We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Save
Share
6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2 Canada
12 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$166
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$163
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
Orbitz.com
US$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
TravelocityUS$163
Hotels.comUS$163
Trip.comUS$173
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2189)
Room & Suite (1246)
Dining (20)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 21/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#27 of 125 hotels in Niagara Falls
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Hindi, Korean and 1 more
7176Reviews57Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,159
  • 2,098
  • 1,278
  • 811
  • 830
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lynne1964 wrote a review 16 Aug
Barrie ON54 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
We booked this hotel in April, they changed our package multiple times! When arrived, we loaded the cart and took the elevator to our floor, we could not find our room. We talked to housekeeping and were told we we were in the economy section…cost for room was $350!!! We could not take the cart as there were stairs! Room was very old, ripped and torn curtains, bed was so old my husband sat on it and rolled off! I called front desk and asked for a different room. We were moved to main tower. Room still does not look like photos! Holes in the wall, damaged furniture, top sheet over duvet not cover over duvet..linen shortage? Key card didn’t work, housekeeping got us in, tried to call front desk and phone didn’t work! They brought us up a new key, I asked them if this room was worth $350? Answer was no mam. We discovered our package changed again! We had made reservations at restaurant that was part of package, but it was no longer in the package!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t stay here!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PiaMartinez wrote a review 14 Aug
Manila28 contributions29 helpful votes
Great view of the falls. We were on 11th floor. The room is really outdated I have to say, the carpet are not comfortable when stepping in, we paid $450/night but we are after the falls view so even if the rooms are not that good, for us its still worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michelle S wrote a review 8 Aug
Greater Sydney, Australia38 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed in king room with view. It was so special to have a falls view from the room. The room itself was nice but quite dated. This was a little disappointing given the price. Service was good. The shuttle bus service goes a long way around but fortunately it’s an easy walk down to the falls.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
DayTrip269919 wrote a review 1 Aug
2 contributions3 helpful votes
This hotel was as good as an Econolodge. Spare yourself and go somewhere else. View was good. Curtains did not close well and room smelled. We rushed out without taking advantage of Applebee's breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachit Khendry, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls. I apologize about the minor issues in your room. Please do get in touch with me directly so I can get some more information and resolve the issue pertaining to the room you stayed in.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul A wrote a review Jul 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom18 contributions17 helpful votes
Stayed for one night last week with a room overlooking the falls. The view from the room did not disappoint especially with the light display in the evening and the firework display at 10pm. The room was reasonable and much better than the Chelsea Hotel in Toronto. The downside is that it is basically a room only form of accommodation and as such the check in and lobby area are quite drab. But the room we had was clean and with the view we can't complain.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Go for a high floor with Falls view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachit Khendry, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the fantastic view from your Fallsview room. we also apologize for any inconvinience during your stay. We look forward to your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cathy H wrote a review Jul 2022
Gravenhurst, Canada2 contributions3 helpful votes
I have stayed at hundreds of hotels. The Oakes is one of the worst that I've ever come across. My friends and I prechecked in at 11:00 in the morning for two rooms that were supposed to be ready at 4:00 p.m. We went out and enjoyed the afternoon and went back to the hotel after 4:00 to be provided one room and the second room was not ready and management informed us that they were short staffed. While we understand this and the reasons for it we do not understand how they were letting other guests into their rooms while we were still waiting some five hours later. We were going to a concert at 9:00 at the casino and needed to get ready. We finally received our second room at 8:50pm. Management refused to provide us a discount or anything to compensate us for this issue. The restrooms in the hotel lobby were disgusting although we had been told that they had been cleaned three times. Very unlikely. There were four of us in our party and not one of us will ever stay here again or recommend it to anyone. I am usually easy to get along with and cooperative but I just found this totally unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachit Khendry, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. While we strive to make every stay fantastic, we sometimes fall short. 100% guest satisfaction is our goal and we will work diligently to improve the areas you have mentioned. We hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashish G wrote a review Jul 2022
McKinney, Texas1 contribution3 helpful votes
Stayed here in July 2022. Everything, other than the good view of Niagara falls, is below average. The rooms are old, facilities are minimal, staff is not very friendly. Had to call up the front desk multiple times to get anything done. For example, I asked for fresh bath towels and after a reminder, someone left 3 small hand towel at the door. Remember that this is not a cheap hotel at $ 500 a night. For the same price that we paid here, we could have booked at the Mariott but decided to stay at the Oakes due to slight advantage it has in terms of the view. Won’t be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachit Khendry, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the view of the falls during your stay. We also apologize for any inconveniences during your stay and we assure you that your feedback will be used to improve our services. We hope that you will give us another chance and stay at The oakes Hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruaridh W wrote a review Jul 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 nights, the view was the only good thing. The room was very old, a clear stain on a part of the wallpaper, the furnishings, bashed and used. Overall, the room wasn’t nice. Whether it was the beds not feeling clean, the chair in the room being broken, which ultimately was a safety risk as one of our party could have fallen off it, due to the angle. The bathroom sink, didn’t work properly, due to it not being able to hold water. We had to call for assistance for it to get fixed. This should have been checked before the room was ready! I would never ever stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: A $35 charge for parking per day.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachit Khendry, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. We'd be more than happy to talk to you and assist you further with this issue. Please feel free to reach us at +1 (905) 356 8490 and ask for one of our managers. Once again we appreciate you taking your valuable time to review us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
atta kakra wrote a review Jul 2022
Toronto, Canada1 contribution2 helpful votes
My husband, 7month old, 5 yr old son, and I stayed at this hotel for one night on July 2nd-3rd. Thankfully, we only stayed for one night as the room was horrible. I will say that the staff was nice. The room was tiny and very outdated, The bathroom was the biggest disappointment as the bathtub was disgusting and needed to be resealed as there were pockets of bubbles that you could feel and felt like they were going to pop at any moment. I made sure my family and I wore slippers in the tub and around the room. I made sure to also bring a few cleaning supplies to do my own cleaning which was important. There was no iron available and I did not realize that until the Sunday morning before I was about to check and needed to iron my clothes. I called down and they had someone bring one up to me within 10 minutes which was good. They had first asked me to check the closet and I told them there was no closet in the room lol! The mini-fridge was dirty between the gaskets and had crumbs from previous guests which was gross. The ceiling had cobwebs swinging from side to side especially when the AC was on with the wind blowing. I will say that the location of the hotel is pretty good as it is close to many restaurants. I would not return to this hotel and felt the almost $600 that was paid for the room was money wasted. The fact that several other guests staying at the hotel at the time were equally as disgusted and shared our sentiments tells you a lot. I would call this building more of a motel/hostel because it needs serious renovating/updating for the prices they charge.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachit Khendry, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. We'd be more than happy to talk to you and assist you further with this issue. Please feel free to reach us at +1 (905) 356 8490 and ask for one of our managers. Once again we appreciate you taking your valuable time to review us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marcia O wrote a review Jul 2022
Oxford175 contributions145 helpful votes
+1
Agree with a lot of the comments on here. We were in a jacuzzi suit with views room. Breathtaking views, comfortable bed. Disappointed no tea or coffee in room. Aircon was a bit noisy and the hotel is tired and could do with upating. Car parking 70$ for 2 nights was steep. Checkin was quick and staff very helpful. The view made up for any shortfals, kept the curtains open all night and enjoyed the sunrise to.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachit Khendry, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good Afternoon! Thank you for taking the time to review The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the fantastic view from your Fallsview room. We also apologize for any inconvenience during your stay and we promise you that your feedback will be used to advance our services. We look forward to your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$125 - US$260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
oakes hotel overlooking falls, oakes hotel niagara falls
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioNiagara Falls
NUMBER OF ROOMS
237
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Which popular attractions are close to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
Nearby attractions include Niagara Falls Canada (0.3 km), Horseshoe Falls (0.3 km), and Journey Behind the Falls (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
Conveniently located restaurants include Milestones, Il Gelato di Carlotta Niagara Falls, and Morton's Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, Hindi, Korean, and Ukrainian.
Are there any historical sites close to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lundy's Lane Battlefield (1.4 km), Chippawa Battlefield Park (5.6 km), and Toronto Power Generating Station (1.1 km).
Does Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.