We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Westin Nova Scotian

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Westin Nova Scotian
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,587: English reviews
Start your review of The Westin Nova Scotian
 Click to rate
Moncton, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a nice two night stay at this location. It is not chic or luxurious but it does the job. Rooms are fairly small and dated, but bed was really comfy. Temperature was not controllable from the room, heat was full blast! Co-workers in other rooms had same issues. Service at the front desk was quick and efficient, always serving...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hotelroomboy
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for staying with us and letting me know about your experience. I appreciate the feedback and will share with the team so that we can do better in the future. I will follow up with the heating issues and will let you know that we will be completing a full renovation of all the guest rooms and...

Blainville, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Westin Halifax on February, 15, 2017 for business. The next morning there was a snow storm. I didn't think about reserving a taxi in advance. There was 45 minutes wait time. I would be late for my appointment. The manager of the hotel, himself, offered to drive me to the hospital. It is exceptional customer service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gazelle448
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We got hit hard with the storm and our team did an amazing job taking care of each other and our guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Be well and hope to see you again soon. John

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent cooperation from staff especially Jackie Collins. The facility is very well suited for PD sessions for professionals and the price is right. Rooms are dated but very comfortable. Parking onsite is a plus for our members. Food and beverage service is very well done.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anseaexdirector
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback on your experience. I will be sure and pass on your comments to Jackie, she's a rock star! Looking forward to seeing you again. Be well, John

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night, even though we live in Halifax, as a little getaway for Valentine's Day. The hotel staff were very accommodating, though I was disappointed to find out because I booked with hotwire my king bed selection wasn't guaranteed and ended up paying another $30 to make sure I had a king bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lenna66
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi Lenna, Thank you for choosing to stay with us for a night out for Valentine's Day, I hope it was a great day for your both. Thank you also for the feedback, it is appreciated and is always helpful. You mentioned the carpets were a bit worn and I will let you know that we will be renovating all...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

February 12, 2017 we had a blizzard in Halifax. The power went out at my apartment only two blocks from the Westin Nova Scotian, so I decided to to treat myself and check in at the hotel. I checked in as a provincial government employee, so I got a slightly reduced rate, and also didn't have to pay for wireless....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haligrrl
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the great review on your recent stay with us! I am glad you chose the Westin Nova Scotian during the storm and am happy to hear you had such a great experience. We have an amazing team of hospitality professionals who are always ready to assist, especially during difficult times! I do hope you come again...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Located just beside the harbour, I was surprised at how soundproof the rooms were. ROOMS are great, but nothing that ''wow''ed us. Very comfortable beds. Coffee machine has starbucks coffee, AMAZING! POOL & JACUZZI are hard to find but worth going to. The hotel also offers a robe so you can just use that in order to get there. RESTAURANT...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anouk S
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi Anouk, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Westin Nova Scotian, we appreciate your business! Thank you for the review and your comments, always helpful for us and others interested in staying in Halifax. Be well and looking forward to seeing you again. Be well, John

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stay for the first time at this Westin Halifax. Location is great ... walking distance from all the actions and nice restaurants around the water front. Services was great. Regular rooms are small and nice but a bit old. Pictures of the room on the website are nicer than the room you get (I know it is often like that)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John T
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for choosing the Westin for your business trip and I do hope you come back the next time you are in Halifax. I appreciate the comments on our historic property, we pride ourselves on great service and a comfortable stay! Be well, John

Ontario
Reviewed 1 week ago

We started our stay by taking our parents to the "Kiss of Chocolate" Valentines brunch and we had our socks knocked off. We are brunch people and I can not rave enough about all of the staff that were involved with this beautiful meal. You can tell they staff are all very proud and it shows in their presentation and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vera8413
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the wonderful comments on your stay and experience. I'm glad our associates had a positive impression on your stay, especially Tori, Danielle, and David as mentioned above! I'm very proud of the team and especially during difficult times like the large storm we just experienced. Hope you had a great Valentines Day! Be well and come...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Expensive room. Good location but we were put in a tiny tiny room above the comedy club so we did t get any sleep due to noise. Tried to have a relaxing bath but the tub was covered in soap scum. Uncomfortable beds and not that clean. Not like most Weston's I have stayed in. We switched to the Prince...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cdieno
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for the feedback on your stay and I am deeply sorry you did not have a great experience. We pride ourselves on our service and ensuring all guests leave happy and have a wonderful stay. We feel short on this occasion and I would like to hear more about your stay and I can be reached at...

Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The westin is in South end Halifax and is close to everything you would want to do. It is on the waterfront and the view is fantastic. It is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant, a bar and best of all a comedy club inside.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole J
John W, General Manager at The Westin Nova Scotian, responded to this review

Hi Nicole, Thank you for the great comments on our Hotel, its amenities and our associates, we really appreciate the feedback and your loyalty! Be well and hope to see you again soon. John

331 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (277)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,597 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Westin Nova Scotian, is located near Halifax Harbour. Steps from world-class shopping and dining opportunities, we are the ideal place to savor the sights and sounds of the beautiful city of Halifax. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westin Nova Scotian

Address: 1181 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2P6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Price Range: €102 - €169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nova Scotian 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Westin Nova Scotian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Nova Scotian Hotel Halifax
Westin Hotel Halifax
Westin Nova Scotian
Westin Halifax
Halifax Westin
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#14 Family Hotel in Halifax
#15 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#15 Business Hotel in Halifax
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westin Nova Scotian staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Westin Nova Scotian staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“one side has water views”
 of 5 bubbles Popadave, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“High floors on Harbour side for the view or on the opposite side for a quieter stay.”
 of 5 bubbles Murray_1066, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Corner view overlooking Seaport Market.....Great view!!!”
 of 5 bubbles martindI4956JS, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“pay the extra for a harbour view room....it is beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles amazingrace, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the rooms ending in '02”
 of 5 bubbles EastCoastTraveler016, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5