We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Spicers Sangoma Retreat

Orbitz.comUS$695*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$1,122*
US$695*
US$1,122*
US$695*
US$1,122*
US$695*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Spicers Sangoma Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 255: English reviews
Start your review of Spicers Sangoma Retreat
 Click to rate
Cronulla, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from 2 nights at Sangoma ,and it was amazing. From the moment we drove through the gates we knew we were in for a treat. Sam the G.M welcomed us by name and wished my husband a Happy Birthday, ( lovely touch) he then took us out onto the amazing deck with views across the valley...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vickiillawong
SGiles70, General Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review

Thank-you Vickiaillawong, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and on behalf of all the team here we thank-you for coming and staying with us. All the staff love to hear great feedback and see that our guest are happy we look forward to welcoming you back to Sangoma in the future. Warm Regards Sam Giles

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent an excellent two nights at this wonderful Retreat. All of the staff led by Sam Giles the General Manger, are very professional, and very helpful and nothing is too much trouble to make ones stay a most enjoyable experience. The food and wine is also of a very high standard. The rooms provide a peaceful outlook either back towards...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne J
SGiles70, General Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review

Thank-you Wayne J for your feedback. It was lovely to have you both here and enjoy the escarpment suite. The staff love looking after our amazing guest and been part of the experience. We look forward to welcoming you both back. Warm Regards Sam Giles

Avalon Beach, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I arrived over Easter for 2 nights. We were overdue some rest and respite from work. From the moment we were welcomed at the door we felt totally looked after. The ambience, the art, the food and the good people who do everything to make sure you have all you require this place was a bit of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gailj798
SGiles70, General Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review

Thank-you Gailj798 for your feedback. We where glad to hear that you enjoyed your Easter Break the Chief suite has amazing panoramic views and as you mentioned the heated plunge pool is a real bonus. We hope we can welcome you back to Sangoma in the near future. Warm Regards Sam Giles

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't know about you, but setting off on a weekend away is truly beguiling . In no time at all we are buzzed through the large metal gates. Just 6 ccredited property. We did like the outlook when standing on the generous deck, the sliding doors totally ajar to catch any zephyr of breeze and birdsong. ^.. am revelry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eli B
SGiles70, General Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review

Thank-you Eli B for your poetic response, we would gladly have you here for a week. It is so relaxing listening to all the birds and sounds here at Sangoma and we hope that we can see you back here in the future. Warm Regards Sam Giles

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Loved this time out luxurious retreat. We had the only place with a heated private pool and it was wonderful. Even though there are other couples there , you would not know as freedom to choose when to dine etc Expensive but wonderful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heatherandalliepalli
SGiles70, General Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review

Thank-you for your kind words, The Chief Suite is one of the most popular rooms. I am glad you got to enjoy it. We Look Forward to welcoming you back to Spicers Sangoma. Warm Regards Sam Giles

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Chief's Suite for one night. The retreat not only provided excellent meals including lunch, dinner and next day morning breakfast but also a wide range of wines and drinks for all guests. Secondly, the staffs there are nice and friendly. Sam, who is the manger of the retreat showed his warm welcoming when we arrived and most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
SGiles70, Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review

Thank-you for providing your feedback, I am glad to hear that you found the property to meet your expectation. It was a pleasure having you both here and I will pass your feedback on to the rest of the team. Warm Regards Sam Giles

Tea Gardens
Reviewed 27 March 2017

A wonderful small, peaceful retreat with just that touch of luxury. The staff are the best, friendly, but professional with nothing appearing to be a problem - & what we found refreshing was that they were able to "cover" for each other. On our arrival, we were met by Sam the Chef (obviously everyone else was tied up) -he showed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MyallTeaGardens
SGiles70, General Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review

Thank-you MyallTeaGardens, for your feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Spicers Sangoma. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed Chef Sam's food and took the time to relax and enjoy your self. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 27 March 2017

The food, the rooms and the view - everything about Sangoma is fabulous. The service is exceptional, the staff is genuinely happy to help and exceed your expectations. It is the perfect getaway to relax and unwind as everything is taken care of for you. Also, it is all inclusive and lunch is 3 courses set menu and dinner 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka G
SGiles70, General Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review

Thank-you Agnieszka G for taking the time to provide your feedback, next time you will have to make sure you book in for 2 nights. I will pass your comments on to Chef Sam and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed his food. The staff here all love to hear good feedback and I will be sure to...

Maryvale
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Top Class eco minded resort set in stunning bush location. Took a couple of friends and wasn't disappointed. Very hot at this time, and they don't have air conditioning (part of the eco focus), but plenty of ceiling fans. Wendy, our hostess, kindly switched our booked accommodation to the escarpment side which has less direct sun, so that helped a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennie & Tony B
Wendy M, General Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Jennie & Tony B Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us recently, together with your friends from Sydney. We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience here and are delighted to read that we didn't disappoint! I have passed your very kind words on to the rest of the Sangoma...

Reviewed 7 February 2017

My partner and I booked in for 2 nights at the Sangoma Retreat this last Friday and Saturday and we had a such a great time! It was our first time to the region, and we found it easily accessible via train and cab within an hour and a half from Sydney Central. We were greeted by the lovely host...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Allia_AM
Wendy M, General Manager at Spicers Sangoma Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Daniel_Allia_AM Thank you for staying at Sangoma Retreat recently and for taking the time to post such a glowing and comprehensive review of your experience! I am so pleased to hear that your partner and yourself had such a wonderful time here. The team and I are very proud of this beautiful property and the delivery of an exquisite...

232 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (212)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowen Mountain
32.1 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
32.8 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
552 reviews
34.2 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
876 reviews
34.3 km away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
32.9 km away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cocooned by the natural serenity of the Blue Mountains of New South Wales, a mere hour from Sydney, you'll find Spicers Sangoma Retreat. Aptly named after the Zulu word for healer, Sangoma is a place where you'll discover complete rejuvenation and true reconnection. As an eco-certified retreat, Spicers Sangoma Retreat features sauna facilities, infinity lap pool, open plan lounge and 5 suites that capture the beauty of the natural surrounds, making it an ideal setting for luxurious escapes, romantic getaways, intimate celebrations and anniversaries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spicers Sangoma Retreat

Address: 70 Grandview Lane, Bowen Mountain, New South Wales 2753, Australia (Formerly Sangoma Retreat)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Bowen Mountain
Price Range: €564 - €935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spicers Sangoma Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Spicers Sangoma Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Spicers Sangoma Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are excellent - you have a choice of rooms with views to the coast or a view of the escarpment & bush”
MyallTeaGardens, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms that face the escarpment are cooler”
208JandT, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are not air conditioned so ask for one that catches the afternoon breezes.”
639russellm, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were private and well appointed”
MargaretK467, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Escarpment Suite during winter and the Chief Suite during summer for the pool.”
_KK_Syd, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$695* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$695
TravelocityUS$695
Booking.comUS$1,122
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates