We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Spicers Sangoma Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Spicers Sangoma Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 247: English reviews
Start your review of Spicers Sangoma Retreat
 Click to rate
Maryvale
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Top Class eco minded resort set in stunning bush location. Took a couple of friends and wasn't disappointed. Very hot at this time, and they don't have air conditioning (part of the eco focus), but plenty of ceiling fans. Wendy, our hostess, kindly switched our booked accommodation to the escarpment side which has less direct sun, so that helped a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennie & Tony B
Wendy M, General Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Jennie & Tony B Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us recently, together with your friends from Sydney. We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience here and are delighted to read that we didn't disappoint! I have passed your very kind words on to the rest of the Sangoma...

Reviewed 7 February 2017

My partner and I booked in for 2 nights at the Sangoma Retreat this last Friday and Saturday and we had a such a great time! It was our first time to the region, and we found it easily accessible via train and cab within an hour and a half from Sydney Central. We were greeted by the lovely host...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Allia_AM
Wendy M, General Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Daniel_Allia_AM Thank you for staying at Sangoma Retreat recently and for taking the time to post such a glowing and comprehensive review of your experience! I am so pleased to hear that your partner and yourself had such a wonderful time here. The team and I are very proud of this beautiful property and the delivery of an exquisite...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We spent one night at Sangoma and stayed in the Escarpment Suite. My first tip would be that one night isn't enough - two would be perfect. Overall this is a luxury child free accommodation and experience and in every way the experience lived up to my high expectations. The property itself is stunning - both the rooms, shared lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GelatoP
Wendy M, General Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review

Dear GelatoP Thank you so much for staying at Sangoma recently and for taking the time to post such a lovely review - we really do appreciate it. I am very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and that we lived up to your expectations in every way. The Team and I are very proud to...

Northwood, Australia
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We only spent one night at Spicer's Sangoma, a birthday treat for my wife, however in that brief time it exceeded expectations. Lunch on arrival followed by a relaxing afternoon and then dinner that evening made for a wonderful stay. Sam, the chef, greeted us on arrival and his cooking skills certainly matched his hospitality skills. The food is adventurous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
Wendy M, General Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Russell Thank you for staying at Sangoma last weekend to celebrate your wife's birthday and for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here so much and will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to Sam, Fern and the rest of the Team. We look forward to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Very peaceful retreat, a real occasion for a complete replenishing with mother nature. Birds, crickets, sound of the wind on each leaves' trees makes you feel purify,calm and serene all along your weekend. We had the chance to sleep in the escarpment room which is supply with a big terrace in the middle of the trees and only the trees!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SebastienCrs
Wendy M, General Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review

Hi SebastienCrs Thank you so much for staying with us last weekend and for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Sangoma. We are indeed very lucky to be in such an idyllic spot just an hour or so from Sydney. The Team and I really appreciate reading all of your wonderful comments, it was truly our...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

I have visited Spicers Sangoma twice before and this time was just as amazing. We were greeted at the drive way and taken up to the guest lounge to enjoy some bubbles on the deck over looking the beautiful rolling hills with Sydney city on the horizon. We stayed in one of the newest rooms which was so beautiful! Day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mercho37
Reviewed 12 November 2016

This is a small boutique type of retreat with only a few rooms and a small intimate restaurant. The rooms are beautifully decorated with large bay windows towards the forest. This is a place to rest and unwind.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helena P
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

My partner and I stayed here in October after a very stressful 30 hours of flying from London to Sydney.. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed with a (very much needed) glass of bubbles by Rhiannon, who showed us to our room, kindly offered to lit our rooms log fire, and practically looked after our every need throughout our stay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexanderlpo
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

This was our first stay at Spicers and we did not really know what to expect. From when we first drove in to the property right to when we left all staff on site were very friendly and professional, and nothing was ever too much to ask for. The cabin we stayed in was luxurious and well fitted out. Alcohol...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emi B
Noosa, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at Spicers Sangoma. Having been to all the other Spicers Retreats, this was by far the best! The pool suit we stayed in was absolutely heaven! We didn't leave the property for the two days, it was so relaxing just to lay by the pool, read a book on our private deck, or curl up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R

232 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (212)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowen Mountain
32.9 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
536 reviews
31.9 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
33.3 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.3 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
34.3 km away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
30.5 km away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cocooned by the natural serenity of the Blue Mountains of New South Wales, a mere hour from Sydney, you'll find Spicers Sangoma Retreat. Aptly named after the Zulu word for healer, Sangoma is a place where you'll discover complete rejuvenation and true reconnection. As an eco-certified retreat, Spicers Sangoma Retreat features sauna facilities, infinity lap pool, open plan lounge and 5 suites that capture the beauty of the natural surrounds, making it an ideal setting for luxurious escapes, romantic getaways, intimate celebrations and anniversaries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spicers Sangoma Retreat

Address: 70 Grandview Lane, Bowen Mountain, New South Wales 2753, Australia (Formerly Sangoma Retreat)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Bowen Mountain
Price Range: €713 - €1,022 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spicers Sangoma Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Spicers Sangoma Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Spicers Sangoma Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms that face the escarpment are cooler”
 of 5 bubbles 208JandT, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are not air conditioned so ask for one that catches the afternoon breezes.”
 of 5 bubbles 639russellm, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were private and well appointed”
 of 5 bubbles MargaretK467, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Escarpment Suite during winter and the Chief Suite during summer for the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles _KK_Syd, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“They are all different so ask the manager when you book”
 of 5 bubbles PhilipKillcare, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5