We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gower Street Guest House

Save
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (12)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“quiet street”(3 reviews)
“each morning”(5 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
Pets Allowed
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
47
23
10
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
47
23
10
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streetair conditioningeach morningtravel agentexcellent locationwalking distanceconvenient locationcomfortable bedssignal hilltodddowntowninlaidamenitiescaretakerbasilicaprovinceenvelope
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Heard about this place from a friend. The price is more than fair. Surprised to find necessary breakfast too. Well located with a nice street view. Nice and clean rooms with good comfortable beds. Good place to crash and all travels are close by. I...More

Thank andrewm1196
Response from Leonard C, Owner at Gower Street Guest HouseResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank-you for your kind comments.

A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

This location is a great value. It’s location is ideal to visit old St. John’s, all in walking distance. Very comfortable and clean. We stayed on the third floor ,the stairs are narrow and steep, after all the house is hundred years old. Parking is...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from Leonard C, Owner at Gower Street Guest HouseResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank-you for your kind comments.

Reviewed 18 October 2017

I was staying at a local hotel which was a bit pricey and a waiter told me about this place. It was about 1/5 of the cost o9f the hotel and fit the bill to perfection. I wanted somewhere clean and quiet to crash and...More

1  Thank david24jones
Response from Leonard C, Owner at Gower Street Guest HouseResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank-you for your kind comments.

Reviewed 15 October 2017

This place was a bargain for the price. Excellent central location on a quiet street, resident caretaker is super-friendly, attentive and helpful. Convenient self check-in, beautiful common areas, good selection of self-service breakfast items, fast wi-fi and good TV, great bed linens/towels, very nice bathroom/shower....More

1  Thank RSGVancouver
Response from Leonard C, Owner at Gower Street Guest HouseResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank-you for your kind comments.We have eliminated breakfast service as such. We have no idea about the bed problem you mention. We even had Canada Select staff check. We are sorry you didn't have a comfortable sleep

Reviewed 11 October 2017

We stayed at Gower Street House Bed and Breakfast for 3 nights in August. The location was ideal for taking in the sights and activities downtown. Our room was very clean and cosy. There was an air conditioner in the room but we preferred to...More

1  Thank lauraflynnhess
Response from Leonard C, Owner at Gower Street Guest HouseResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank-you for your kind comments. We have eliminated breakfast service. Tastes and expectations have changed dramatically in recent years. It is far better to have guests pleasantly surprised by any little extras they may find, rather than be disappointed with unrealized expectations. Breakfast is on...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in St. John's, Canada
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
US$71 - US$136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$71 - US$136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (12)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sunmandan
23 July 2017|
Answer
Response from WideWorldTraveller | Reviewed this property |
I believe there are about 7 rooms; contact them directly for availability of the times you have asked for.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Awful customer service. Never stay at this place"
Read review
"the property has no elevator, so if you have mobility issues, best to be on lower floor."
Read review
"Rooms on back might be quieter but the front were deadly quiet too"
Read review
"Room 5 has excellent views of downtown St. John's."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing