We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hearthstone Inn Sydney

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hearthstone Inn Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 218: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2016

I recently held an event here. First let me say, it took 6 phone calls just to speak to someone to book the ballroom for my event. Passed to a restaurant, back to someone, over to someone. I finally booked the event with an over the phone quote for the ballroom. I asked for an email to confirm my booking,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz M
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Liz M, Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay. I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent visit. We pride ourselves on offering a clean, comfortable venue with guest service being our top priority. I have noted all of your remarks and I will be meeting with the entire... More 

Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2016

I stay at this location frequently. The hotel does not have the friendly outgoing atmosphere it once had. I called the desk for a very small issue with my room, it was lacking towels. I was very abruptly told they were busy and I would have to wait. Good customer service is all about bringing customers back and sending them... More 

Helpful?
Thank Namara42
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Namara42, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We strive to provide a friendly and enjoyable experience for all of our guests. I would like you to know that we ourselves did recognize some challenges on property and have taken corrective actions to quickly resolve those issues. The ownership has recently implemented a new management team who... More 

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2016

The hotel was clean, our room was nice and also clean. It is rated as a two star. It does need some updating but all in all it is a good place to stay. The restaurant is very nice and the food it very good. The staff is very nice. Breakfast was included in the room price and was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angeline L
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Angeline L, Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay, we appreciate your feedback. We are very proud of our hard working, friendly team members and we hope your travels bring you back soon. Kind regards, Thierry More 

Stellarton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Room was excellent, food was great,especially the steak and the fish and chips. Breakfast was a nice added bonus we didn't realize came with the room. Didn't check out until 12:30 as we were going to a funeral. Never once did they pressure us on the check out.

Helpful?
Thank lauchiemacisaac
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear lauchiemacisaac, Thank you for sharing these kind words. It is great to read that the team at our Sydney hotel was compassionate during these tough times for you. We hope that you have an opportunity to stay with us again under happier circumstances. Kind regards, More 

Cheticamp, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2016

We were impressed with the quietness of the Hotel as it was hockey tournament everywhere ,plus the Eagles were in town to play.. We needed handicap parking when we got back from the game.The people in the parking where too huge truck, apparently just decided to parked there ,without hesitation..The guy at the desk, did not bothered to reach the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stella499215
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Stella499215, I am sorry to hear that our accessible parking spots were in use by other guests. We always try to ensure that those spots are reserved for our guests who truly require them. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed all of the other aspects of your stay and recognized the friendliness of our team. We pride... More 

1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2016

I was completely dissatisfied with this months visit to the Hearthstone Inn The floors in my room had not been cleaned from the last guest and the microwave was filthy. There were 5 or 6 hotel employees at the front counter area discussing how unhappy they were and how they were seeking alternative employment in earshot of myself and god... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nannygil
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Nannygil, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Our hotel is currently going through a management transition that we are confident will boost morale and transform our guest service culture. Change is always difficult for employees and we are diligently working with them to help them during this transition. We have... More 

Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We really enjoyed our stay this past weekend at The Hearthstone Inn in Sydney!! We were very impressed with our beautiful suite - it was nice and clean and very cozy with the fireplace and Jacuzzi!! The staff were friendly and the complimentary breakfast was yummy!! It was sooo convenient having the fridge and stove in our suite - they... More 

Helpful?
Thank JandGFarrell
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear JandGFarrell, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hearthstone Inn. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed having a fridge and microwave in your room. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Thierry More 

Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2016

I was so very happy I decided to book here. I had family here for a hospital stay. I was travelling with my mother and kids. When I booked the room I forgot to request a room with a large window. When I arrived the room we were given was very clean and comfortable but the window was too small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia M, Thank you for choosing the Hearthstone Inn and taking the time to reflect on your recent stay. I am very fortunate to work with such a great team and I will share your kind words with them and congratulate them on a job well done. We appreciate your choosing our Inn and I hope to see you... More 

1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

Got an updated room this time at least. Stayed a saturday night for my birthday hoping to have a few drinks and a nice supper at the bar/restaurant. Too bad it was closed for a private function, something I feel should be advised upon booking as this is the only reason we chose this hotel. Stayed here on daylight savings... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzie L
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Suzie L, Thank you for choosing the Hearthstone Inn, we appreciate your feedback and always reflect on our guest comments. We always try to inform our guests of any special events taking place in the Inn and the dining room, unfortunately we did not follow through this time. I will review your concerns with our restaurant and guest services... More 

Newfoundland, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2016

I used to stay at this hotel regularly up until about 3 years ago. One of my colleagues convinced me to come back informing me there had been upgrades in both service and cleanliness. I stayed at this location twice in 2015 and was very pleased with the progress that was made. I returned the first week in March expecting... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1962newfy
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this review

Dear 1962newfy, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay. I want to assure you that our ownership is committed to providing an excellent product for our guests. It is unfortunate to hear that the level of service fell during the 2015 year however you will... More 

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
1.8 km away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
140 reviews
2.1 km away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
4.0 km away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located adjacent to Sydney Harbour on Kings Road in Sydney Nova Scotia, the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is ideally located only minutes from the shopping and dining of Downtown, Sydney's Centre 200 Sports and Entertainment Complex, Casino Nova Scotia, the Membertu Trade and Convention Centre, and ten minutes of four Golf courses, and a knowledgeable staff to assist our guests in planning day-trips to Cape Breton Island's key tourism destinations, including The Cabot Trail, Fortress Louisburg, Baddeck; and summertime activities/adventures including Two Rivers Wildlife Park, Whale Watching, Kayaking, and renown golfing experiences at the Highland Links and Dundee Resorts; the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is not only what our corporate and leisure guests need us to be, but we are where they need us to be as well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn Sydney

Address: 560 Kings Road, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Price Range: €72 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hearthstone Inn Sydney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hearthstone Inn Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Quality Inn
Hearthstone Inn Sydney Cape Breton Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hearthstone Inn Sydney staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hearthstone Inn Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If they have any renovated rooms, ask for one”
 of 5 bubbles mikedoiron, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the back”
 of 5 bubbles texaswood, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I didn't see an elevator so if you have a heavy bag and are unable to haul your luggage up stairs, you should ask for a ground floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles 488jenam, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid ones near fitness room/pool/vending/laundry machines.”
 of 5 bubbles ailin0, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the vending machine area.”
 of 5 bubbles Stephanie363, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay