We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Springbank House

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Springbank House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Springbank House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 67: English reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

We just came home from a wonderful weekend at Springbank House! It's honestly difficult for me to understand the poor reviews, because our experience of this place was absolutely unlike them. I was in touch with Andrea by phone and email to make our booking and to arrange a dinner, and she was gracious and helpful in every possible way....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank foodiechikTO
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Nice home with character and good ambiance. Our first B&B so perhaps we were expecting too much? Bed booked was queen but it ended up a double. AC was not great but it is an older house. Owners placed a fan in our room which was a nice touch .Sheets could use an upgrade. Overall nothing bad to say but...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gord S
Seckemer, Owner at Springbank House, responded to this review

Thank you Gord, for taking the time to share your 1-night experience, at Springbank House Inn. We are glad that you found us to be a good place to stay for 1-night during a weekend. Unfortunately, it seems that we did not meet all of your expectations. We offer a premium on the weekend rates for guests who wish to...

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Here are some of our first-hand experiences: The owners are NOT welcoming. They are officious, formal, cold, the worst hosts we've ever experienced in a privately owned house. It is NOT a B & B. You will pay $15.00 per person for a small croissant, coffee, canned or frozen orange juice, a tasteless fresh fruit salad (how can that be...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Beverley1112
Seckemer, Owner at Springbank House, responded to this review

Beverley, Beverley, Beverley, Where do we begin? We received a personal phone call for your reservation with lots of questions about Springbank House. The next day, we received a cancellation via phone & email. The following day, we received a follow up confirmation that you were indeed planning to stay with us. We were really happy to host you both...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 September 2015

My wife and I stayed for one night. We booked at the last minute and this was one of the few places around the area that had a vacancy. We pretty much used the place just to sleep - checked in around 3 PM, took a nap and went out around 5; came back around 11 PM and went to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jay59inPgh
Seckemer, Owner at Springbank House, responded to this review

Thank You for your comments Jayant! They were really appreciated. Accept our apologies if we did not formally introduce ourselves. We look forward to your next visit to Niagara & Springbank House!

Cherokee, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Read some previous negative reviews but decided to book anyway. The house is beautiful on exterior and landscaped nicely. Had booked on Expedia and reserved a deluxe room. Receipt stated we would be placed in either the magnolia or wisteria room. We were placed in a small room with a full sized bed. My Expedia receipt stated that the pet...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Amira2009
Seckemer, Owner at Springbank House, responded to this review

Hello Amira2009, You are right in that you received the one of our smaller rooms that is also quite comfortable. When you called the week prior to your arrival, we discussed the daily rate for 1 dog under 15lbs to be CAD$35.00. Sometimes, errors do occur on Expedia sites and we are happy to work with Expedia to correct them....

Schomberg, Canada
Reviewed 27 July 2015

The owners were lovely and the room was perfect. Huge bathroom and very homey. Cool in the heat and very inviting. Didn't notice if it had a TV but it had excellent free Wi-Fi and beautiful gardens. Downtown St. Catherine's was a short walk and everything we wanted was close by, although it all opens late on a Sunday. However,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gracklecoffee
Reviewed 13 July 2015

The room was great. Very clean and beautifully decorated. The location was quiet with no street noise. Beds were very comfortable. The house provided comfortable locations for conversations and the ability to reconnect with family. We opted for the hot breakfast option, which was a wise choice. The breakfast was well worth every penny. Absolutely delicious! The inn keepers quickly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim R
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 4 July 2015

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely bed and breakfast. Andrea and Stephen are gracious hosts and it felt like we were staying in a private home, not a hotel. The Magnolia room was very inviting; a good bed, and lovely ensuite bathroom. Springbank House is situated in a beautiful historic neighbourhood, within walking distance of downtown restaurants and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hollyhock04
Toronto
Reviewed 1 June 2015

My fiance and I stayed here over the weekend. While the room was very quaint and clean, and our initial impression was quite good, a number of things eventually left a sour taste in our mouths. The first thing was that we were blatantly over-charged. Our booking confirmation through hotels.com came up to $168 and change ($149 + 13% HST...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Butterfly_girl77
Seckemer, Owner at Springbank House, responded to this review

We are really sad to read that you were so dissatisfied with your 1 night stay with us. The 4 of us chatted for just under 1 hour on the Verandah and we all retired for the night in great spirits. The 10% fee is part of Important Notices on the Confirmed Reservation Summary and it is not part of...

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Springbank House offers a particular kind of stay that would be loved by some and perhaps less enjoyed by others. The house is very much a home: there are things lying around like a home, some of the fixtures and linens and things are more worn like a home and there are no locks on the doors. While my husband...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank buffyslayergal
Seckemer, Owner at Springbank House, responded to this review

Hello BuffySlayerGal, You are right as the property is a Heritage Home and the idea is to make guests feel, 'at home'; though in a luxurious setting. Again, you are accurate as there are no locks on the guestroom doors; only security chains or latches that can be used when guests are within the room. The front door is locked...

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Catharines
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
2.7 km away
Capri Inn
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
432 reviews
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN St Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
89 reviews
7.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,232 reviews
2.3 km away
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
#5 of 7 in St. Catharines
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Springbank House

Address: 68 Yates St, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 5R8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Price Range: €68 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Springbank House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Springbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Springbank House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make sure that if you chose a king size bed that it is one mattress!”
asmaragdi, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms look appear to be suites.”
ColleenB542, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Accessibility may be a problem as there are stairs.”
williamsI1449MI, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Check out ANY OTHER ACCOMMODATIONS possible in St,. Catherines. If none are available, SLEEP IN YOUR CAR!”
Beverley1112, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“No ac in this place!”
Amira2009, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotwire.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates