We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre

Expedia.comUS$126*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$130*
US$126*
US$130*
US$126*
US$126*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

785 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 777: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre
 Click to rate
St Albert
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel for the pool experience to find that it is being renovated. Disappointing but we were given a room upgrade and free breakfast. The restaurant food was ok and portions are large. However we had to return the pizza because it was not cooked. The waitress was awesome and gave us a discount on our bill. Overall...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank veteran2008
Management response:

Good Day I apologize that our pool was under renovations, never a convenient time to do this work as someone will always be disappointed however the results will be well worth it. I am delighted to hear that you were upgraded and given complimentary breakfast for this inconvenience. I have spoken with the kitchen about insuring the products they are...

Winnipeg, Canada
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This has been our hotel of choice for the past three years and it has never disappointed. The facilities and guest rooms are very clean and well maintained and the scenery surrounding the property is breathtaking. All of the staff are warm, friendly and courteous and they ensure that each guest is made to feel valued and welcomed. The food...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sweetlilmousie
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Management response:

Being considered your home away from home is such a compliment to us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us year after year. Your comfort is so important to us. Your business and loyalty is vital to our success and it is our pleasure to serve you to the high standard that you expect. Your recommendation to your family...

Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Goes above and beyond to ensure that the guests are comfortable. Restaurant is excellent for all meals. Staff is amazingly friendly, and caring. Always pleasant, always smiling. Looking forward to doing it all again next year.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vera D
Management response:

Good Day Vera Thank you for choosing to stay with us, your business is important to our success. Thank you too for the wonderful compliments about our staff and food offerings. We look forward to serving you again next year. Have a great summer Roberta Sawchyn, CHA General Manager

Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

So inconsiderate and completely inexcusable. We were excited to travel and we chose this hotel based on their pool, spa and sauna. After driving for hours, we checked in and were informed at the desk by a small sign that the pool was closed. 2 kids, pouring rain, and no pool! Desk staff blamed the website for 'not putting it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JPonlineactive
Management response:

Good Day I tried to research your reservation by this review signature however we cannot identify who you are. I am not sure which website you booked through as it is clearly posted on our Best Western site as well as Expedia, Booking.com and others that our pool was closed for maintenance. However, this does not in any way rectify...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has excellent staff. We stayed in a suite with excellent features. The living area was very functional and bright with a view to wide open space with pond and lawn. Parking was adjacent to the room. The bedroom was roomy with large bed, TV and night stands. The bathroom was very bright with large shower with multiple water...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank roy662
Management response:

Good Day Roy Thank you for such wonderful compliments about our staff. I am delighted that you enjoyed one of our suites and found it so comfortable. What our guests have to say about us is so important and I will be sure to let our staff know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. We appreciate your business...

Winnipeg
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just in ThunderBay for the weekend, for a wedding. Hotel is close to airport and the Country Club venue. Was disappointed to know there were no discounts due to the pool and hot tub being out of commission. At least if we were discounted, our invoiced didn't reflect that. :( The hotel presents as a motel, in appearance, so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiniBuddha
Management response:

Good Day Thank you for choosing to stay with us as our property was close to your wedding venue. I wanted to check your reservation to see if it was discounted at all for the inconvenience of the pool being closed for renovations and painting. Please send me your contact information to rsawchyn@bwplusnorwester.com. I am pleased that you found our...

Mississauga, Ontario
Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel through Thunder Bay often and always try to stay at the Best Western Plus NorWester because the staff are so helpful, pleasant, and knowledgeable. The rooms are always very clean and well equipped with nice linens and a very comfortable bed. The restaurant has very good food and the staff there are also very pleasant. Prices are reasonable...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kbrownlee22
Management response:

Good Day Thank you for the awesome Trip Advisor review. We are delighted that you enjoy our property so much. Travelling can be hectic and the fact that you can relax in a clean friendly environment and enjoy the food is great. Delivering on Superior Customer Care is what our staff strive for everyday. The fact that you notice our...

Montgomery, Alabama
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This very attractive motel is right on the highway and is in a beautiful setting. They have a very inviting sitting area with a scenic view of the surroundings. The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. The room was attractive and very comfortable. We had made reservations on the road and got a great deal on our room. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good experience! We were having a conference there, tasty food, quiet rooms, although the pool was not available at the moment, I burnt some calories in the gym. Customer service is really nice and warm. "thumb up"

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bo Y
Management response:

Good Day Thank you for your wonderful Trip Advisor review of our property. Your opinion is important to our success. I apologize for the pool not being available due to upgrades and painting of the pool. Glad you were able to use our full service fitness centre. Thank you for recognizing our staff for their warm and nice customer service....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good experience - forced to stay in Thunder Bay for extra 2 days - due to no flights in and out of airport. Pleasant service, excellent rooms. Due to ice and snow storm, no venturing outside or sight seeing! Well, I was there for business ---

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank roelof2017
Management response:

Good Day Yes that was quite the ice storm, made for a crazy couple of days here in Thunder Bay. I am so glad that your experience with us was so positive. We tried our best here at the Nor'Wester to make the best of a bad situation. Thank you for your patience those two days. Thank you also for...

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (28)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
13.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
13.5 km away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
841 reviews
8.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 33 in Thunder Bay
210 reviews
8.2 km away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
1,415 reviews
12.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover this newly renovated Thunder Bay, Ontario hotel offering full-service accommodations near Fort William Historical Park, Loch Lommond ski resort, Thunder Bay Tournament Centre, and Kamview Nordic Ski Centre. Whether traveling for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Nor'Wester Hotel & Conference Centre has it all! Featuring an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, private steam and sauna rooms, and a full scale fitness centre. Situated in beautiful Thunder Bay, Ontario, this hotel provides guests with exceptional customer service, superb full-service amenities and an unbeatable Nor'Wester Mountain location, only 7 minutes from downtown. Guests will be treated to spacious guest rooms featuring cable television, Flat Screen TV's, Fridges, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Suites are also available to accommodate the entire family. For a more comfortable stay on the road, our well appointed standard rooms or our luxurious suites will meet or exceed your expectations. We look forward to your next stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 2080 Highway 61, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7J 1B8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Price Range: €86 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Best Western, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Nor`Wester Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre Canada/Thunder Bay
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Best Value Hotel in Thunder Bay
#2 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Plus Norwester Hotel & Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a mountain view”
MiniBuddha, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to request a room on the upper level with a mountain view if you are a nature lover...theres nothing like enjoying a morning coffee out on the balcony while watching the sun rise or enjoying a warm summer evening while listening to the geese frolicking in the pond..”
sweetlilmousie, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view of Mount McKay, and you will get a lovely balcony too”
Gardner19, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on the back side to get mountain views !”
slackn, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Love the staff!”
789bethb, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$126* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$126
TripAdvisorUS$126
HotelQuicklyUS$130
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates