We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Winterholme Suites & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Winterholme Suites & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 107: English reviews
Start your review of Winterholme Suites & Spa
 Click to rate
Labrador City, Canada
Reviewed 19 January 2017

I took my sister-in-law to Winterholme for a few hours of pampering and relaxation and found myself swept away by the history and design of this beautiful property. As soon as we entered, we were greeted by the friendly staff, who led us through to the upstairs where Holly and Marissa were pleasantly waiting. They brought us into a charming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TanFlann
St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 25 January 2016

It was exactly what I expected. Beautiful old house, fabulous architecture. There are some things that could use a bit of updating, but overall it added to the charm. The bed was actually the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoLouBa
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We stayed 3 nights here and felt it was a good experience overall. The house is close to downtown, university, and airport. nice setting in the first floor. our room was clean and roomy. But a little dark and hot. The bed is also a little soft for us. Breakfast was good, and in the last day the lady even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xiaodan Q
Winterholme, Director of Sales at Winterholme Suites & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again on your next visit to St.John's!

Troy, New York
Reviewed 18 August 2015

The house is beautiful and feels very historic and luxurious. A little worn and dated, stains in the sink, etc., but that come with the territory. Breakfast is okay, nothing special...strata, fried bologna (apparently a typical Newfoundland breakfast). The jacuzzi was very nice. Brief walk to downtown. Not a lot in the immediate area, but we found a pizza place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
Winterholme, Director of Sales at Winterholme Suites & Spa, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay in the Ruby room; the fixtures are a bit worn, but they are the original sink and tub in the house. We have decided to keep them as we think they are interesting and add character to the space. Thank you so much for your review; we look forward to having you visit...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We spent 3 nights here in late July. If you don't mind a bit of a walk the location is great - away from downtown but walking distance. The decor of the old mansion is charming. Breakfast wasn't spectacular, but it was decent and included a couple of hot items. We encountered a few different staff members during our stay:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMom259
Winterholme, Director of Sales at Winterholme Suites & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will come back and visit us again!

Reviewed 12 August 2015

Me and a friend went to get pedicures on Saturday past. It was fantastic. The girls who did our feet were so sweet, friendly and overall made us feel very comfortable. My feet look great to boot! It was my first time getting a real pedicure and I have to say, I was impressed. I'll be back for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank S C
Winterholme, Director of Sales at Winterholme Suites & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell the world about our spa; the girls will be delighted to know you enjoyed it! Come back and visit us again soon!

St. John's, Antigua
Reviewed 7 August 2015

Beautiful period home and rooms. Stayed in honeymoon suite on August 2-3. All was fine until breakfast which supposedly was until 9:30. At 9:20 a few dried bits of scrambled egg not enough for two of us and stale coffee. Lady there brusque and uninterested in serving us. Appalling manner and is clearly unsuited to the job of dealing with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Winterholme, Director of Sales at Winterholme Suites & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. Should you like to discuss this matter further we would encourage you to contact Stephanie at gm@winterholme.com

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Our party took two rooms (#4, #5) for two nights in July. This was the most disappointing stay we had in NL, and we were kicking ourselves for not returning to the lovely B&B we stayed in at Holyrood on our arrival in the province. The only reason I have given 2 points instead of 1 is that this place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bonweb
Winterholme, Director of Sales at Winterholme Suites & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing your issues to our attention. At Winterholme we hold cleanliness and good customer service at a high regard, and we are very sorry to hear of the problems that you had with your stay. We will be looking into the matter, and guarantee improvement should you ever visit Winterholme again. If you should like to discuss...

St. John's
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Me and my husband stayed at Winterholme for his birthday. We received a couples relaxation massage and it was nothing short of amazing. We arrived and promptly got shown to our room which was up the most beautiful staircase. When we arrived in the room, I was so surprised to see how big it was! There was a huge bed,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jamiegreen456
Winterholme, Director of Sales at Winterholme Suites & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Winterholme for your birthday celebrations. So happy to hear that you had a great time; we look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

Such a beautiful house the woodwork was amazing and the celings were so beautiful! It was so relaxing in the jucuzzi room and the massage was out of this world money well spent! We'll definitely be back again soon! 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daisy M
Winterholme, Director of Sales at Winterholme Suites & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the positive remarks! We are so happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay, and that you enjoyed your spa services. Please come and visit us again soon!

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
536 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
243 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
625 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Inn, spa, Heritage Structure, National Historic Site, and one of the most recognized (and recognizable) inns in St. John's, NL. Welcome to Winterholme. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Winterholme Suites & Spa

Address: 79 Rennie's Mill Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3R1, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Winterholme Hotel St. John`s
Winterholme Suites And Spa
Winterholme Suites & Spa Newfoundland, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Winterholme Suites & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ruby Room was worth the extra money. Roomy and romantic. I peeked in several other rooms and thought that this was the best.”
J288IKmattb, 18 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have large windows. Room 3 has a whirlpool tub but is at the side of the house and rather dark.”
TravellingMom259, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Don't go there. You're an unwelcome distraction to the lady in charge”
Z1135FIjohnb, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We love the Oval room”
Julia181741, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“All rooms offer exceptional quality”
terrym984, 20 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5