We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

453 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 442: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I found this hotel lived up to its advance billing. It was convenient to both in town and neighboring points of interest. We enjoyed awesome bakery treats from a nearby source (one block away) and great food from several establishments within walking distance. A restaurant not to be missed is to be found at the golf course...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gloria J
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Gloria, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our team appreciate your kind words. I'm glad to hear that our hotel was so convenient for you for exploring the town. Our waffles are definitely a big hit with guests and with our numerous toppings, guests can change it up every morning! Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is very basic. It really lacks the details to make it a nice hotel. The room had an odd smell. The heating/cooling unit was loud and not automatic. It was a manual on and off. The tub didn't drain and the shower head was clogged. Bathroom fan was very loud. Linens and towels were of average quality. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelDad26
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of my entire team, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Please contact me at 905-468-3251 or derrick@colonelbutlerinn.com as I would appreciate the chance to talk to you about your stay. I would also like to make sure that the guest room issues you mention are resolved. We appreciate your feedback and I look forward...

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed here for a family wedding near by. Place was clean , great staff and nice rooms. No elevator so hauling luggage up to second floor was a chore. Overall very cozy nice place. We had the larger room with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Would stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 110vincem
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while attending a wedding in town. Our team strives to provide exceptional service and cleanliness. I can understand that taking luggage up to the second floor can be an inconvenience. We are always here to help guests with luggage and we can place guest in first floor rooms if they...

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 8 January 2017

After an apparent mix up with our room booking, the night manager, Darren, was extremely helpful and went the extra distance to make it right. Much appreciated. The front desk manager the next morning personally brought up a hair dryer after the in room unit was malfunctioning, and very quickly. The breakfast was somewhat limited the morning we were there,...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P2098BTrichardm
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will always do what we can to make something right and ensure guests have an enjoyable stay. I'm sorry about the hairdryer, it turns out it was just the reset button at the outlet. We hope you'll stay with us again when visiting Niagara. Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This hotel is definitely not a 3 star hotel. We''vet stayed in many hotels in the area with the same rating and this hotel was nowhere near the others. The decor is shabby and old, in great need of some updating. The carpet in our room was torn and lifted. The staff did a very poor job of freshening up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bferrar0
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am very sorry for our hotel not meeting your expectations and for the issues during your visit. I will review your comments with our housekeeping team as we take great pride in our cleanliness standards. And we have actually begun updating our property so I...

Cameron
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn over Christmas. Convenient location, Reasonable rates. Comfortable rooms. Free parking. Friendly and accommodating staff. A tasty, filling breakfast was included: freshly baked muffin assortment, plus fruit, yogurt selection, make your own waffles with their waffle maker, etc. plus beverages. Worth the breakfast alone! There is a restaurant on the premises that makes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcat0
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind words, calling us a "gem". I'm glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay and dining experiences. We're fortunate to have a couple of restaurants around the hotel, including Butler's Bar with their wood oven pizzas that you mention. And yes, the nearby Willowcakes & Pastries bakery makes a great stop for treating yourself. Derrick...

Uxbridge, Canada
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Another great stay at the Colonel Butler Inn. Room was spacious and clean. Hotel staff is always friendly, efficient and very accommodating. Hotel manager is very attentive to details making sure that you have everything you need. Adjacent restaurant is newly renovated and great place for pizza and wings. We look forward to our return trip.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maxine H
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Maxine, thank you for your compliments and for being a loyal Colonel Butler Inn guest. I'm glad you enjoyed your dining experience at the newly renovated Butler's Bar. It was a pleasure having you stay with us again and I hope to see you again soon! Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Reviewed 1 January 2017

After a long drive the hotel staff were brilliant and the room just what we needed. The hotel was easy to find - even in the fog and next to several places to eat, including its own bar and grill. This was our first visit to Canada and we would certainly return to both the hotel and the town. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Keith, I'm glad you had such an enjoyable stay! I hope you had some great experiences for your first visit to Canada. We look forward to your next visit. Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 31 December 2016

We had booked our rooms in advance, but failed to mention that we had a dog. When we arrived the staff not only accommodated us, but brought out a doggie toy too! The beds were pretty good. The breakfast room was tight but people moved through fairly quickly and the make-your-own waffles are a nice touch. I must say that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pbolland
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I'm glad that we were able to accommodate your dog. We love having dogs here but unfortunately we only have one dog-friendly room so it can be booked far in advance. Our hallway carpets have actually just been replaced and we'll be doing some more updates through-out the slower months...

Hamilton area
Reviewed 30 December 2016

A 2 day get away from the normal routine right after Christmas. Always fun to visit shops we like, wineries, and quality dining experiences. To be able to walk to dining establishments and be able to enjoy wine etc. with dinner is a bonus. No restrictions because you have to drive.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgesL7188MB

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
12.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,191 reviews
1.1 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,541 reviews
0.7 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,364 reviews
1.3 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
880 reviews
1.6 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Colonel Butler Inn offers an atmosphere of comfort and friendly service with affordable rates for visiting Niagara on the Lake. Accommodations are tastefully appointed, spacious and are well suited for couples, families, and groups. Rates always included our enhanced continental breakfast, parking, and wireless internet access. Plus, the hotel offers a convenient location for visting the town's numerous wineries, outstanding restaurants, wonderful shopping, and the renowned Shaw Festival theatre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn

Address: 278 Mary Street | PO Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: €87 - €219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel Butler Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Best Western Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Best Western
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Needs updating Definitely not a 3 star”
 of 5 bubbles bferrar0, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bottom floor is better for those with walking, climbing issues.”
 of 5 bubbles mcat0, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you have a lot of stuff, ask for a main floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles S533CHlindam, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The suites are bigger and nicer but standard rooms are good too”
 of 5 bubbles OptiBill2002, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No elevators, so if disabled request ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles JanSim2014, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5