We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Swiss Hotel

Show Prices
#28 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Swiss Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 279: English reviews
Start your review of Swiss Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very cozy, clean, and comfortable place, with friendly staff. Everything is functional and the breakfast is worth splurging on. I felt at home. The only complaint I have is the lack of real creamer in the room (but the coffee itself is great!).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bru b
Sabina S, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for having stayed with us, and a special thank you for taking the time to leave this review! We would like to add for those concerned about the lack of creamer in the room, please do not hesitate to come down to the reception and we will be happy to fill a little creamer for you...

The Road
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

... you may find this hotel on the very short list of accommodation at which you can stay. If so, you could do worse! The owner is very nice, it's a heritage building, and the décor is very pleasant. Admittedly, it's the smallest hotel room in which I've ever stayed in North America (I've stayed in smaller in Japan), with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WandererOnTheRoad
Sabina S, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review! We are happy that you took advantage of our proximity to the Byward Market to grab your breakfast there (there are some amazing restaurants in Ottawa). To elaborate a bit for those who may be wondering - our rooms do not have drawers, but they all do have closets! Thank you again for...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first visit to this hotel based on the excellent reviews. They did not disappoint, even surpassed our high expectations. The attention to details and their amazing welcome really impressed us. We arrived in the room with an anniversary card and champagne bottles. The Jacuzzi suite is perfect and very romantic. The breakfast, served by the owner Sabina...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard7218
Sabina S, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing the Swiss Hotel as the place to celebrate your anniversary! Perhaps we will see you again, a happy year or two down the line! We wish you all the best.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

In town for a brief visit, our usual hotel was not able to book us for a one night stay so we settled on the Swiss Hotel on Daly Street and are glad we did. Our room, although on the small side, was clean, comfortable, and offered a complimentary iPad and internet connection. The $15 (+tax) breakfast was well worth...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rudysterr
Sabina S, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

We are very thankful that you took the time to leave us this kind review! We are more than happy that you found everything to be to your liking, and that you enjoyed our breakfast! We are very grateful that we were lucky enough to catch you this time you were in Ottawa, and hope perhaps the stars will align...

Montana
Reviewed 15 November 2016

I stayed here while attending a conference in the byward district. It's a great location- about a 5 min walk. My room was small, but fine for one person. The bathroom was very cute, and clean. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Having an iPad, coffee, and kettle in the room (plus chocolates) was a very nice touch. Being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LDarian
Sabina S, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a lovely review! We are really happy you enjoyed the amenities we've provided in the rooms. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Ottawa.

Alsip, Illinois
Reviewed 1 November 2016

If you're looking for modern elegance with an old-world emphasis on personal service, you have come to the right place. Throw in convenience to downtown Ottawa, and you have the Swiss Hotel. Our standard room on the first floor was small but adequate, with a beautifully remodeled bathroom. Being able to open the windows for fresh air overnight was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leland9552
Sabina S, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back at some point in the future!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We chose this hotel mainly for the location, walking distance to everything. Our room was lovely and clean and surprisingly quiet at night. It was comfy, spacious, the towels & bed linens all high quality. The Nespresso was a nice feature. We managed to get parking onsite as we didn't require our car during the stay. Staff were polite &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Britchick72
Sabina S, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing the Swiss Hotel, it was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again in the future. All the best to you both!

Reviewed 12 October 2016

For all those who say that Swiss Hotel is well-located, neatly furnished and has friendly staff, I'm in absolute agreement. My wife and I really loved the hotel especially the attention to detail in the cosy rooms. The breakfast cost $15 but was copious and had much variety. The staff look after everyone very well during the meal - almost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guy L
Sabina S, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, what we had on offer, and our location so thoroughly! We certainly hope to welcome you back next time your travels bring you through Ottawa again!

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Stayed one night for business - good location. Room was tiny, but clean (room 203). However, it was too light to sleep for more than an hour or so - although I was exhausted my brain woke me up 6 or 7 times during the night believing it was morning. Blinds and curtains were totally inadequate for the bright street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveloften399
Sabina S, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing the review. The clerk in question checked the lost and found immediately and searched your vacated room after the call ended, found nothing, left a note to see if the morning staff found anything and to call you back should it come up, and they did not find anything as well. We are sorry that you...

Caledonia, Canada
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Stayed here with friends for three nights. We had not been here for a number of years, and were surprised by the extra fees for breakfast and parking as in the past we did not pay, but no worries, the location still makes it worth it. The breakfasts were excellent and worth the extra fee. The rooms were comfortable, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
Sabina S, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! Unfortunately with the cost of food going up we had to adapt to the inflation and could no longer include it in our price. However we are happy to hear it was worth it. All the best to you, we hope to see you all again.

435 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (294)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room with Fireplace (46)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room with Fireplace (30)
Viewed
Jacuzzi Suite (54)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Plus Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (16)
Viewed
Superior Queen Room (18)
Viewed
Superior Queen Room with Fireplace (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#18 of 67 in Ottawa
164 reviews
ARC The Hotel
#20 of 67 in Ottawa
1,150 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
633 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 67 in Ottawa
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swiss Hotel is ideally located in downtown Ottawa in the heart of the Nation's Capital within easy walking distance to tourist attractions, shopping, restaurants, bars, and convention sites. This European-style boutique hotel has modern flair and offers its clients a warm, cozy and intimate accommodation experience with friendly service in a quiet, stress free environment. Each of the 22 rooms has private bathroom, A/C, European style white bedding that is 100% cotton with plush duvets, hardwood floors, free hi-speed wifi internet, an iPad and a Nespresso coffee machine in every room. For business or pleasure, choose from standard, superior, deluxe rooms with a fireplace or our romantic getaway suite with a double Jacuzzi. The hotel offers an optional healthy Swiss buffet breakfast, as well as opportunities for small meetings. The hotel also has a pretty courtyard garden patio for relaxation - a true oasis in the middle of the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Address: 89 Daly Ave., Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E6, Canada (Formerly Gasthaus Switzerland Inn)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: €111 - €191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Swiss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#14 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#21 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swiss Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Swiss Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rm (205) overlooked the quiet street, I could check on my car parked on the street. Parking is available on hotel property ($12).”
  • Breakfast table centre piece!
  • Very comfortable bed.
  • We loved the bright red tiles in the compact but well appointed bathroom.
  • Owner (Sabine) tells us about Ottawa & her renovated 22 room hotel.
 of 5 bubbles rudysterr, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Top floor is probably quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles LDarian, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 203 is too light to have a restful night”
 of 5 bubbles traveloften399, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early for a room on the 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles mandkmorrow, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There is no elevator in this 3-story hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles HansieDub, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5