We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
180 Portugal Cove Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 2N2 Canada
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
HolidayInn.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (49)
Pool & Beach (15)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#22 of 25 hotels in St. John's
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hotel is located just minutes from St. John’s International Airport (YYT) and local Government Offices including the Confederation Building. If you plan on heading into the heart of St. John’s, we are just a short drive to Downtown St. John’s. On site amenities including on-site guest laundry facilities, complimentary parking and high-speed internet access. Thinking of dining options? Stop into East Side Mario’s, our on-site restaurant. As always with the Holiday Inn brand, Kids Under 12 Eat Free (ask hotel for details). Travelling with your trusty companion? Our hotel is pet-friendly so you can bring the entire family along. The Holiday Inn St. John’s is situated near Janeway’s Children’s Hospital and the Health Sciences Centre. If you are in the area to visit the Marine Institute, we are conveniently located 5 minutes away. Other local places of interest include, Memorial University, Pippy Park and Fluvarium. Whether you are travelling on business or leisure, the Holiday Inn St. John’s Conference Centre is the perfect place to stay while you visit the St. John’s area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English
271Reviews3Q+A45Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 54
  • 87
  • 76
  • 35
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Allan S wrote a review Aug 2022
Toronto, Canada26 contributions42 helpful votes
Terrible hotel. Hotel did Not change the bed sheet at all During Covid pandemic. Hotel room and bath room were extremely dirty. Of course, Hotel dose Not disinfect the room. Guests may infect the Covid easyly. The public area is also very dirty. And the room is so noisy. I only can sleep after midnight. Most of the staffs are friendly, but a Filipino front desk staff Maria, she is very rude and unprofessional. She always make the excuse and lie for everything. She will make another lie when you catch her. I don't know how IHG hired this incredible people! Please come to stay this terrible hotel if you enjoy the bad time and enjoy speaking with lying people.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Oct 2022
Hi G12000, Thank you for leaving us feedback surrounding your experience with our hotel. We appreciate you choosing us and doing business with IHG® Hotels & Resorts. We dedicate ourselves to providing a positive and excellent hotel experience, and I am sorry it turned out otherwise. I shared your comments with our hotel management, and I'm confident that appropriate steps will be taken to ensure better service. I hope we’ll remain to be your dependable choice, as we promise to make the value of your experience worth it for all the right reasons. Yours in hospitality, Rizalin E. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane wrote a review Aug 2022
Iroquois Falls, Canada4 contributions2 helpful votes
The bathroom is so small you can barely turn around. There’s no cleaning of rooms or picking up garbage(we were here for two day). The service in the dinning room is nearly non existent. It takes nearly an hour just to get served. I will never be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 Sep 2022
Hello Curious24061008990, Thank you for your review and for choosing our Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre for your accommodation needs. We appreciate you as one of our valued guests! We're committed to providing you with the best overall experience. I'm sorry we've missed the mark. I brought this up to our local management's attention. I'm confident that the necessary actions will be taken to ensure better service. We look forward to seeing you again on your future trips and we'll do our best to make your next stay better than the last! Safe travels, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sreiter2017 wrote a review Aug 2022
Las Vegas, Nevada128 contributions95 helpful votes
We understand that early check in isn’t always available, but we did request a call or text when a room would be ready…that didn’t happen! We were surprised when no maid service came after the first night. We were told that this only was provided very 2nd day…that didn’t happen either!…3 nights and no clean towels etc… When we first got our room there wasn’t any coffee in the provided tray. We eventually tracked some down. When we tried to bring the luggage cart into the hotel a truck was blocking the only ramp in- the front desk was aware and couldn’t care less (even though they were told whose truck it was)…the vehicle remained there all day long. The restaurant had THE ABSOLUTE slowest service I’ve ever experienced even though there were only 3 tables with customers… My advice- find another place to stay in St. John’s!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Hi sreiter2017, Thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodation needs. We appreciate you as one of our valued guests! We're committed to providing you with the best overall experience. I'm sorry about the situation encountered during your stay. I brought this up to our local management's attention. I'm confident that the necessary actions will be taken to ensure better service. I also sent you a private message discussing this further. We look forward to seeing you again on your future trips and we'll do our best to make your next stay better than the last! Safe travels, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jocelyn B wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed for three nights during July, and we're disappointed overall. First we we're not aware that our room wouldn't be cleaned or refreshed daily, imagine our surprise when we came back from being out all day only to find nothing had been cleaned in our room. I called the front desk only to be informed that since COVID they only refresh rooms every second day and do a thorough clean on day 5. I was surprised to say the least as during the height of COVID we stayed at another Hotel in the city and our room was cleaned daily. Sadly I thing COVID is the go to excuse for poor service. Additionally if you park in the back of the hotel where we usually park because my hubby has mobility issues be prepared that you will have to endure a wall of smoke from the smokers by the door. Check-in was smooth and the staff at the counter were pleasant. The public bathroom on the second floor had no hand sanitizer and was not very well equipped with paper towel. This is the first time I haven't been satisfied with a stay at this property sadly.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Dear Jocelyn B, Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting St. John and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. Pleasure having you as our guest. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary stay due to cleanliness in our hotel and that your room was not serviced. This is certainly below our usual high standard of service. Please be assured that I have noted and forwarded your comments for the management to improve. In the midst of the inconvenience, I am glad to know that your check in experience and the service of our staff was still appreciated. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlie W wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions4 helpful votes
Disappointing!! Booked for 2 nights for family trip. Loved the water slides last time here. Right from check in I didn’t have a great feeling. I had clicked the link in my email confirmation for a special rate upgrade back when I booked the room, a whirlpool suite upgrade. Very excited for some relaxing time in a hot tub. Arrive for check in to be told they no longer have whirlpool suites, not for years. Strike 1. Get to our room and it’s one of the old not yet upgraded rooms. It certainly is out dated! The carpet is old and bunched up in places and the chair and ottoman are actually gross. There are stains on it. And it’s probably 25 years old! It’s bad enough to warrant a towel placed over it before putting our baby car seat on it. Strike 2. Next, the TV turns on and displays the PHILIPS logo and nothing else happens. Doesn’t matter what buttons you press on the remote or tv….nothing. Strike 3. That’s it, never again!! The hotel has become run down and dated. The “old” rooms are not very nice and are dingy. We also ordered take out form East Side Mario’s that night, It was shockingly bad too. Not sure what happened here to this hotel but it’s not worth your money to stay here anymore!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Aug 2022
Hello, Charlie W Thank you for leaving your opinion and choosing our establishment. It's crucial for our improvement and allows us to make proper adjustments to offer you and all guests a better service in future stays. I shared your review with our management team. Our staff will review all your concerns as soon as possible. I offer you my humble apology for the details you mentioned. We love delivering the most enjoyable experience for every guest. Our staff would love to serve you again and show you the improvements based on your comments and opinion. Please visit again soon! Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mac A wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The room was clean and nice the bed was hard I woke up my neck and back were stiff as rock the breakfast was nice they could change it once in a while they could also use a coffee machine in the lobby
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Jul 2022
Dear 551maca, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with me, and for choosing our hotel for your business stay in St. John. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused by the comfort in our room. This is not what we want any of our guests to encounter. I shared this information with our team to properly be investigated. It is significant for us that all our guests have a very comfortable and enjoyable stay, as we strive to maintain a high-quality standard of service at all times. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tarragh S wrote a review Apr 2022
Corner Brook, Canada13 contributions8 helpful votes
First time staying in this hotel and most likely the last. We, a party of 5 arrived at 2:20pm on a Friday. We had traveled 6.5 hours with a "team booking" for the U13 NL Volleyball Provincials. Went to check in and the room wasn't ready as check-in was at 3 - no issue there. We were told we could get a room on the 3rd floor or wait for "our room" as it was in the area where the other team members were staying. We opted to wait so we could be with the team. At 2:58pm, I checked on our room and it still wasn't ready so we continued to wait. Meanwhile, other team members and their families were all filing in (they had just arrived) but they all checked in fine and got their rooms. We finally got a room at 4:05pm (girls had to be at their 1st game for 4:30). When my husband and girls went to the room as they had to get changed, it was a room with only 1 bed - no good for 5 people. I was still at check-in because there was a huge mix up. Hubby had to leave me to deal with getting another room as they had to make the game. We were given a room on the lower floor. Room was great, just renovated, clean etc. I think we may have been the first ones to stay in it actually. I didn't know that the lower floor was where all the teenagers on hockey teams also staying there hung out though. From 9:30pm until about 12am there was dozens of kids running up and down the hallways, hanging out in the hallway at the end of the stairs and going up and down the elevator. Where were the parents???...they were either in one of the Salons, drinking and tearing it up or hanging out on other floors... in the hallways, sitting on coolers, drinking booze and having a grand time. It was such a blatant example of disrespect for anyone else staying there. I've stayed at several hotel chains internationally and locally, and this by far was the worst. I was sure to relay my disappointment during check out and I did receive a discount.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 May 2022
Hi TarraghS, Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Center thank you for your feedback and visit. Here we strive to provide a quality stay that you can enjoy with all the members of your family. I received your comments and was surprised by what you described. I know that when you reserve you have options and that you choose us because this is not characteristic of our chain. I forwarded your message to our local area manager to be evaluated. We took immediate action to rectify and prevent these issues from happening again. I invited you to visit us on your next trip to show you the new improvement in our services. Cordially, Oscar C. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JKR2013 wrote a review Sep 2021
St. John's, Canada26 contributions12 helpful votes
Stayed for one night. Room was as expected, recently renovated and very nice and clean with great beds. We were there as 2 adults and 2 children as one of children's birthday. Looked forward to the pool and slide. Not sure if they know there is a pandemic going on with all the people in the pool. Way too many people! Was very uncomfortable and left early, so that was disappointing. Next we went Eastside Mario's which is attached to the hotel. Kids were to eat free. Well that was a big discussion! We had to coupons from the hotel but apparently the restaurant is not keen on honouring them. Then, the food the children wanted was available, so they decided to have pizza, but the pizza oven just broke! The kids ended up having chicken nuggets and fries and were so disappointed that we just left. Thank God we brought snacks. Then, kids were to eat free , another racket in the morning. A word of advice to the Hotel-stick by what you offer and figure out what the pool situation and what your agreements with that awful restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Make sure you know what kind of activities are happening at the hotel as well as what exactly you...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 Oct 2021
Hi there, JKR2013! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our hotel. I'm so sorry about the pool situation and the food experience. The situations you have raised are definitely not what we expect from any of our properties, nor something we want our guests to encounter. I'll share your thoughts with our hotel management team as a reference for future enhancements. On a lighter note, I'm delighted that you found the cleanliness of our rooms satisfactory. I've shared your compliments with the team and have been acknowledged by the hotel management. I truly hope that we will have a chance to make it up to you and provide you with a better experience upon your return. Best, Peter J. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NLtraveller wrote a review May 2021
Clarenville, Canada77 contributions40 helpful votes
We stayed here for 1 night in May 2021. Overall it was good value for what we paid. We had a stay & shop package and it came with a Costco gift card. The hotel was clean & quiet. They are still undergoing renovations but it didn't affect our stay at all. A small complimentary breakfast is included and it was a juice, granola bar, yogurt, fruit cup & breakfast sandwich. We thought it was nice since we didn't know that it was included. We booked a pool slot well in advance so we were disappointed when we checked in and they had changed our time without notifying us. We were disappointed but made it work....small problem really! The pool and waterslide area was awesome! Our son loved it and so did I :) The restaurant on site was great. We had good service and the food was delicious. We travelled with a child and were given a coupon for children eat free at the restaurant, which is another bonus. Overall we had a good stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Explorer777866 wrote a review May 2021
8 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We came to St. John’s for a short break, booked this hotel based on misleading photos by management on Google! I don’t know where to start from! When we first arrived, I couldn’t believe How the entrance looked like! I had to keep my wife and kids in the car and I went to explore [that bad that I did not feel comfortable to bring them in] there were people smoking next to the main entrance within a designated area for smoking, as soon as you walk in, the entrance looked like an abandoned building With stale cigarettes smell and the garbage container that was overflowing garbage. The atrium looked alright, check-in was reasonable. Next, my four-year-old son got scared of the elevator because of the way it looked. Unfortunately while we were walking towards our room we were able to smell marijuana. Finally arrived to our room which was supposed to be in a smoke-free area. The hotel was under renovation but it was obvious that the renovation was quite cheap as windows were old and paint was spread on frames! Glass was dirty and cracks were visible underneath a thin paint coating. The room was reasonable despite what I mentioned. One of the main reason to book this hotel was is the pool, water temperature was really cold to the point where my kids didn’t wanted to stay any longer after 10-15 minutes. Worst part was the morning breakfast, we went down to get breakfast at 9:05, we were surprised that breakfast only served between seven and nine am! Next morning we went down at 7:30, the surprise was (as showing in pictures) breakfast was served in bags! Each bag included a box of juice, canned fruit and a rotten apple! Also you can get an egg bacon sandwich with no option for vegetarians that was available in a mini fridge in a small room that apparently was some sort of storage room. No hot breakfast, no coffee, no tea and nobody to serve you! Special thanks to management for ruining my two days vacation that I managed to get after working as an essential healthcare worker for the last year straight through. I think Holiday Inn company/corporation should reconsider putting their name on this location!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Shannon D, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 May 2021
Hi Explorer777866, While we are very thankful for you taking the time to provide your feedback to us we are very saddened to hear of your experience with staying with us and the concerns you bring forward. Our hotel is smoke-free and we do our best to enforce this, we do offer a designated smoking area outside to the side of the hotel for our smoking guests. We welcome our guests to provide any concerns real-time so they may be reviewed immediately to resolve. We will ensure your concerns of the room conditions are brought forward to ensure they are addressed immediately. Our pool is heated and temperatures monitored regularly to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable experience. We are sorry to hear your son was nervous on the elevator, as it was recently renovated. Currently our hotel restaurant is not opened for breakfast. We are providing a complimentary limited grab-and-go style breakfast of a breakfast sandwich, juice, cereal bar, plastic fruit cup and fruit. Tea/coffee is available in the guest room and we are happy to provide additional tea/coffee upon request. We certainly understand not having an opportunity of a hot breakfast at our restaurant was disappointing which is why we have it noted on our website inclusive of the hours available. Despite your experience we welcome you back again to experience the service and comfortable stay we are known for providing. Warm regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$118 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn st. johns hotel st. john`s, holiday inn st. john's, st. john's holiday inn
LOCATION
CanadaNewfoundland and LabradorNewfoundlandSt. John's
NUMBER OF ROOMS
252
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN ST. JOHN'S CONFERENCE CENTRE, AN IHG HOTEL - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Newfoundland, Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Beth El Synagogue (1.2 km) and Holiday Lanes Bowling (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jumping Bean, Sprout, and Piatto.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn St. John's Conference Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Signal Hill (2.6 km), Quidi Vidi Battery (3.5 km), and National War Memorial (2.8 km).