We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown

Show Prices
#14 of 66 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

796 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 731: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Central location in Ottawa - warm & comfortable rooms - lots of space. Older style property but clean & staff friendly. Tim Horton downstairs with Starbucks & food places nearby. Quick walk even in the snow to rideau centre & parliament building

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 27fionas
Prince Albert, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Clean, quiet residence to stay while on business in Ottawa, in a great location and at a palatable price. It is within walking distance to any of the amenities downtown. I really enjoy the continental breakfast that is provided, it is in a very clean and quiet atmosphere and the staff is very caring.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank craig m
Mississauga, Ontario
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I read reviews on the hotel before we left so I wasn't too surprised. The entrance to the hotel is terrible no where to park car while you go into hotel and register, it was winter and there was snow so it was messy and there were other cars in the driveway at same time, appearance of hotel once inside...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra Y
St Catharines
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room suite was very spacious with all areas completely separated. The TV channel assortment was great. The lighting could have been better over the sitting area in particular in order to work and watch TV at the same time. The working desk was small and in a location detrimental to watching TV at the same time and was therefore...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wybren
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi wybren, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay with us. Glad you were able to enjoy our spacious room and the breakfast choices. Being in the downtown core all attractions are in proximity and glad you were able to enjoy the short walks to them. I have made a note on the lighting and we will work...

Surrey, British Columbia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Although in need of a facelift this all suites hotel is located close to so many of Ottawa's attractions. Breakfast included and a Tim Hortons in the lobby and a Starbucks just up the street. Front desk staff friendly and helpful and has a parade as well. Would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Echomama
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Echomama, Thanks for your comments and your stay with us. I appreciate your comments on all aspects of the Hotel . I am glad that the Desk staff were friendly and helpful. Please do stay with us again and we look forward to serving you . With kind regards, NR

Montreal, Quebec
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

While simple and not very fancy, the hotel was perfect. Things I loved -hearty gluten free bread, lemon slices and hot water, soya milk, hard boiled eggs, chamomile tea and spinach as options for breakfast (im a health nut and vegetarian) The sauna, pool and jacuzzi The mini kitchen in my room (sink, fridge, microwave, kettle, cutlery, etc) Big bath...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank danaa352
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi danaa352, Thank you for a great review and appreciate the time you took to post it!! It give me immense pleasure to read a nice review like yours. You took care of everything that is at the Hotel. While your comments on mini- serve packets of the confiture and cheeses etc is valid, due to the perception of hygiene...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is my go to hotel for my group when we travel to Ottawa. We get suites so we can hang out and not be sitting on someone else's beds. Rooms are HUGE. Breakfast is included and there are lots of options. I often stay for a week and I never eat the same thing two days in a row....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Casseynotclassy
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Casseynotclassy, I am so glad that you enjoyed the spacious room. Our associates take pride in providing the best services they can and you confirmed this !!! I am sorry about the gym being inadequate for you. Look forward to your next visit. With kind regards, NR

North Bay, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Perfectly located downtown Ottawa parking is all under ground and $23 per night. Suite is very large and spacious with a fully equipped kitchen. Great for families. Bed and living area is comfortable and room is clean. Will stay here again and bring my family!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maxine s
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi maxine s, Really a fantastic review by you and great to know that you will bring your family here on your next visit to Ottawa!!! We always like to hear from satisfied guests as that is our motivation!! Thank you and regards, NR

Batemans Bay, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had heaps of room for our family of four, a very large lounge room and bed room. The kitchen was also well equipped. The included breakfast was a huge surprise, not just the sweet pastries and cheap coffee but a smorgasbord of good food. The soft drinks and nibbles on Monday night was also a welcome surprise thrown in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John O
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi John O, So happy that you enjoyed your stay, the breakfast and the RIMix offerings which are usually on Mondays, Tuesday and Wednesdays. It gives us immense pleasure to have you write this, as it encourages all of us to continue to do what we like to do best, serve our guests well. Please do come again and we...

Fredericton, New Brunswick
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect business traveler location. Close to just about everything. Good family spot too. Hockey teams and other sports teams. The rooms are all nice and large, plenty of room to roam around. Close to Parliament Hill and the National War Memorial.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UHEW
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi UHEW, Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on the Hotel. Glad you were able to visit the Parliament Hill and the museums which are all in close proximity. We look forward to another visit. Regards, NR

335 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (King) (35)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (King Corner) (47)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (Two Queen Beds) (30)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Studio (King) (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 66 in Ottawa
1,923 reviews
Lord Elgin
#18 of 66 in Ottawa
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 66 in Ottawa
893 reviews
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#9 of 66 in Ottawa
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown

Address: 161 Laurier Ave W, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5J2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: €115 - €247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#25 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Watch out for hockey teams staying over!”
 of 5 bubbles 27fionas, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Very spacious although comforter for bed could have been a bit heavier”
 of 5 bubbles wybren, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Given checkout is 12noon, unsure why housekeeping knocked on the door at 930am to ask when we were leaving. Felt pressured to leave. ”
 of 5 bubbles 22gillybean, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Yes, tip the Room attendant, the houseperson delivering your requests, the staff taking care of breakfast...”
 of 5 bubbles francisbl2016, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are kept at 72, too cold and when you turn up the heat the fan is way too loud. The hot tub was not hot! The sheets were too cold. I had to wear socks to bed every night!”
 of 5 bubbles 39sherii, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay