loved her honesty about that! The room was clean, the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haasje_11
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words Tamara. We particularly enjoy our guests who stay for several days. We can go over their previous day's experiences and add to our "best picks" for other guests. We also enjoy making suggestions on places to go and things to do. We hope to see you back in PEI very soon. Guy and CIndy

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Honestly, I wish I could give this B&B a good review but I never had a chance to even stay here. The house itself was beautiful, with a gorgeous garden and lovely tea room, and it was located very close to Charlottetown which is convenient. (although on a busy road which detracts from its beauty because your view is a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bhersc
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a bad start to your PEI holiday but I feel you are unfair in posting two negative reviews under two different names and blaming us for your mistakes. You said " your view is a bunch of big box stores and gas stations". There are no big box stores for 3 kilometres. We also have...

Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I was in Charlottetown on Saturday and went into Scrap'n and Wire Wrap'n and bought a piece of sea glass for $10 and Cindy sat down with me one on one and showed me how to create a beautiful pendant. When I got up this morning I created 3 more pieces with the stuff i bought. I would recommend the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelMason1979
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoy your seaglass pendant. Now you are creating your own treasures. I hope you are successful in finding seaglass elsewhere to continue your new hobby.

Castalian Springs, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We arrived back on PEI for the summer and on our first trip out went back to visit Cindy and Guy's Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts. It is one of my favorite stops and we always receive a super warm welcome from two wonderful people. Love the choices of tea and the scones are the best I have ever had....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia A
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

It was good to see you again Cynthia. We always like to make a few additions for our returning guests. This year we are featuring 3 new teas we hope our customers will enjoy as much as we do. Let us know when you want to book a tea party. Guy

Reviewed 10 July 2013

Cindy &Guy are very friendly and accommodating. It was easy to book, easy to find, and very cozy. It is bike friendly, and there is a lovely trail right next door. The garden is beautiful and they have a nice assortment of island crafts available. We would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us Erin. Whether for one day or several, we enjoy talking to our guests about their experiences and travel plans. We also enjoy doing a few extras for our cycling guests.

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This B&B is nice, well furnished and clean. The breakfast was good. However, the owners are truly rude and abrasive, which is really unpleasant in a setting as intimate as a Bed and Breakfast. From the moment we arrived we felt unwelcome and uncomfortable and this coldness lasted right through checkout. They are easily frustrated and will make it abundantly...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Amanda W
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were displeased Amanda. You arrived here with a reservation for 2 people made via a booking.com affiliate. You were 3 people and it was impossible to accommodate you in the room you had booked. We did our best to help you find other accommodations. We even offered you two rooms at a discounted price. Still that was...

North Bay, Canada
Reviewed 6 May 2013

April 2013 Very welcoming, very comfortable, great breakfasts and a sitting area which was comfortable on a cold afternoon and evening. The spring flower garden was a sight and there was memorable bird watching at breakfast. Thanks from 2 grandparents and a teenage grand daughter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janetmz
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

From one grandparent to another, it is the small things ;-) that always makes a difference in life and then often it is the larger things in life that keeps us going. Like grandparents, kind souls and kindred spirits. It helps when we meet such wonderful people in our travel of life. Thank you for your kindness. Thank you for...

Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Grandma's Tea Room Hi Cindy & Guy, Thank-you for squeezing us into your busy family day!!! Greatly appreciated! and Thank-you, Thank-you for the lovely tea Saturday afternoon with my Mom & friends. :) Everyone was so very pleased with the wonderful amazing, tasty scones, sandwiches and sweets. They raved on as we drove home...you should both be smiling!!!! My friends...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2015AlohaTouristHome
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your most wonderful review. It is family tea times that I remember most often. I'm so glad I have a spot where you can come, sit a spell, have tea and enjoy the gardens and birds from the tea room, it is such a touch. The details, they are what I'd expect and my vision if I'd...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
3.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 23 in Charlottetown
208 reviews
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
3.7 km away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#11 of 23 in Charlottetown
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
697 reviews
12.1 km away
Brackley Beach Hostel
Brackley Beach Hostel
#7 of 14 in Charlottetown
19 reviews
2.3 km away
A Country Home Bed & Breakfast
A Country Home Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 44 in Charlottetown
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recommended & conveniently located on the Trail, 4/10/20/30 minutes to the airport, downtown Charlottetown, PEI beaches & Cavendish. Comfortable describes our 2 rooms with 2 singles, a full bath/shower and sitting room. The B&B also has 2 rooms with doubles on the main floor, 2 baths and sitting room. This is a private bath for a family renting two rooms. Package PEI starts with a tea pot tour of our organic perennial gardens, following with the best tea, scones & cream at Grandma's Tea Room (on premises) ending with a make and take scrapbook event sure to please. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast

Address: 545 Malpeque Rd Rte 2 | PO Box 154, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Price Range: €38 - €78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beside The Trail Bed And Breakfast Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any one of them - they're all wonderful!! Be adventurous!!”
debbiew834, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Shared bathroom with huge shower.”
794danar, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the ground floor.”
TerryrdBaker, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you get easily scared Guy will remove the spider from the wall. I've slept in a room with a shrunken head so it did not bother me.”
249marshallk, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We were there in the middle of a heatwave. The room fan was a bit loud but the bed's were super comfortable (second floor - 2x single)”
mchase68, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Agoda.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Hotwire.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates