We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown

Residence InnUS$160*
View Deal
#14 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$169*
US$160*
Great Deal
US$165*
US$165*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

866 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Start your review of Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
 Click to rate
Saint-Basile-le-Grand, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location on Laurier, walking distance to most locations. The hotel is clean, efficient, with good service. One bedroom suites with kitchenettes. Free breakfast, just acceptable. Access to a Tim Horton's from inside the hotel. Have stayed here on several occasions and will do so again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen. t
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ottawa is a fantastic city and this hotel made the experience even better. Its right downtown close to parliament, shopping mall, and many other great things to see. The breakfast was amazing! A great variety of all sorts of breakfast options (the waffles were my favorite). The room was big with a kitchenette which was great. The service was awesome...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paigeferguson377
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi paigeferguson377, Ottawa is a great and friendly city and thank you for vouching for our city which we are all proud of!! We're so happy that you had a great stay and enjoyed our breakfast. Thank you for reaffirming our commitment to service our guests which we all enjoy! Do visit us again . With kind regards, NR

Digby, Nova Scotia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location, close to Parliament Hill and museums, walking distance to all. Nice rooms, friendly staff, no complaints!!Nice to have breakfast included, good selection.The bed was a little too soft so I used the pullout and was fine.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lynnewin
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi lynnewin, Thanks for your nice comments after your stay with us. While the beds are fairly new, they are Residence inn standards and some guests do look for a firmer mattress. I am glad your stay was to your satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you again . With kind regards, NR

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent location. Good breakfasts. Comfortable beds. Some furnishings and decor a little tired. Staff was most helpful. We loved the option to forego daily room cleaning, clean towels and sheets in return for a voucher for Starbucks. We don't change our sheets at home every day so why waste all that soap and water in washing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 992mlb
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi 992mlb, Thank you for the nice comments after your stay with us. We're glad you participated in our Green initiative and glad everything with your stay worked to your satisfaction. We look forward to your stay again in the future. With kind regards, NR

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

First time in Ottawa & spent it for Easter weekend & my 2nd wedding anniversary. The hotel was in an ideal location & was able to walk everywhere I wanted. I want to send a big thank you to Doug at the front desk for not only upgrading myself & my husband to a king suite which was amazing but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Snovaaa34
Douglas C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Snovaaa34, Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us from your stay at the Residence Inn downtown Ottawa! I am so pleased that we played a part of your celebrations, and you enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure to provide you a comfortable room, and I am happy you enjoyed the dessert treat! Please let us...

Longueuil
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well situated hotel. Nice hotel staff. Other than a couple of small bumps we very much enjoyed our stay. Small bumps: due to heavy traffic in pool, no towels were available. Advised front desk. 30 minutes later wanted to leave pool but still no towels. Dripping, went back up to front desk and re-requested towels. They finally arrived some 45...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SharonLongueuil
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi SharonLongueuil, Glad you found the hotel well situated and thank you for your kind comments on the staff. I am sorry about the two negative situations at the Hotel. We are committed to good service and so we have taken the corrective measures. Thank you for your patience and understanding as it is our commitment to have all our...

Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the stay at the Residence. Friendly service, clean rooms, and great breakfast! Just 5 mins away from the Parliament and other attractions. Great value deal and recommended for a family stay in Ottawa.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Prasad J
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Prasad J, We're glad you loved your stay with us and thank you for recommending us. We're also happy that you enjoyed our friendly city. We look forward to your future visits. With kind regards, NR

Bedford, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We just spent Easter weekend in Ottawa at this property. We had 2 and 1 bedroom suites. Although the suites were very large and spacious, they are in need of a major updating. The rooms are carpeted, and the carpeting looks worn, tired and not so clean. The fitness center equipment is also old, and all of the TV screens...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Farah1234567
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Farah1234567, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay with us. I am sorry if we did not meet your expectations of our rooms. While we are an older generation of Residence Inns, the second in Canada, we try and keep our rooms as clean. Having a high usage of our rooms we will be due for a...

Utica, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently made the trip to Ottawa for a concert, and chose this hotel based on other experiences with Residence Inns. We were very pleased with the location, service, and room in Ottawa. The parking garage was a very big benefit of the hotel, and the location was wonderful. We would definitely stay there again of we find ourselves in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beckyj125
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Hi beckyj125, Thank you for visiting our really friendly city, Ottawa! We thank you for staying with us and our city has very exciting things happening for the 150th Anniversary of Canada. Please do look this up on Ottawa Tourism. We are well located for all the places of interest and festivals. Look forward to another visit soon! Thank you...

Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Coffee machine didn't work in the room Didn't have hand towels and face cloths, we had to ask the maid. Very good location Breakfast very popular. Food was missing and the staff could not refresh food fast enough.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elisehebert
Douglas C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review

Dear elisehebert, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on the TripAdvisor site. We hope that you had a safe trip home. I am happy to hear that the room was clean, however I am disappointed to hear that your coffee maker didn't work, and there were issues with supplies. If you had a chance to contact...

335 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (King) (35)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (King Corner) (47)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (Two Queen Beds) (30)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Studio (King) (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
122 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown

Address: 161 Laurier Ave W, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5J2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: €120 - €246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#25 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
1alwaystraveling Richmond, Virginia Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

If you call ahead you can ask. Often they can accommodate early check in and all you have to do is ask. If you are a Marriott customer previously and have a membership account (free and just gives you points for stays, the higher tier you are the more points you get) give them your club number. I believe if you are flying with United Airlines and are a silver or gold member they have a program with Marriott that you will instantly be the same tier with them. They do have enough spaces to hold your luggage also and the people working there are very nice, so I do not think they would have any issue with it.

8 months ago
Colchester, Vermont
Douglas C Ottawa, Canada Property representative
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Hi GreenVTtraveler,

We have plenty of space in our 1 bedroom suites for bikes to be kept in the room, however if you like, we also have a bike storage room. The room is secure, and is located on the 4th floor (same floor as the guest reception).

Please let me know if you need anything further!

Douglas Crosbie

Guest Services Manager

9 months ago
N R Property representative
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

The pool is open 6am to 10pm. There is extra adult charges only if the kids are over 18 or there are four adults. So you will only be charged the regular room rate otherwise.

Hope this answers your questions

3 months ago
Canada
9 months ago
Momof2Paris_Boston Paris/Boston Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

I don't know, but the management and front desk people are super nice, and responsive. I am sure if you called them, they would be happy to help you.

8 months ago
N R Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Hi

There is limited oversize parking available behind the hotel. The garage however, takes vehicles up to 6' 2 ". The daily parking rate is $23 plus tax.

I hope this answers your question.

3 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Would recommend that one ask for a room with a view.”
stephent41, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The corner rooms are larger than others. Elevators tend to be noisy so ask for room away from them”
jeaneneh2017, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are very spacious. Would have liked to stay longer ”
abbottlind, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Large suite with separate bedroom inclusions a space for a working desk. It is always equiped with kitchen which has all the needed instruments to cook. ”
pierredB85VU, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great room, top notch staff, great location.”
boulas, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Residence Inn
US$160* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$165
Hotels.comUS$165
TripAdvisorUS$160
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates